We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Manglares, Celestun”
Review of Hotel Manglares

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Celestun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Manglares
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Celestun
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We visited Hotel Manglares in March of 2012. We had reserved a cabana, but upon arrival, there was no record of our reservation. The cabanas were not habitable, according to the girl in the office. We ended up with an ocean view room (they are all ocean view, I think). It was pretty basic. Clean (ish), but basic. We were told in Merida that we could have gotten a similar place for a lot less money.

The pool was not filled, and the place seemed like it "used to be" great. maybe we were there off season, and there was nothing horribly wrong, but we were expecting more given the price (as compared to prices of other places in Celestun). That said, the hotel is a perfect distance from the restaurants/town. It was quiet, and the people at reception were very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 62 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

There are not many Middle priced hotels in celestun, so we choose this one. In our entire trip ( from cancun to tuxtla gutierrez) this was one of the most expensive ones.
Well, at first glance it looks perfekt. In front of the beach and not directly in the little village. But the girls in the reception we not really prepared for question about the sites or day trips. The room was big and hat a little ocean view, but it was really dirty. The maid apparently forgot to clean all the corners...awfull. But when I opend the closet I was really scared....mushrooms everywhere! Really disgusting. I am used to humid places and I am really not picky...but for the price we paid...unexceptable!
The restaurant was also overpriced and not really good.
The nice pool on the photos of the website was empty for cleaning (in high season???)

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Faltboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

My spouse, my baby and me stayed at the best bungalow of the hotel. At midnight it was a MOSQUITO INFESTATION at the room. Walls and bed were full of mosquitos .Our baby was biten in all his body . We couldn´t sleep all night The rooms are badly built . Next day the manager didn´t want to face the consequences and only sent to us his employee to give us only 40 dollar in refund , we had payed 160 dollars . IT was like to be in a horror movie.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank veryniceYucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

I would agree w/ some of the former comments - lovely setting, lovely hotel rooms - very spacious....but nescafe in Mexico seems a sacrilege....there was almost no other guests - the staff were friendly -but seemed distant. There is no sign out front - so you really need to study the picture on the website-and then guess which building it is!
If it does get crowded - I am not sure where everyone would park. The pool bar was closed - the restaurant was only open for breakfast (it was very good).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2TravelRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Celestun is off the beaten path and well worth visiting. It is very small and there are few people who speak English. The Flamingo trip available by the bridge is a must-see and very reasonably priced. The selection of hotels is minimal.
The beach in front of Hotel Manglares is gorgeous!! It is very shallow and covered with beautiful shells making the beach worth staying at this hotel. We were in a second floor room that was spacious, but very sparse. The beds were too firm to be comfortable. Even with doors and windows open we could not get rid of the musty moldy smell. The room and bedding did not feel or smell very clean. This is truly unfortunate because the place has so much potential; it feels neglected.
I would recommend this place only because it is about the only affordable hotel in Celestun.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catladyPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Celestun was a great side trip from the city of Merida. We reserved a bungalow at Hotel Manglares for a couple of nights and were pleasantly surprised by the nicely appointed accommodation – very comfortable with the beach right outside our door. If I had to nitpick, my one comment would be that some of the fixtures did not operate properly, but we really weren’t there to flick on switches either. Rodrigo was very welcoming and friendly, as was the rest of the office staff, and was a source of information for our travel plans beyond Celestun. We ate a couple of times at Las Palapas which was fine, and once at another local restaurant which I’m not sure had a name, but was recommended by fellow travelers. We also had breakfast at the Poseidon restaurant on site at the hotel (minor note: the waiters here are not very personable but they are not professional wait staff either) – please keep in mind that Celestun is a small fishing village, not a culinary mecca. Shared a morning boat ride with other touristas to see the flamingos and that was just the best way to start the day! Other than that, the order of the day here is peaceful, quiet, R&R. We definitely would have stayed longer had our travel plans allowed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickenorpasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

This hotel is all dressed up but lacks charm. It's new - with spacious rooms, sunset views of the beach and even bathtubs, a rarity in the Yucatan. It's really inexpensive for what it is. Has a lovely pool with a swim-up bar. Palapas on a beautiful beach. Etc... etc... But they need to get the details right. The beds are hard and uncomfortable. Nasty thin sheets. Lumpy stingy pillows on king sized beds. Fancy-looking restaurant that serves microwaved Nescafe with powdered milk. The hotel is a walking contradiction. But there's nothing wrong that a boutique hotelier couldn't fix. It just needs higher thread count sheets, real coffee and speedier service at breakfast. I give this hotel an average rating not because it's bad, but because of its missed potential. But it's not a bad place to stay and I wouldn't be unhappy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VictoriaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Celestun hotels
5.5 mi away
Hotel Xixim
Hotel Xixim
#1 of 2 in Celestun
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castillito Kin-Nah
Castillito Kin-Nah
#2 of 9 in Celestun
46 reviews
4.0 mi away
Playa Maya Resorts
Playa Maya Resorts
#2 of 3 in Celestun
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Julio
Hotel San Julio
#3 of 9 in Celestun
19 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Lilia Celestun
Posada Lilia Celestun
#3 of 3 in Celestun
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manglares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manglares

Address: Calle 12 No 63, Celestun 97367, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Celestun
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Celestun
Price Range: $75 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ecological hotel in the Ria Celestun Biosphere. A few steps from the center of Celestun, newly built in 2005 on the beach. We offer flamenco trips, canoe trips, walking tours and beatiful Yucatecan-style accomodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manglares Hotel Celestun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing