We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach! Close to bus station.”
Review of Hotel Gutierrez

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Celestun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Gutierrez
Ranked #8 of 9 Celestun B&B and Inns
Madras, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“On the beach! Close to bus station.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stumbled on to this diamond-in-the-rough this week and will definitey return. My grown sons and I traveled from Merida to Celestun by 2nd Class bus for over two hours and we had no idea where we were going to stay. When we stepped off the bus, a local non-intrusive freelance tour-guide named Alberto asked us if we were looking for a hotel. He simply pointed to the direction of the hotels and there were several on the beach. From looking at Hotel Gutierres, I guessed it would be at least $80 U.S. but it was $42 for an ocean-front room with two beds. We stayed three nights. I wished I had planned my trip differently. I would have liked to have stayed there a week. The rooms were simple but I found them to be perfect. I loved the view as we walked across the balcony area back to our room.

The little restaurant served breakfast from 8 a.m. to noon every day and served delicious homemade bread and homemade marmelade as well as many full breakfasts. The restaurant manager/cook spoke fluent English, Spanish, and German.

There was a roomy rooftop that appeared to have been a bar at one point. I hung my laundry up there and nobody seemed to care.

The hotel provided beach recliners for guests to relax on the shore.. We enjoyed that there were not lots of tourists. The village seemed to be just as much of a fishing village as a tourist town. So, we could watch fishing boats pull up to the shore periodically....and the pelicans that were there to greet them. My sons enjoyed walking a few steps down to the pier to see what the fishermen were catching.

Alberto's company also took us on a canoe tour that was a lot of fun. This was the same tour company that took people from the beach in front of the hotel but we opted for the adventurous canoe trip. We got to ride in one of the small mortorcycle-cart taxis out through the mangroves. We walked on raised wooden walkways through the mangroves and boarded the canoe. (There were no life-jackets but they said the entire estuary was shallow which makes sense because the flamngos were standing in it. This would have made me nervous if we had children with us. Maybe they had life-jackets for kids but I didn't see them.) It cost a total of $70 US for all three of us and was worth every penny. We got to see a fox, over thousand of flamingos, white & brown pelicans, ibis, hinga, coot, heron, cucko, mockingbirds, and a roseate spoonbill, double-crested cormorants.

Both the hotel and the tour were great. If you are heading to Celestun and nervous about finding a hotel, there seemed to be no probem just showing up. However, they did tell me that their busiest season was over Christmas. In late January, most of the hotels seem to be less than half full.

Oh, and when we returned to Merida, the local people arranged for us to ride in a taxi van which was ony $3 US for the trip. This took less than 90 minutes.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jaypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gutierrez, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for your great Review we are always trying our best to make your stay with us a memorable experience, The Hotel as well as all the people in the tour business really try to help all they can.

We look forward to your next visit, Celestun as truly a gem !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Providence, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a night while visiting Celestun in anticipation of a flamingo trip the next day. We arrived after dark, and Carmen was there to receive us and show us to our rooms. The rooms are basic, but functional for a quick overnight stay and cost $30 - $40/night for two. We had an issue with hot water in the morning, but it was taken care of eventually. The nice surprise for us was that this hotel is right on the beach and the winds blowing thru' the night as we slept were incredible. The hotel is located right off the main square - so getting food was not a problem. There is also a supermarket nearby in the main square where we were able to get bread, snacks, fruit etc. The owner did not speak English, so I would recommend having someone in your group that speaks Spanish. Regarding the flamingo trip, there is usually a tour boat or two that leave a short, walkable distance from this hotel, right off the beach. But on the day we were there, there wasn't anyone offering this tour, so we ended up taking the official tour (which requires a automobile ride to reach from the hotel). Overall, the hotel is a nice and really inexpensive place to stay overnight and worked out well for our purposes.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank cooltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gutierrez, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to being of service to you on your next visit to Celestun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

A very nice beach front option for visiting Celestun. Basic clean rooms, friendly staff, excellent chef. Perfect hotel if you spend your days exploring the surrounding area and want an affordable hotel with great location for relaxing evenings. Not an all-inclusive luxury hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gutierrez, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for the Great Review Mark, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay in Celestun,

Peter the Chef has a wonderful little restaurant and serves great food on the patio area, i am glad you enjoyed the evenings at hotel, great sunsets and lots of fun people

Please come back again we enjoyed your company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celestun, Yucatan, mexico
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Hotel is basic but good for the money, they are doing many new upgrades to hotel at the present time and they will be completed by Dec 1, Nice breakfast at small restaurant at hotel . Hotel staff were very informative, pleasant and helpful.
Beach in front of hotel is fantastic and very quiet, located in the heart of the community

Will return for sure

Room Tip: Great beach front rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I have read the spanish reviews and really don't understand how they could have had a bad experience like that. I was pleased with every aspect of my stay and, for having traveled all around Mexico, I can tell you that a nice hotel like that is rare and such a welcoming staff even more rare. As for the dogs, they are all around this country anyway and, at least, their dogs and clean, friendly and they obey. I warmly suggest this place to anyone who is looking for a more real experience of Mexico than all those "all included" resort and to anyone who just want to feel at home near the ocean.

Room Tip: It is also possible to park your RV or van in the parking lot and sleep there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Amelie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

This is very basic hotel but clean and a good value and a great location right on the beach. The place could use a little maintenance and paint. Our room was missing the towel bar so we could not hang up the towels. But these are minor problems. If you want a hotel right on the beach for about $30, this is the place. Just step out of the hotel and you are on the beach. The rooms have new doors with dead bolt locks that can be locked from inside or out which I like. There is a good restaurant right next door. Not fancy but a good value and great location.

Room Tip: Any at the front on the second floor have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Find_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We arrived in Celestun expecting nothing, went to the beach to relax and found Hotel Gutierrez right beside the beach. We thought we would stay 1 or 2 days and ended up staying 7 days. We loved our hosts so much, felt safe and could not believe we had a hot shower and such a clean bathroom in Mexico... and the sunsets are breathtaking. I would refer this place to everybody. And with the pink flamingos, the trip was done. The other very interesting thing is that the owner was happy to exchange his english books with us. Thank you so much to Arthuro and Joanita who made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Celestun hotels
6.1 mi away
Hotel Xixim
Hotel Xixim
#1 of 2 in Celestun
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Lilia Celestun
Posada Lilia Celestun
#3 of 3 in Celestun
21 reviews
4.7 mi away
Playa Maya Resorts
Playa Maya Resorts
#2 of 3 in Celestun
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Julio
Hotel San Julio
#3 of 9 in Celestun
17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gutierrez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gutierrez

Property: Hotel Gutierrez
Address: Calle 14 x13 y 15 | No. 114, Celestun 97367, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Celestun
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Celestun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gutierrez, has recently renovate rooms and common areas, we have a new patio on the second level which gives you a priceless view of the beach and sunsets as well as a great place to sun tan. The hotel and restaurant,is located right on the beach in the heart of Celestun Yucatan,in the restaurante area. We promote and nice family environment, and treat our clients as friends and family. Hotel was built in 1983 and was the first hotel built here in Celestun. Celestun is a wonderfull paradise and still has a virgin beaches, white sand, unforgettable sunsets and the best seafood restaurants in the Yucatan.Please come join us in paradise ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing