We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dangerous Spa”
Review of MGM Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MGM Macau
Ranked #29 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Dangerous Spa”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The worse Spa experience ever...
After checking in, I was taken to the Spa area and left to my own device. The attendant just disappeared without explaining to me the facilities available. I felt tempted to try the "Experience Shower" but as soon as I pressed the button for the small jet I felt a burning sensation on my face. I initially thought that I had touched something not clean and therefore I pressed the bigger jet button in order to rinse off, but then the pain got worse. That's when I realized that the water of the shower contained a high concentration of mint, which was causing the sensation of burn. With difficulty as I couldn't open my eyes, I exited the "Experience Shower" and took a warm shower for 10mns to rinse off the mint concentration. During this whole time, there was no one to assist me....
I reported this incident to the staff and received their apology and discount on the bill. However, I find it unacceptable that I wasn't informed that the "Experience Shower" contained a high concentration of mint, that were was no such information anywhere inside the facility, and that there was nobody to assist me during this incident.
Highly not recommended....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeamsUnited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    143
    26
    15
    7
See reviews for
67
147
42
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

MGM Macau is one of the few hotels that completely blew me away with its over-whelming yet attentive services. We originally booked the Grand Suite in a last minute fashion to celebrate our long-due anniversary but eventually upgraded to the villa upon check in. The check in was smooth and the staff was very helpful overall.

Complimentary fresh fruits and drinks were prepared for us and they even provided a mgm plush toy for us knowing that it is for a special occasion. The room was very elegant and the interior details was second to none. Each room of the villa has its own remote service platform supporting light, curtain and entertainment part, which was very convenient and easy to use.

It was a great hotel to stay and we will definitely return in future when visiting Macau.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A Typical Las Vegas Hotel(Much smaller though). We booked a 2 bedroom Grand deluxe Suite but eventually upgraded to the villa upon check in.
Super Awesome Villa with 2 bedrooms and even better baths. The entire experience was overwhelming. It is a much better option than the Venetian. Unlike the Venetian this place does not feel like an amusement park with a casino. Also the location is great. Not too far from the few attractions in Macau.

Room Tip: Rooms with access from VIP lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamzapatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

MGM as the name suggests is a grand hotel by the group in Macau. It has a grand entrance with very nice staff and well appointed rooms. The pool is just perfect and the spa is great. It has a very nice shopping area with all the luxury brands in it. Very nice casino as well.

Room Tip: One can take a suite on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumeetjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After a 15 hr flight from north America we were tired to say the least but the mgm Macau took good care of us, after a long shower and a 4 hour power nap we were ready to go and MGM made a great base to explore from took in lots of sights and went to the am ma temple and many of the Major casinos. all in all a great palce to stay.

Room Tip: get a good casino host that knows what you want to help determine a good room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos Town, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This Hotel was really one of the best that i have stay with my girlfriend ... had very big rooms and they prices were not so high :) the stuff there was really kind and helpful :) inside the hotel also they have big casino like in every hotel there as i remember good :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdAward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Though we had stayed in other hotels in Macau earlier, this time we chose MGM Grand hotel.
The hotel is located in Macau island. Chic & Elegant. Nicely decorated rooms with soft beds. The shower & bath room was designed in classical style with the barh tub with its English looks was big & nice.
We stayed in the sea facing room which in the night offered excellent views of the bridges over the water.
The hotel is adjoined to the Central Shopping Mall. Unlike some hotels in Taipo, this one is not so crowded. Hence its a nice shopping experience.
The hotel shuttle buses to Taipo area (where other attractions like the Dancing Waters show happen)
is not so frequent. Taxi is fine but we couldn't wait for the govt Taxis & had to take the hotel's taxi which costef us 170HKD. So if u r planning to visit City of Dreams or The Venetian Macau hotel then plan ur start accordingly. Surprisingly the firat hotel shuttle bus from the Ferry terminal starts at 11am only. And frequency is not so good. Perhaps a sign of not enough customer but not sure.
The 'Aurora' design in the lobby was fabulous with the six meter aquarium & the decorations appealing so much. Both the day & the night view are good. The previous one had the butterfly park. Very unique & soothing.
Wi-fi was free & excellent speed.
The receptionists were courteous but we felt they were falling short of professional experience. All of them speak good english.
We had lunch at Rossio once. Good but not great. The MGM boutique patiserrie sells Mariage Freres, Tea Forte kind of brands. The elegant grand lobby is another cynosure. Over all a nice experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhOhSe7en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
0.2 mi away
Wynn Macau
Wynn Macau
#19 of 95 in Macau
595 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Macau
Grand Hyatt Macau
#6 of 95 in Macau
988 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
2.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Macau

Property: MGM Macau
Address: Avenida Dr. Sun Yat Sen, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#11 Business Hotel in Macau
#14 Casino Hotel in Macau
#15 Family Hotel in Macau
#16 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#17 Spa Hotel in Macau
#27 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — MGM Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of style in the Macau skyline, MGM MACAU is a 154-meter tall, five-star hotel resort that reaches towards the sky, while its glass exterior reflects the hues of the South China Sea and the swell of the ocean surf.From the décor right down to the service, MGM MACAU prides itself on its fine attention to detail. Inspired by the arts, every element of the hotel is infused with a sense of creativity and style.Among its many distinguishing features, you will find the European-inspired Grande Praça, housed under a stunning glass ceiling. But there is so much more to this monument to leisure. Its world-class facilities include the award-winning Six Senses Spa, authentic art pieces, and eight signature restaurants and bars to fulfill any gastronomic cravings. MGM MACAU has also become a one-of-a kind venue for meetings and conventions, with each function area offering a distinct sense of style.Truly a work of art all of its own, MGM MACAU is the destination for world-class entertainment and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your MGM Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Macau Hotel Macau
Mgm Grand Hotel Macau
Mgm Grand Resort Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing