We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars Hotel For The Player Only”
Review of MGM Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MGM Macau
Ranked #30 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed for 5 days in Mar 2013 with wife and one and a half year old baby girl. Not the first time staying in this hotel but the bad experience has not changed a bit. Check in at 12 pm, was informed room not ready until 3 pm. Try my luck again to check in at 1.30 pm with a sleeping baby, room is still not ready but the Chinese nation man beside me with just a MGM red colour membership card and no passport identification was able to check into a City view Grand Room within 3 minutes which was the same room type that I book. Finally at 3 pm, check in again and the room is still not ready.The MGM cleaning staff must be having a very long lunch plus tea break! Finally, front desk checked with her manager and "ofter me an upgrade" to a sea view grand room.

Nothing to say about about the room as it is just basic things and house brand. Out of the 5 days I stayed, coffee and tea was not replaced at all and Internet cost HKD 160 a day plus tax. Basically nothing is free if you are not a MGM VIP gamblers. Would suggest non gambles to avoid this hotel as you are paying good 5 stars hotel rate but the message from the hotel seem to be gamblers are preferred.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 479 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in MGM Macau... The room was really spacious, luxurious, comfortable, and has great floor to ceiling glass windows.. The view/ panorama was just excellent, especially at night.. We spent our night just chatting with our family, eating chips, and looking out thru the window... The view was just spectacular..

The toilet was spacious, but we have to cover the glass wall with the curtain, to get privacy during our bath in the bath tub...

There are shops/ restaurants outside the hotel.. and the casino was great ( better than the Venetian IMHO )

Beside the price of the hotel room rate that is rather high... all is just perfect for us....

Room Tip: Request a room that faces the sea and the bridge, at a higher level....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Budisantoso K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a high standard hotel with a good rewards program that with a little planning could see your rooms free for your stay. The casino floor is huge as big as Crown Melbourne and bigger than a lot of vegas casinos.

There is a great selection of cafes and the best lunch buffet I found in Macau.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerardvanBalveren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed in one of the two bedroom deluxe suites. Room 2613. Firstly, I just want to say how impressed I was with the room. A large lounge room / dining room. Each bedroom has its own ensuite with spa, double shower separate basins, panoramic views and massive walk in wardrobe. Seriously, the suite is the size of a house! The shower deserves another mention, I it has a ceiling fitted wide rain shower head, and 6 directional wall mounted jets. Best shower I've had in my life. The sea views are amazing at night. Quite smoggy during the day, and but that's no fault of the hotel. Now on a more serious note. The behaviour of some of the guests is quite alarming. When checking in, some guy pushed to the front of the line and started speaking over us to the hotel attendant. I understand little Chinese but he said he needed immediate service because he was racing to a flight. Half hour later we saw him on the gaming floor.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

stayed here for three nights in march 2013. Arrived at the ferry terminal expecting to have to get a taxi there but they provide a free shuttle bus straight to the hotel. We were a few hours earlier than check in time but they checked us straight into our room with no issues at all. Very helpful staff at the concierge. Breakfast at the rossio resturantt was great and the lobby was amazing. Definitley recommend eating at the imperial court restaurant. Excellent hotel, worth the money

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We recently visited the MGM Macau to see the recently opened Gold Brick Exhibition, featuring the works of artist - Wang Kaifang that is taking place between 7 Feb to 2 April 2013.

The Gold Bricks are all on open display, six being in the main Grande Praca area of the MGM Grand while the rest are located in the One Central shopping arcade and mall area attached to the MGM Macau and Mandarin Oriental Macau and one being outside on the Nam Van Lake promenade just outside the hotel.

The gold bricks to be quite interesting to inspect and look at. Unfortunately, with the vast number of visitors in the Grande Praca, you have to compete with sizable crowds to enjoy these pieces. However, the others located in less heavily visited areas were easier to see.

Overall, they were interesting and worth finding if you are staying in the MGM Macau, Mandarin Oriental or perhaps the nearby Wynn Hotel. Or if you simply enjoy seeing unique exhibitions, this one is worth looking into.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were 4 people in the Grand Deluxe Suite at MGM Macau / It was nothing but spetacular. Great surrounds and a nice suite. Of course Macau is not like Las Vegas, but the room was definitely the greatest experience we had at a hotel.

Highly recommendable IF you are not on budget :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
0.2 mi away
Wynn Macau
Wynn Macau
#20 of 94 in Macau
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
2.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Macau
Grand Hyatt Macau
#7 of 94 in Macau
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Macau

Address: Avenida Dr. Sun Yat Sen, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#11 Business Hotel in Macau
#15 Family Hotel in Macau
#16 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#17 Casino Hotel in Macau
#18 Spa Hotel in Macau
#28 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $163 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — MGM Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of style in the Macau skyline, MGM MACAU is a 154-meter tall, five-star hotel resort that reaches towards the sky, while its glass exterior reflects the hues of the South China Sea and the swell of the ocean surf.From the décor right down to the service, MGM MACAU prides itself on its fine attention to detail. Inspired by the arts, every element of the hotel is infused with a sense of creativity and style.Among its many distinguishing features, you will find the European-inspired Grande Praça, housed under a stunning glass ceiling. But there is so much more to this monument to leisure. Its world-class facilities include the award-winning Six Senses Spa, authentic art pieces, and eight signature restaurants and bars to fulfill any gastronomic cravings. MGM MACAU has also become a one-of-a kind venue for meetings and conventions, with each function area offering a distinct sense of style.Truly a work of art all of its own, MGM MACAU is the destination for world-class entertainment and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your MGM Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Macau Hotel Macau
Mgm Grand Hotel Macau
Mgm Grand Resort Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing