We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good priced”
Review of MGM Macau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MGM Macau
Ranked #30 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We had a very good offer and stayed here for 2 nights, the rooms are great, especially with ocean view the cotai strip is right in front of you. This is definitely one of the best hotels i've ever been, gambling is great, going out is great, and when coming in you're room, that's triple that great...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 488 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

My wife and me visited the MGM Grand in January this year buoyed by the fabulous reviews on Tripadvisor. We were looking for a place that was opulent and not bustling with people at the same time and boy o boy was the MGM a perfect choice.

The hotel itself is imposing, being built in the form of 3 waves but is not ostentatious like the Venetian is. The lobby itself is imposing and brilliant and has Dale Chihully's glass masterpieces all over. The Grande Praca itself is a sight to behold and presents an aura of great class.

Our check in was perfect and we were upgraded to the Corner Sea View Suite which was a fabulous start to the holiday and made it more worth our while. The rooms are awesome with sweeping sea views and windows all round. The bathrooms are huge with a separate shower area and an open bathtub. Made me feel like a king for sure.

The food while expensive (Macau isnt cheap by Asian standards) is perfect and tasty. The breakfast spread was huge and took us through till lunch. The room service and other amenities are fantastic as well. What isnt good is the slightly "high nosed" attitude of the people from the mainland. Sometimes, it seems you're being discriminated against when it comes to the Casino or the shops.

Lastly, the location is great. While its a cab ride away to the Cotai Strip (Venetian, 4 seasons, Hyatt et al), the MGM is closer to the historical centre of town like the Ruins of Church of St Paul and the main shopping area. Lots of cabs and nightlife to easily spend the evening without the seediness that you see on the Strip.

All in all, a perfect, opulent and luxurious experience.

Room Tip: Ask for free upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank premjit_pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Macau has become a very popular destination for tourist from mainland China, wherever you turn they are in front and behind you, maybe this hotel not appeal to them much, so if anyone looking for a relax moment in Macau, this one should be an excellent pick.

Room Tip: room 1608 has a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkvisitor1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

First visit to Macau and love to go back again soon. Front desk staff were warm & helpful -they are the STARS of the hotel! The room is spacious and clean with high quality bed linen which gives great comfort & sleep. A short 2-night stay but a memorable one!

Room Tip: Book early for great saving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dismayedcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I stayed in Macau for the second time in the past two weeks for another night. I had an absolutely amazing time at the Four Seasons and so was a bit hesitant going anywhere else...

In terms of the MGM; it was a breeze getting to the hotel from ferry, well marked and continuous flow of coach shuttle buses (easier than the Four Seasons was). Also great location on the historical side of Macau. Check in was smooth. We asked about complimentary upgrades and were thrilled when we were moved into a corner, ocean view studio room with free mini bar (no hard liquor but still great). The studio was very nice. Lots of room, clean, nice beds/linens (although mattress a bit hard).

Again great location, was within a 20-30 minute walk of all of the Portugese historical landmarks.

The following day we wanted to use the spa (the reason we went there) but found it closed for repairs. Initially we were very dissapointed. After speaking to a few different people (after 20 minutes the duty manager) we were offered a limo to the ferry, an extended stay free of charge, met by two additional managers (rooms and spa) and 15% off of the spa when it was rushed to be opened (so we still were able to use it in the end). on top of everything we had excellent service at the spa.

So, after all was said and done...a bit frustrating it was closed in the first place and we had to speak to so many people to make things right, a little annoyed you have to pay for internet, same that you have to pay for the spa (about 450HKD or 250 if an MGM lions club member) but ultimately had a good resolution to problem and the spa was worth going to.

when all's said and done if I was going to Macau for one day, if I wanted to gamble I'd stay at the Four Seasons (attached to the Venetian), if I wanted to see historical sights I'd stay at the MGM, otherwise take your pick!

Room Tip: always ask if complimentary upgrades are availabl
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Here are the facts: there is only one Las Vegas and there is only one MGM Hotel for me, and it's in Macau. This hotel has nothing in common with it's overbloated, irregular and unpredictable relative in Vegas. MGM Macau is refined, beautiful, stunning at times and offers some of the most beautifully decorated and appointed rooms in any hotel anywhere in the world. The staff is completly helpful, warm and accommodating. The restaurants are solid -- but the casino... head across the street to the Wynn. But by all means, stay at the fabulous hotel, face the water and relax at the elevated pool overlooking the bay. Not everything in Macau is a winner--but this hotel is!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a non-smoking floor and high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRVLtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

I wanted to try MGM Macau as I've stayed in the MGM in Vegas. I'd take Vegas any day!

The hotel looks quite striking from the outside. The room was beautiful and there are severral options for dining. The casino floor was quite - perhaps due to the opening of Galaxy on that same night. In fact the casino was so boring that I took a cab to the Venetian, where things are always happening. Plus the Venetian is the only casino to offer poker tables - which however are placed way to the side in a quite area out of visibility. And there were only about 30 players. I know poker is not that big in Macau but it's as if they want westerners out of sight.

I find Chinese hotel patrons in Macau and Hong Kong mostly unfriendly and probably racist. I've experienced this several times now since 1997 when I first visited these places. It can be an unpleasant place and experience. Service staff are of course professional and courteous but don't they teach any manners to people in China?

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank affiliatelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
0.2 mi away
Wynn Macau
Wynn Macau
#20 of 94 in Macau
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#11 of 94 in Macau
1,630 reviews
2.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
2.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Macau
Grand Hyatt Macau
#7 of 94 in Macau
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Macau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Macau

Address: Avenida Dr. Sun Yat Sen, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#11 Business Hotel in Macau
#15 Family Hotel in Macau
#16 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#17 Casino Hotel in Macau
#18 Spa Hotel in Macau
#28 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $171 - $748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — MGM Macau 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beacon of style in the Macau skyline, MGM MACAU is a 154-meter tall, five-star hotel resort that reaches towards the sky, while its glass exterior reflects the hues of the South China Sea and the swell of the ocean surf.From the décor right down to the service, MGM MACAU prides itself on its fine attention to detail. Inspired by the arts, every element of the hotel is infused with a sense of creativity and style.Among its many distinguishing features, you will find the European-inspired Grande Praça, housed under a stunning glass ceiling. But there is so much more to this monument to leisure. Its world-class facilities include the award-winning Six Senses Spa, authentic art pieces, and eight signature restaurants and bars to fulfill any gastronomic cravings. MGM MACAU has also become a one-of-a kind venue for meetings and conventions, with each function area offering a distinct sense of style.Truly a work of art all of its own, MGM MACAU is the destination for world-class entertainment and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your MGM Macau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Macau Hotel Macau
Mgm Grand Hotel Macau
Mgm Grand Resort Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing