We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for Westerners. Attention to detail, which is often missed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MGM Macau

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
MGM Macau
Ranked #22 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ideal for Westerners. Attention to detail, which is often missed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is take 3 to Macau and felt like the MGM.

In fact I wanted to stay there last time, but it was sold out. It's not a big as the Venetian or anything on Cotai, so there are no long queues, huge malls and vast walks.

The rooms are fantastic and are to HK/ Western tastes.

The Lobby was jaw dropping as it was prepared for Chinese New Year.

Unlike the huge Macau/Vegas casinos there is a real attention to detail- the service was fantastic in the main casino, spa and in restaurants.

If you want somewhere classy, spacious and European friendly, plus well located in old Macau rather than Cotai, this is your number one choice!

Very good.

Room Tip: City View, not harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OLPOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    139
    25
    14
    6
See reviews for
66
143
37
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were there Dec 23-25. Hotel staff especially concierge are well-trained, very friendly, eager to help, and deserve 5-star commendation. We had the Grand Room with sea view. Our room, while not fancy nor grand, was clean and comfortable with only basic 5-star hotel amenities. The sea view is nice to have but may not be worth a premium coz there's nothing much to see during the day, night time is nicer with some lights flickering afar. In general, the hotel is very nice, conveniently located, and their casino is very decent and offers a very pleasant atmosphere for gambling. Below are some issues for management's attention:
1. The hotel is 5-star but unfortunately a lot of its in-house guests or patrons are not. We were shocked to spot leftover lychee shells and seeds inside one of the hotel lifts one day. We saw guests openly smoked outside the lift lobby on our floor. There were always people hanging out (stretching out rather) in the hotel lobby area, I suspect they were tired casino patrons taking a rest or nap there. On one occasion, we heard someone calling out quite impolitely to a staff (who happened to pass by that area) asking for a coke. ??? I think management needs to do something about that area to reduce disturbance or unpleasantness to other in-house guests.
2. If you plan on using the hotel's free shuttle service to the pier, please allot extra time coz the pickup point is not in front of the hotel entrance but some 7-8 mins walk away.
3. Buffet breakfast at the Fussio is not exactly what you look forward to in the morning - food is average, variety limited. But the price tag is surprisingly cheap.
The hotel is nice and we won't hesitate to return but only if we can get a much much cheaper rate to compensate for having to accommodate unsightly guests/patrons.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is my second visit to MGM this year

I was upgraded to a 2-bedroom suite once I checked in because there are no availability on my is definitely a penthouse (but they have more luxurious villa suites and duplex villas suite), each room have a big jacuzzi pool, a large LCD TV and good beds....

I have nothing to complain on my two visits to MGM this year.

Room Tip: If you aim higher, Villa Suites are available subject to availability and management's approval...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smith2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our room was lovely, large, spacious, comfortable bed, enormous bathroom with a great shower, and the front desk gave us a sea view which was lovely. The staff were helpful and friendly and attentive.
I do find casino hotels a little impersonal though but there's not much you can do about that in Macau. I'm glad we stayed on the peninsula and not in Taipa/Cotai strip and there was more to see and do here.
My main issue was the smell of smoke that was everywhere. We booked a non smoking a room but they either made a mistake and gave us a smoking room or the ventilation system is terrible and we were getting smoke pumped in from the casino. Either way, it did sour the experience somewhat.

Room Tip: Make sure you triple confirm that your room is non-smoking upon check in- even though we booked a no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

we spent a night in Macau on the way to hong kong and decided to book at the MGM. what a great choice was that. the hotel looks amazing. every step makes you feel like in a dream world full of goodies. the front desk upgrade us to a suit and we couldn't get enough of the ocean view. restaurants are top of the line and the staff will go out of they're way to please you and to make sure all your needs are being taking care of. thank you MGM.

Room Tip: Macau is pretty small so you'll probably find yourself in the room very often, in that case i re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Recenly completed my 5th stay. The property is now 6 years old and still presents itself as if it was recently opened. I have stayed in an entry level room as well as a 2 bedroom suite. Both were extremely spacious - the first measuring 58 sq.m and the 2 bedroom suite measuring almost 200 sq.m. The rooms are well equipped elecronically, the beds very comfortable and the bathroom is spaciously laid out with twin sinks - separate toilet - walk-in shower and stand alone tub. The bathroom in the 2 bedroom suites are off the charts with jacuzzi which includes lights as well as lights that pulsate and change color in the shower, fortunately you can turn that feature off if it's not your thing!! The hidden large TV behind the mirror in the bathroom in the 2 bedroom is spectacular. Allows for a long relaxing hot tub while catching up with international news and learning some Chinese. The Grande Praca makes for one of the most iconic atriums ever seen in any hotel anywhere in the world. The hotel has been exceptionally well maintained. I have eaten in all of the restaurants and clearly they attract excellent chefs having never experienced a disappointing meal. Food prices are moderate considering this is one of just a few 5 star hotels on this former Portuguese colony. If you are a gambler you won't be disappointed - the casino is big and highend and the Lion's Bar is the hippest place on the island. The Spa is huge and has enjoyed a snow room and a unusual indoor pool which unfortunately is being removed! The outdoor pool and sundecks are very relaxing in the right climate but no matter the climate becomes very shadowy due to the high rise constructed next door. Have got to know some of the management over my visits and their standards of service receive a high rating. They embrace a true Asian hospitality approach and try very hard to please the clients. Have stayed in many other properies on the island over the years and rate the MGM, particulary the VIP suites, as my favorite.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city are a fair bit cheaper than rooms facing the South China Sea. My experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harv and Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I spent 3 nights in MGM on a business visit to Macau. The rooms were clean and functional, but not exceptional.

The fact that Host took us to neighbouring properties for meals is an indication that the food may not be outstanding.

The in room dining menu was comprehensive and i enjoyed a good breakfast. Although i do not have any major complaints, in future i will opt for the Wynn or Encore next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phantomreviewer280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
0.2 mi away
Wynn Macau
Wynn Macau
#26 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#21 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
0.4 mi away
The Landmark Macau
The Landmark Macau
#23 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Emperor Hotel
Grand Emperor Hotel
#28 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Macau

Property: MGM Macau
Address: Avenida Dr. Sun Yat Sen, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#9 Casino Hotel in Macau
#11 Business Hotel in Macau
#13 Spa Hotel in Macau
#15 Family Hotel in Macau
#16 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#21 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — MGM Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of style in the Macau skyline, MGM MACAU is a 154-meter tall, five-star hotel resort that reaches towards the sky, while its glass exterior reflects the hues of the South China Sea and the swell of the ocean surf.From the décor right down to the service, MGM MACAU prides itself on its fine attention to detail. Inspired by the arts, every element of the hotel is infused with a sense of creativity and style.Among its many distinguishing features, you will find the European-inspired Grande Praça, housed under a stunning glass ceiling. But there is so much more to this monument to leisure. Its world-class facilities include the award-winning Six Senses Spa, authentic art pieces, and eight signature restaurants and bars to fulfill any gastronomic cravings. MGM MACAU has also become a one-of-a kind venue for meetings and conventions, with each function area offering a distinct sense of style.Truly a work of art all of its own, MGM MACAU is the destination for world-class entertainment and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your MGM Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Macau Hotel Macau
Mgm Grand Hotel Macau
Mgm Grand Resort Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing