We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent south portuguese food”

O SANTOS - Comida Portuguesa Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 724 Restaurants in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Macau, China
2 reviews
“Excellent south portuguese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We are portuguese and we go to Santos almost every week. In this restaurant you can find the taste of the genuine south portuguese food and a friendly smile from Santos that is always making sure that we get the best service and food.
We went already to the most of the Portuguese restaurants in Macau and we find Santos one of the best ones.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSANTOS, Proprietário at O SANTOS - Comida Portuguesa Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Google Translation
UM OBRIGADO MUITO , MUITO GRANDE , Pelas suas Palavras , Agradeço toda a simpatia de tudo o quanto aqui deixou escrito a meu respeito e da tasquinha onde me orgulho de trabalhar e dedicar todo o meu tempo , é gratíficante , e deixa-nos felizes quando Amigos como o Senhor escreve aqui nesta Janela para o Mundo Palavras Como essas : Um Grande Abraço , e sempre que aqui voltar faça o favor de se identificar , para lhe dar o Abraço Pessoalmente : OBRIGADO E BEM HAJA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    146
    72
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Reasonable priced Portugese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were one of the first few that entered the restaurant for lunch on a Sunday afternoon. Within 30 mins the restaurant was full. The wall was covered with souvenirs and banners from Portugal, with a drawing of a young, handsome man as a centrepiece of whom, I suspect, is the owner himself. We didn't eat much because we were still full from breakfast but still have had the famous roast suckling pig and a green salad. Both were yummy: the pig was not fatty, skin was crisp, salad was fresh and portion generous. We will certainly returning to the restaurant with a large group of people to sample more food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSANTOS, Proprietário at O SANTOS - Comida Portuguesa Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Google Translation
Muito OBRIGADO , pela vossa estadia aqui : e pela vossa Avaliação , é para mim um orgulho servir Amigos como os Senhores : Voltem sempre que quiserem : estarei ao vosso dispor : Os meus Cumprimentos , muito Obrigado e até quando quiserem , Santos Pinto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
192 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Alright food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

It was almost full when we arrived at O Santos for dinner. 1 empty table left on the upper floor. It was busy, noisy and squeezy. We had the clams, roast pork and the chicken dish. We had high hopes for this place, but was left a little disappointed. It was alright for most of it, none of the dishes wowed us. Satisfactory but probably would try another Portuguese place if back in Macau.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyBingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSANTOS, Proprietário at O SANTOS - Comida Portuguesa Restaurant, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Google Translation
Agradeço o comentário de Vossa Excelência : em Relação á Refeição que lhe servimos aqui , na minha casa:
lamento o lugar que ficou , penso que seria o único no momento , peço desculpa se houve alguma falta de atenção , da parte do meu S.T.A.F para com Vossas Excelências ,
Espero sinceramente que voltem aqui num outro dias , que façam o favor de reservar a mesa com antecedência , e penso que vão ficar mais satisfeitos :
Os meus Sinceros Cumprimentos e Um grande Obrigado , pela Contribuição do vosso Comentário , só assim se pode emendar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real portuguese flavor and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Went following a recommendation from a friend from Singapore. The owner is always present, with a very nice public relations attitude. Service is very efficient and employees are very nice.
Food was excellent, on both occasions. We tried the cod dumplings and the portuguese sausage as starters, and had Grilled Cod - bacalhau à lagareiro - veal skewers, grilled shot ribs and the roasted suckling pig, which was fantastic. For dessert we tried the milk pudding and the - creme queimado -, both very tasty. Very cold portuguese beer and a very good selection of portuguese wines. We felt like visiting Portugal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CrisRudolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSANTOS, Proprietário at O SANTOS - Comida Portuguesa Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Google Translation
Um Obrigado muito Grande Pelo Comentário aqui deixado por V.Excia , agradeço do fundo do coração e prometo fazer sempre melhor :OBRIGADO E BEM HAJA PELAS SUA PALAVRAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Food is excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We really like O Santos as the food is really food. Our favourites are the roast pork & clams. Don't forget to try the passion fruit juice!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vacation_day_n_nite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OSANTOS, Proprietário at O SANTOS - Comida Portuguesa Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Google Translation
Muito , Muito OBRIGADO pela sua Visita ao O SANTOS e pelas suas palavras de apreço aqui deixadas no TriAdvisor :são Pessoas assim que me ajudam a ser e a fazer o melhor que sei e posso para bem servir , quem por aqui passa .
Obrigado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O SANTOS - Comida Portuguesa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to O SANTOS - Comida Portuguesa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing