We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for wildlife and quiet”
Review of Hotel Xixim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Xixim
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Celestun
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Lexington, KY
431
Reviewed February 21, 2005

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Eco Paraiso Xixim and had a very nice time. The rooms are quite attractive and more than spacious with hammocks on each porch, but this is not a hotel for people who expect the Hyatt. Some geckos do inhabit the high thatched palapa ceilings of each bungalow and they do leave you a few litte droppings a day but nothing that would bother most people who love animals and the outdoors. We also had a small bird pair who managed somehow to get into and out of one of our rooms but were fun to observe and watch the one afternoon they were with us. The diversity of other birds and wildlife was quite unusual and the beach was nearly deserted except for a few other guests and untold numbers of shells. The excursion to see the flamingos, petrified forest, mangrove forest, and cenote should not be missed if you are in the area. We enjoyed the meals, which for dinner have a fixed menu except for a choice of entree (one vegetarian, one seafood, and one meat). The service in the restaurant was very attentive for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and nearly all of the food is cooked to order as would be expected for the small number of rooms and guests. I would caution that there is no snorkeling as the water is greenish as is typical of the Gulf side of the Yucatan and that the afternoons tend to be windy even when the mornings and evenings are clear and calm. No mosquitos to speak of when we visited but I have heard that the summer months may be a more difficult time of year for biting insects.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Xixim
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 348 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
213
Reviewed May 30, 2004

We spent the first week of April at the ECO PARAISO and had a wonderful time! We love to camp and really enjoy being out of doors, so the hotel was ideal for us. We had geckos in our room, iguanas on the paths around the hotel, orioles on our hammocks, pelicans flying by on the beach and too many other beautiful birds to list. We had the beach to ourselves, but saw many beautiful shells. We took advantage of the excursions the hotel offers and found our guides to be more than well informed. Alex has a PhD. in ornithology and is a fun and interesting guide. We also went fishing with some local fishermen and with their help we caught around 40 fish in about two hours. Then we took the fish to the chef and he made us the freshest and best fish dinner I've ever had. We enjoyed all of the meals and found the service in the restaurant to be outstanding. Go to the hotel’s website, the pictures are accurate.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2004

We were scheduled to spend two nights of our honeymoon at Eco Paraiso, and from our base on the East coast of the Yucatan peninsula it was quite a trek across to Celestun. The 10km track from the village to the hotel is a terrible road - full of potholes and I wouldn't advise trying to drive a car down it as it takes so long - a 4x4 would be a better idea. When we finally got to the hotel, we found the staff to be a little surly, and certainly didn't make the kind of effort to make us feel welcome that we'd experienced in the other 7 hotels in which we stayed. Our tour operator had sold Eco Paraiso to us as being a hotel for nature lovers, as it's so close to the flamingo breeding lagoons and other wildlife areas. But at over ?100 per night half board ($218 US when we were there in February 2004) we were expecting a certain level of comfort. When the receptionist showed us to our room, the floor was very dirty. We couldn't work out what the dirt was, until we took a closer look and realised it was droppings. We went back to reception to tell them we weren't happy with the levels of cleanliness in our room, and to ask if our room could be cleaned. The receptionist explained that they have a problem with geckos at the hotel. She tried to reassure us by saying that the creatures were very clean and the droppings were "healthy"! I hope it was a language barrier thing because I certainly can't imagine any kind of faeces being healthy, and if nothing else it made the room smell vile. They agreed to clean the room and to provide us with a mosquito net to prevent droppings from falling on us during the night. However, the cleaning was completely inadequate - a maid half-heartedly swept most of the droppings off the floor and out the door, but didn't even attempt to clear the bed or chairs of the droppings so we couldn't even put our belongings down. We asked for a second time if they could clean it and this time they did a better job. But there was still the horrible smell, as well as dead mosquitos in the bed. And during the night our noses became blocked - I think it must have been a mild allergic reaction to all the dirt. The mosquito net had to be hung from the ceiling fan, which meant we couldn't use the fan, and the net didn't even close properly. Anyway, we went to the restaurant/bar to see if we could get something to eat and drink, and as we entered we saw cockroaches scuttling away from us - a problem the staff were certainly aware of as we saw them spraying Raid on the roaches and sweeping them up! Obviously we didn't want to eat in a restaurant that was so dirty and infested, so we didn't eat anything that night, nor did we eat breakfast the following morning. We decided to check out early. I think what we found most annoying about the experience was that the hotel is trying to provide an ecological retreat that does not unbalance the local ecosystem or the beauty of the natural environment (the beach is particularly beautiful), but then provide cans of insecticide in the rooms which defies the point. I think there must really be a problem. I'd definitely be interested in hearing about anyone who has been and not experienced these problems, but I think most people spending that amount of money would expect a higher level of service and comfort. Sorry Eco Paraiso - nice idea but must try harder.

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank oysterpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank SamyMacedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank cecilia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Lalo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ruben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Celestun
1.4 mi away
Playa Maya Resorts
Playa Maya Resorts
#2 of 3 in Celestun
38 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel San Julio
Hotel San Julio
#3 of 9 in Celestun
18 reviews
6.3 mi away
Posada Lilia Celestun
Posada Lilia Celestun
#3 of 3 in Celestun
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Technotel Merida Norte
Technotel Merida Norte
#63 of 106 in Merida
25 reviews
5.2 mi away
Castillito Kin-Nah
Castillito Kin-Nah
#2 of 9 in Celestun
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xixim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xixim

Address: Km 10 del Viejo Camino a Sisal Celestun, Celestun 97636, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Celestun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Celestun
Price Range: $190 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Xixim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XIXIM: a different alternative. Consciousness, love for intact nature, rediscovering yourself, high quality and the simplicity of our services are the secrets that we generously share in our paradise...Hotel XIXIM is an ecological paradise. Bordered by an unspoiled beach that stretches forever, a dwarf palm plantation and an abundance of indigenous vegetation, the environment here has always taken precedent over profit, in this very special, luxuriously rustic hotel. At present, we have 32 thatched cabanas, 24 junior suites with 2 four-poster double beds and 8 master suites with a king size bed, each with its own private verandah and en-suite bathroom. An extremely large thatched, double-story rondavel with sweeping views of the beach, golden sunsets and our pool area. Upstairs one will find El Santuario, our fully stocked bar and lounge area, and downstairs, our pride and joy, Restaurant Zaxim. The buildings dramatic thatched roof with the longest, straightest tree trunk supports, graphically canopy your occasion.Our Wellness Center as a set of architectural human and natural elements: palapas and mangroves, buildings and coastal dunes, windows overlooking the emerald-green sea, open spaces yet of intimate dimensions, each and every one of them integrated to the pristine nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Xixim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Paraiso Xixim Celestun
Eco Paraiso Xixim Hotel Celestun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing