We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible if you need details of what I am writing do bot hestitate to contact me, Gabriel Scully at [--]”
Review of Hotel Xixim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Xixim
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Celestun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2011

he worst service in my life! all the hotel smells like city drain!General Manager an arrogant guy named Jaime do not have the less idea about service, he is not the owner so he really do not care loosing customers and potential recommendations. If you eant to see the flamingos just hire a tour in Celestun for 100 bucks instead to pay the exhorbitan rate in eco paraiso. My best recommendfation is stay away from this expensive, far away, bad service place e.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gscullyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 355 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2011

If you want to jsut get away from all the bustle yet have the best service, quality rooms and outstanding spa service, this is the place to go!!! An excellent blend of nature, beach, ecology, sea, fitness and spa. This was my first of what I hope will be many visits to Xixim. Wether you are into yoga, a bird watcher, a sunbather or a nature lover, this place can not be missed on your list of best Mexican places to visit.

Room Tip: Master Suites have their own jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acamacho1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

The opening of the wellness center, spa and yoga center further increased the attractiveness of this hidden gem in paradise.

The food and restaurant are excellent and the addition of some great artworks made our stay truly memorable. yes, there are bugs but this is an environmentally friendly place, so with some repellent you can enjoy the pristine surroundings.

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff! Highly recommend Ecoparaiso.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KukiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Eco Paraiso tremendously! Beautiful bungalows & great staff! We loved the coffee/sweet bread service to our window every morning. The road to get there is challenging after a rain storm but the seclusion we found at Eco Paraiso was worth it. Our only complaint would be the bugs.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshinewheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

My Husband and I celebrated our first anniversary at Eco Paraiso. Luxury and Privacy are abundant at this eco resort. The Welcome Pavilion is breathtaking. The Restaurant and Game Room/Library are stunning, especially at night. You can walk the grounds at night and look at the stars. The best view is from the second story of the Restaurant. You will not believe the beauty and value of this resort. The staff caters to your every need. On our anniversary, they built a canopy on the beach, made candles and torches using seashells and made us a romantic beach dinner. We paid extra for the service BUT this was the first time they'd ever done this and they did everything especially for us. Their pool is amazing and complete with a full service pool side bar and restaurant.

The daily menu remained the same throughout our 6 day stay which was a bit boring but the food was quite good. Our beachfront villa had amazing sunset views and just perfect views in general. The partial outdoor shower is AMAZING!! The main complaint we had was with cleanliness. This being an eco resort, the villas are "shared" with mosquitoes and geckos. This makes for surprising gifts of gecko poo that somehow the maids could never clean. The mosquito nets around the beds helped protect us from bites at night. You must remember that IF you have your doors open, keep the screens closed in order to keep the bugs out. We also brought our own citronella candles and deep woods OFF, which helped quite a bit. They provided us with one candle and always lit it towards sundown to help ward off the bugs. They also gave us mosquito repellant patches that lasted for 30 hours. We had to purchase replacements :( The geckos with whom we shared out villa were very noisy day and night. I say all of the negative for full disclosure but want to stress that this place is basically paradise. If you don't speak any Spanish, communicating with the staff could pose a problem at times although some of them were ok with English. Luckily, my Spanish kicked in and helped us interact with the friendly staff like Sergio at the restaurant. Sergio was an AMAZING server!! We LOVED him! Also Sergio at the front desk was wonderful and friendly, even offering to help me improve my Spanish!

My Husband and I are loners so the seclusion was ideal but there are excursions. We visited a flamingo conservation area.

Our overall impression is that this place is truly a hidden gem that we wish would stay private forever. I hope that people slowly find out about this paradise and leave it as pristine and breathtaking as we found it. From the villa to the beach to the solitude, we can't wait to return. This place is a little piece of HEAVEN ON EARTH.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

To rest after visiting many archeological sites, we had booked a bungalow at Eco Paraiso, thinking we would end up in a small paradise. It might have been, had we been mosquitoes... For us, impossible to walk outside - even covered with lotion - or to sleep. The hotel provides some "environmental friendly" repellent and patches to the guests but would be better off using pesticides. The site is still under construction and the view from our"sea facing" bungalow was actually on a construction site. The first night, the food was terrible (obviously microwaved) at outrageous prices. We finally managed to get out of there after 2 nights and our travel agent had to fight to get a refund for the last night. To avoid at all costs

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChrisParis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Our trip started out with a miscommunication between Eco Paraiso's office and the lodge that resulted in them having no record of our pick-up in Merida. Luckily we had the email correspondence and a very helpful hotel in Merida (Medio Mundo) that coordinated our pick-up with Eco Parasio. Once we contacted the lodge, they offered to pay for a cab or to wait two hours for a driver. We opted for the driver, but this resulted in a sunset arrival rather than an afternoon on the beach, which is significant for a three day stay. This was a little disappointing since we emailed just before our departure to confirm the arrangements.

Once we did arrive the staff was incredibility attentive and pleasant. We acknowledged errors happen and made a conscious decision not to let this rough start hamper the enjoyment of the rest of our stay. This allowed us to enjoy the wonderful bungalow with unrestricted views of ocean sunsets. Each bungalow had a small porch with comfortable seating and a hammock. In the morning we found miles of an unspoiled beach all to ourselves. We enjoyed swimming in our private ocean without another human to be seen. We had no significant mosquito problems, except for at dusk.

We found the restaurant service and food very good. However, during our stay there were only a handful of other guests and the large restaurant felt a little austere. When the lodge found out we were birders, they arranged a tour with a local knowledgeable guide (Alex, who does several of their tours). One little feature we enjoyed was the delivery of high-quality coffee to the bungalow in the morning via a little door hidden behind a wall.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirdLooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Celestun hotels
5.2 mi away
Castillito Kin-Nah
Castillito Kin-Nah
#2 of 9 in Celestun
46 reviews
1.4 mi away
Playa Maya Resorts
Playa Maya Resorts
#2 of 3 in Celestun
38 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel San Julio
Hotel San Julio
#3 of 9 in Celestun
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Posada Lilia Celestun
Posada Lilia Celestun
#3 of 3 in Celestun
24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xixim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xixim

Address: Km 10 del Viejo Camino a Sisal Celestun, Celestun 97636, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Celestun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Celestun
Price Range: $180 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Xixim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XIXIM: a different alternative. Consciousness, love for intact nature, rediscovering yourself, high quality and the simplicity of our services are the secrets that we generously share in our paradise...Hotel XIXIM is an ecological paradise. Bordered by an unspoiled beach that stretches forever, a dwarf palm plantation and an abundance of indigenous vegetation, the environment here has always taken precedent over profit, in this very special, luxuriously rustic hotel. At present, we have 32 thatched cabanas, 24 junior suites with 2 four-poster double beds and 8 master suites with a king size bed, each with its own private verandah and en-suite bathroom. An extremely large thatched, double-story rondavel with sweeping views of the beach, golden sunsets and our pool area. Upstairs one will find El Santuario, our fully stocked bar and lounge area, and downstairs, our pride and joy, Restaurant Zaxim. The buildings dramatic thatched roof with the longest, straightest tree trunk supports, graphically canopy your occasion.Our Wellness Center as a set of architectural human and natural elements: palapas and mangroves, buildings and coastal dunes, windows overlooking the emerald-green sea, open spaces yet of intimate dimensions, each and every one of them integrated to the pristine nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Xixim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Paraiso Xixim Celestun
Eco Paraiso Xixim Hotel Celestun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing