We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good medium range option for Macau standard”
Review of Rio Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Hotel & Casino
Ranked #32 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We chose to stay in Rio for this trip because of the favorable reviews in TA and the room rates were ~2/3 the cost of staying in the more popular casino hotels, inclusive of breakfast.

Booking was thru their website, prices quoted in HKD. There is no shuttle service to/from the ferry but it is only about ten minutes walk from the ferry if you are familiar with the area, otherwise it can take up to 20 mins. If you are carrying big luggage, it might be more convenient to get a taxi, it won't cost that much.

The hotel is in a good location, being walking distance to the big name casinos in the area and even Senado Square, and has a few nearby bus stops.

Staff were friendly and spoke very good English. We checked in at 9am and the room was available by 11am!

We stayed in a very spacious corner deluxe double room with a view of the park and Orient Arch, the bathroom was also huge with separate shower and bath tub. The safe was of ample size and could accommodate a laptop, ipad, compact camera, DSLR and extra lens (even telefoto). For us the bed was firm (not hard as others found) which was fine; it was not luxurious but we slept well. A tall person may find the bed a little short. Bar items were limited but reasonably priced, eg., canned soda at MOP20. Coffee and tea making facilities were provided. Door had a smart sensor lock. The only setback was the limited tv channel list (English movie channels would've been nice) - upon retiring after a full day of exploring Macau, we would've preferred to watch something more entertaining than C-span.

The breakfast buffet was disappointing for the room rate, which the hotel was charging HKD85, also not worth it. The food selections were geared towards Asian taste but even the dim sum was of poor quality. Options are limited for vegans. The coffee was good though!

Rio hotel provides a very good 3 star hotel room with a few 4 star features. Considering the bed quality, room entertainment and breakfast buffet, it seems rather pricey but this is Macau, it might be acceptable for medium range accommodations.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 480 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a business trip. The company meeting happened to be hosted in this hotel. At first glance this hotel looks nice and respectable. However when I checked in the reception took some time to allocate my room. The reason was quite strange considering they wanted to make sure my room mate (which was my colleague from Singapore and was flying on a different plane and not arrived yet) will be ok if they passed me the room key first.
After all the hussle, they at last gave me my key and I found that my room was clean modern. One things that was quite disturbing were the smoke. Even though I was located in the non smoking floor, you can easily see the cigarette left burning in the ashtray near the lift. Everywhere in the hotel you can smell the tainted smell of smokes.
Breakfast was not so great, and the bad things was when we had the lunch in the hotel during the meeting, the buffet served the spagetti bolognaise which was served earlier for breakfast. For 3 days in the hotel, breakfast variety was the same things. We had lunch also in the japanese restaurant in the hotel. Despite that we had pre ordered the lunch (because we booked the whole restaurant for our group) everyone had to wait for at least 40-60 minutes to get our order. And the food was not nice also. Dinner in the chinese restaurant was not so bad. However the wine they served was horrible.
All in all, the hotel was great only for the location and if you only used it as base to come back every nite for sleep only and shower. Will not recommend this hotel for family with children. Will not come back as well for personal trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rest_relax_jakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed only for a night while my travelling to HK & Macau. The location is quite near from ferry terminal and big casinos. The lobby is beautiful. The room is big (much bigger than my room in HK) and clean. The bathroom is superb! This is really 4 stars hotel. I got the vouchers for casino, dinner and so on (i forgot). There are money changers and convenience store in front of the hotel.

The staffs are very nice and always smile. I had a problem with the taxi drivers in Macau to take me to the museums, i wondered why they didn't wanna take me to there. First thing, maybe they didn't know what i asked because they don't speak English. Then i tried to show them the pics, but they rejected, even i got the taxi from the hotel. Then i asked one of the bellboy. Thanks God, he's very very nice, helpful and good in English. He explained why the driver rejected me and how to get to the place i wanted. He really saved my short trip in Macau. I do really thank to him.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonatiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed for a weekend and great value for money. Everytime I go to Macau, this is where I stay. Clean, quiet, convenient. Bus station right across the street, Good.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel twice for work for about 1.5 weeks each time. Just looking at the pictures of the rooms now brings back memories of the place!

Firstly, if like most people you are coming from HK via the ferry terminal - dont bother walking down the ramp to where the main casinos buses are. The buses to the Rio hotel are small vans and i think only about every half an hour so when they are there the staff are standing at the top of the ramp. So unless you happen to catch one right there, I would catch a Taxi instead - from memory it was about 35 patacas

The hotel itself is on the edge of Macau and about 10 mins walk to the nearest main casino (Wynn) or about 15 mins walk to the main shopping strips. This may not sound much, but given Macau is hot ahd humid most of the year you end up having to catch transport of some sort. It was close to the client I was working on, but otherwise is not a great location.
Also, if you want a non smoking room, make sure you specify this on your booking and remind them when you check in. I stayed for 2 nights in a smoking room which can be quite horrible if you are a non smoker. Although the non smoking rooms are only marginally better and smel of stale smoke - I suspect this is due to the recycling of air through the air conditioners.

Breakfast was a wide variety, but the quality of everthing was quite poor. In addition, make sure you wake up on time as it seems after about 9 o clock most of the food has disappeared courtesy of hungry gamblers from all corners of Asia. The seating area it self is also quite cramped and when it gets full, I have seen people being seated in the lobby outside the restaurant on what looks like garden furniture seating

There is also a "spa" on level 2 - be warned this is not a spa as you would expect in a western hotel, but appears to be some sort of seedy "mens only" spa - would definately recommend you stay away!

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 7leafClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel on three occasions. Not as glossy as the big new casinos but this is a very comfortable hotel in a very good location. But the service is worth a comment. A colleague had a new, large scale model aircraft he had bought in China the week previous, on display in his room. He returned to his room to find it badly damaged on the third day of our stay, with a note attached to contact the duty manager. Extremely upset he called the manager and was told that, the hotel had already contacted the manufacturer from the packaging in his room and a replacement model would be arriving the next day. Sure enough the new model was here within 24 hrs but my German colleague was heading off to Mexico. The hotel couriered the model the Germany at their expense. I think that kind of service is worth a mention.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnieNewfoundland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Check-in was fairly smooth; I was expected to pay for the room at check-in because I had booked this room on the internet. The room rate is much higher on Friday and Saturday nights. The total cost of 1000HKD (including 5% tax and 10% service charge) for the "Deluxe Double" room was a good value in my opinion; that was the Sunday night rate. The hotel room and bathroom were clean and did not seem dated. The room had basic amenities like coffee maker, two bottles of free water, toiletries, and towels. The bed and sheets were fine. The location is close to HK ferry terminal and taxis are easy to find. I would certainly stay here again but it seems that only their more expensive rooms are available on Friday and Saturday nights; the rooms at lower rates seem booked a few weeks in advance. No free wifi was found.

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrpaulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
1,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#57 of 94 in Macau
1,344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 94 in Macau
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Macau
Holiday Inn Macau
#33 of 94 in Macau
626 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#42 of 94 in Macau
667 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Hotel & Casino

Address: No.33 Rua Luis Gonzaga Gomes, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Casino Hotel in Macau
#20 Spa Hotel in Macau
#30 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $87 - $653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rio Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Hotel And Casino
Rio Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing