We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”
Review of Rio Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rio Hotel & Casino
Ranked #32 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night and two days. Free shuttle to the ferry terminal gave us access to other shuttle buses and sightseeing. No wifi. It was good enough for our short stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were on a non smoking floor but people were smoking in corridoors and lifts and the smell of cigarettes was everywhere. Big rooms but dont expect great views. Within walking distance from wynn, lisboa and other casinos.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    219
    85
    13
    11
See reviews for
80
99
60
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked this very late via the net. We got a good deal which included breakfast! We got the free hotel shuttle bus from Macau ferry terminal to the hotel easily & is free. Only takes about 10 mins to get to hotel from there. We were greeted by hotel staff. They carried our luggage to lobby area & then to our rooms. The staff are very friendly & helpful. They can't do enough for you. Check in was easy & they allowed us to check in before the allocated time. They also upgraded our room free of charge!

The room was stunning! Free bottled water in the room! Massive bathroom. Clean, spacious, perfect! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We only stayed the 1 night. Only downside was the pool was not open at all during our time here! It is perfect for a great stay & about a 20 min walk to St Pauls Ruins, Senado Square etc.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel is modern and well maintained, right in the city centre with many shops and restaurants just opposite. Free and discount vouchers for use at the hotel, presented at check-in. But there is no wifi and has a often crowded lobby as it is a popular tour group hotel. But it is a value for money hotel in nowadays Macau.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kowloon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed there for a night. Check in was smooth and quick. Staff are polite with smiling. They gave me a pack of coupon for meal, for drink, for massage and the best one for me was two portugese egg tarts free of charge.
My colleague and i went to the cafe for the tarts. The staff led us to a table and gave two to each of us without asking for any other purchase. taste good.
there was chargable wifi at the lobby but you need to use lan cable for notebook in room. seats are of course available at g/f lobby but not in the floor i stayed.
i thought i will stay here again if they keep the rate at current level. If wifi is available in room, much better.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKMKowloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Rio but should have picked a more western oriented hotel. This hotel caters very well for Chinese but not westerners. The casino is dominated by Baccara tables not a slot machine in the place and only one black table open.

The room was ok, No view. There is a huge spa. The breakfast was ok, the chinese restraurant was good, we had Yum Cha for lunch and although there was no english menu at all, the head waiter picked out a great selection.

Room Tip: Catch the free schuttle from the ferry terminal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerardvanBalveren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel met my expectation for its class. We were efficiently checked in by their friendly bell and frontdesk staff. As requested, they gave us a room in a non smoking floor and they agreed to give us a twin room instead of a double room at no extra cost. Elevators were fast so goin up our 11F room is not a problem. Buffet breakfast has ample selection. Our room was surprisingly spacious with the basic amenities. If you prefer to tour instead of gambling like we did, its very accessible to Senado square by bus since its near the bus stops , you can ask their friendly english speaking staff for assistance. Those who want to go to The strip, may take the free shuttle to the ferry and from there take the free shuttle goin to The Venetian etc. we didnt get to try the pool and the casino though. The downside was their spa is only for men. We badly needed a foot massage. Luckily, there is one across the street. There is also a good Portugese restaurant nearby.

Room Tip: Get a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gsl_9292013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is review of Casino, not hotel itself.

I went there as I saw website address somewhere in advertisement, checked it out and decided to give some spins in roulette and slots, also known brand from Vegas and WSOP.

Nobody there understood English at all; buying chips was very lengthy and complex operation, when trying to give them 1000hkd note and saying "chips please", they ended up speaking Chinese back to me and nobody seemed to know what to do. Even showing chip from another casino didn't ring a bell for them, only when another customer bought chips and I pointed on them they finally understood.

But it got worse. Pics on website of roulette and slots are either old or just plain lie; there was no roulette or slots either, or if there was, they were very cleverly hidden and showing pic from their website of either to any staff member was just "nooo nooo nooo" and shaking head.
Luckily I was able to cash out chips without hassle.

Unless you speak Chinese and you're interested to play si boc/baccarat only, avoid at all cost.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Maerkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#28 of 95 in Macau
1,318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#23 of 95 in Macau
1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Macau
Holiday Inn Macau
#34 of 95 in Macau
592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#39 of 95 in Macau
438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Hotel & Casino

Property: Rio Hotel & Casino
Address: No.33 Rua Luis Gonzaga Gomes, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Casino Hotel in Macau
#19 Spa Hotel in Macau
#30 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rio Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Hotel And Casino
Rio Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing