We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
220
24
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
24
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor kitchen in town shared kitchen white sand self catering thought of everything own meals great hosts couple of days quiet beach beach towels stayed longer all sorts main reasons down to earth idyllic location live upstairs
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 249 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We have been coming to Celestun for years, Kenn and Karen make it a get away but somehow seem to have whatever we forgot at home and need handy, truly a wonderful Guest house ,not just a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TulumBud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This was a side trip for us from Merida. Our only regret was that we didn't have a week or more here. Our Floral Suite room had a small kitchenette and was quaint, cozy, and clean. It was situated very near the beach. In our too-short stay, we were able to experience a tropical storm, beautiful sun and beach, a lovely siesta in one of their palapa-shaded hammocks, a bicycle ride around Celestun, and coconut juice right from the tree. The shoreline waters were a bit rough after the storm, so we missed out on the kayaks, but we'll be back to use them someday. Our hosts, Karen, Kenn, and Wanda, were exceptionally warm, informative, and accommodating. Because we missed some beach time due to the storm, they graciously let us use the grounds throughout the day of our departure, after check-out, while awaiting the 8:00pm bus that would take us back to Merida. We thoroughly enjoyed the fresh seafood in town at the Los Pompanos Restaurant, where the blue crab specials were exceptional and in-expensive. Victor's Market provided all the staples we needed for our kitchenette at Celeste Vida. Wanda arranged a long-route down-the-coast flamingo colony tour starting right from the beach in front of Celeste Vida with an English-speaking boatman. The cost was very reasonable shared with two other couples. We literally saw thousands of flamingos congregated in one place! It was truly an awesome sight! There are lots of touristy things to do in Mexico --- but this tour is a must!! If you like smaller, more intimate settings to stay in, Celeste Vida has it all: open-air covered BBQ area, Gulf of Mexico water access, bikes, kayaks, palapas, and hammocks. They even have a decorative outdoor shower, and foot rinsing stations, to wash sand off after being at the beach. Celeste Vida was smartly designed and has fantastic hosts! We plan to be back someday!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darwin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

It was mystique that we got this “paradisiacal corner”. We were in this beautiful place only one night but already loved it. Romantic sunset with a bottle of white wine is guaranteed if you stay here.

As addition we got a remarkable company of American and Canadian friends. We have drinking tequila, laughing, spoke about everything. I spoke on my ‘nogood’ English and everyone understood me. It was amazing to listen: ‘Spasibo!’ ‘Na zdorovye’ from people of far Countries (Canada & USA).

Beach was clean and desert like. In the garden You can find shower. It’s fine especially after celestun’s strong salt water. There were two traditional arbors on the beach. The sturdy trestle beds with soft pillows in the garden too.

We could made tidy dinner by several minutes on the amazing kitchen in this house. I never saw such cooking-combine machine which You can find in the kitchen.

There are VERY comfortable and clean apartments at the Villa. All “my flat” on the ground floor is make in good style. It’s a nice modern studio. Sleeping well!

Nice place for relaxing and rest on the quiet coast

The Hostess made a real degustation of several types of tequila. Absolutely free! It’s looked like a Russian tradition of hospitality. We want to wish big respect for Karen and Wanda for their welcoming.

Room Tip: Try booking as early You can.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlexandrRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

In 2008, we stayed at Celeste Vida on three diferent occasions while visiting the Yucatan.(We had planed only one stay but kept being drawn back to this magical place and its welcoming hosts Karen, Kenn and Wanda.) We vowed to return someday.
This past March we did return and found that nothing had changed...it was still a beautiful, peacefull and relaxing place. Oh, the palm trees were bigger.....a new outside kitchen had been built.......more landscaping had been added and a beautiful walkway to the beach created along with other great additions, but the warmth and hospitality of the hosts had not changed. They welcomed us back as family and as if only days had passed since we last visited.They again went the "entra mile" to make sure our visit was as enjoyable and memorable as it had been three years before..... and they suceeded.
We can only echo all the superlatives that other guests who have stayed at Celeste Vida
have said previousely. This place IS unique, tranquil and beautiful and the genuine hospitality of the owners make it a fabulous value added vacation for sure.
We will certainly be returning!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weegull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stumbled on Casa Celesta Vida last year on a car trip around the Yucatan. I immediately knew I'd be back this year. We came back for 10 fabulous days and celebrated my 70th birthday with Karen and Wanda and Bran and are eager to return next year.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank marianne6890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews