We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Manglares”
Review of Hotel Manglares

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Celestun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Manglares
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Celestun
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Loved the Manglares”
Reviewed January 4, 2009

We spent 2 nights at Hotel Manglares in a cabana ($1600 pesos/night) and was very happy with the accomodations. The cabanas include a large bedroom, a living room, a kitchen, bathroom and an outside patio facing the beach. The sliding glass doors in the bedroom and the living room look out over the water. The views are beautiful.

The cabana was clean, well-kept and comfortable. There was also a TV that carried two English-language stations. Definitely the nicest accomodations we had on our trip around the Yucatan.

The location of the hotel is definitely a big selling point. You are literally only a few feet from the sandy beach and you can watch the setting sun over the water at the beach. Breathtaking.

The hotel arranged for us to take the boat tour of the wildlife sanctuary where the flamingos nest. The boat picked us up on the beach at the hotel. Cost was $160 pesos per person with a minimum of 6 people. The boat can take a max of 8. The tour lasted 2 hours and was quite impressive. Not to be missed if you go to Celestun. Go in the morning rather than the afternoon because the water gets a little choppy later in the day.

The only issue we had at the hotel was that we arrived on a Sunday, when the only person who speaks fluent English was not there. My Spanish was totally inadequate. We ate lunch both days we were there at the Restaurant Palapas on the beach and the waiters there seemed to know English pretty well. Don't expect anyone else in Celestun to speak English. It's a pretty small fishing village with only a few restaurants and hotels on the beach. Definitely, low-key and unspoiled.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    17
    5
    9
See reviews for
15
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
265 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

I spent one night at the Hotel Manglares and was delighted with the views from my third floor corner room. This very spacious room had two balconies, a small one that afforded views over the neighboring property and the beach and gulf beyond, and a larger one that faced the water and, because it was higher than the hotel’s water-front bungalows, afforded especially nice views. The room was clean, airy, and simply furnished. Well, actually, it was sparsely furnished, bringing me to the quirks of the Hotel Manglares: The king-sized bed was very comfortable, but the room otherwise held only the bare minimum furnishings and, with the exception of a mirror, no decorative elements. It didn’t even have bed-side lamps! The large, modern vanity/wardrobe area had nice wooden cabinetry and a small in-room safe—which I was unable to lock. The bath area included a large bathtub — something I found incredibly welcoming — but the plug didn’t work. The only waste bin in the room was a truly tiny one in the bath area. On the other hand, the room did come with large, fluffy towels and plenty of hot water. The staff on duty while I was there did not speak English, but they were incredibly patient with my extremely limited Spanish and found a way to provide me with the information I wanted. All-in-all, the room met my needs and provided wonderful views, but I left thinking they could make their accommodations more enjoyable with a little more attention to details.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2008

As it was the low season we did not make a reservation. The owner / manager showed us several types of room and when we mentioned that we wanted to look at one other hotel before deciding he said that he would arrange a flamingo tour for us beginning and ending at the hotel for less than $20 US. He said it would leave around 9 AM the next day. The next morning there was no tour and when we enquired at the desk they said they knew nothing of such an arrangement. They did make a phone call and get a local fisherman to come in and offer us a "special " price of $80 US. About then the manager came in and when we said this wasn't what we had talked about he turned to the fisherman and said they're calling me a liar.
We went to the government sponsored flamingo tour and it was better than we could have hoped for.
The room was large and clean. The pool was closed because the construction dust from the hotel's expansion had blown into it. The beach is not very pleasant with blowing sand and bird soiled chaises.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank raoul_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Celestun hotels

toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

A great little sidetrip if you need to get away from the touristy stuff .Nice clean hotel on the beach , walking distance from town . The staff is young and a little ditzy but are friendly and eager to please . Make sure you go see the flamingoes . I am a bit of a Philistine when it comes to nature tours but this one is impressive ; a sea of pink as far as you can see .
Disappointing meal at Palapas , this town may be awash in shrimp and seafood but noone knows how to cook it . Old style cuisine ; probably haven't changed their menu or their deep-fryer for 20 years.

  • Liked — cabanas on the beach, shells
  • Disliked — the pool was a bird bath
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank murf1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

After fleeing the congestion of Merida, we spent Christmas eve and Chirstmas night at Manglares, a beautiful spot on a shell-ladden beach. Very clean rooms, great shower and a gorgeous view from every room. The pool is completed and breakfast is available, a full restuarant is in the works. A short walk into downtown. It was a comfortable and relaxing place for the holidays.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwakaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2007

We did not make reservations our friend told us not to worry about making them that when we arrive he would help us with making arrangements for a room. We arrive there middle of the week in the afternoon. The girl at the desk is apparently tired and not happy that we don't have reservations and she is not sure about giving us a cabana. We eventually get one and we love the layout of the room but we are truly shocked at how unclean the room is. Keep in mind the place is fairly new, but obviously the housekeeping is not cleaning the rooms on a daily basis. There is bird poop all over the bed and floor and its just dusty in the whole room. I have to ask for a broom to sweep the place. The girl gives us no details of the place so we pretty much have to ask for everyhing or just make guesses. There are so many light switches in the rooms half of them didn't work. We eat out three different times at La Palapa and the third time they realize were staying at Manglares and we get a discount. That would have been nice to have known.

  • Liked — walking distance to restaurants and town. The beach waas right outside our door.
  • Disliked — That it wasn't clean.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lookingforthesOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
providence, rhode island usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2007

When we saw Hotel Manglares and its cabanas, there was no question about staying. Right on this beautiful ocean, watching the fishing boats leave in the morning while having coffee on your private patio. Next year we are planning to stay for a month in one of their special cabanas. One suggetion: DVD player and DVD's and better quality sheets.
Thanks for the great experience and lots of good luck with the future projects. We will be back.
Frank and James
Providence, RI USA
PS They have the best Jacuzzi that I have ever used and plenty of hot water.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank fpotpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Celestun hotels
5.6 mi away
Hotel Xixim
Hotel Xixim
#1 of 2 in Celestun
329 reviews
4.2 mi away
Playa Maya Resorts
Playa Maya Resorts
#2 of 3 in Celestun
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Lilia Celestun
Posada Lilia Celestun
#3 of 3 in Celestun
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Julio
Hotel San Julio
#3 of 9 in Celestun
17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manglares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manglares

Property: Hotel Manglares
Address: Calle 12 No 63, Celestun 97367, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Celestun
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Celestun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ecological hotel in the Ria Celestun Biosphere. A few steps from the center of Celestun, newly built in 2005 on the beach. We offer flamenco trips, canoe trips, walking tours and beatiful Yucatecan-style accomodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manglares Hotel Celestun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing