We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for non-gamblers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for non-gamblers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

We spent a night at the Sofitel during the weekend and the stay was wonderful.
We arrived at the hotel around noon and a staff at the front desk attended to us right away. We originally booked a river view room and the staff asked if we would like to upgrade to the club floor with an addition of MOP 575. We said yes and it’s totally worth it. We were given a river view junior suite on the 17th floor. According to the staff, it was double the size of the room we originally booked. The room was really spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom was relatively small in comparison but it got everything we need in it. There was a bathtub and a rain shower. There was even a TV in the bathroom. The amenities in the room were also very nice. We had a coffee machine as well as hot water and tea pot for making tea. So you could enjoy a nice cup of coffee or tea while you look out at the serene river view.
About the view, it was nice but our room was a corner room so we got a wall on one side of the window but the fact that we were on a high floor made up for that. We also overlooked the swimming pool on the 6th floor which made it easy for us to choose the time to go for a swim when there were less people.
We sampled the food at the Mistral Restaurant on the 6th floor. They offered a very reasonable priced lunch set with a salad/ soup, a main course and a jasmine tea at only MOP 60. The food was good. We also tried the crème brulee which was wonderful.
If you are not tight on your budget and you are offered an upgrade at a supplementary charge whilst check in, we recommend you to say yes. We were happy that we said yes to the upgrade. Apart from the bigger room that we had, there are a number of benefits that you could enojoy while you are staying on the club floor. There is the club lounge where you could have complimentary coffee, tea and soft drinks throughout the day. The club lounge is on the 17th floor and has a very nice view of the city. You could see the major hotels/ casinos (Grand Lisboa, MGM, etc.), Ruins of St. Paul's, Mount Fortress, Guia Chapel and Lighthouse and the Macau Tower from the lounge. The complimentary evening cocktail at the lounge is not to be missed. It offers you a wide selection of drinks with a mini buffet from 5pm to 7pm. Both the drinks and the food were nice and it was such an enjoyment to have wine with canapés and dessert while looking at the city view of Macao.
We also love the location of the hotel. It is just a 10-minute walk from the hotel to the Senado Square. We think that the location cannot be better if you are there to explore the city instead of gambling. We enjoyed walking through the side streets and looking at old houses/ buildings/ shops on the way to the Senado Square. We prefer the location of Sofitel than the Grand Lisboa or the Wynn because there is less crowd but you are still in the city centre.
The only complain that we have is with the shuttle bus service. The shuttle bus is kind of small and we waited for 3 shuttle buses (around 30 minutes) before we could get on one when we left the hotel for our ferry at 6:30pm. It would be perfect if the hotel could get bigger shuttle buses.
All in all, we recommend anyone who goes to Macau for sightseeing to stay at the Sofitel. The location cannot be better and their service is really good. We enjoyed our stay so much that we definitely will go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MidcoVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,828
    1,080
    230
    67
    48
See reviews for
743
1,348
224
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

I recently had the chance to stay at the Sofitel for approximately 1 week with a group of 115 athletes. As we had a block of 70 rooms they rolled out the red carpet for us and were able to provide us with everything that we needed. For a 2 year old hotel and minimal hiccups throughout our stay, I would definitely recommend staying here for anyone coming to Macau.

Negatives
- a little off the beaten path, not in the middle of all the casinos
- fairly weak casino, as a new hotel they definitely could have stepped up their game a bit more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanjbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

I stayed here with the family for the weekend and it was a great experience. The hotel itself is located next to the river and very close to the central Macau. Just within walking distance to most of the attractions. The rooms are new and loverly. The pool is suitable for family with kids and we managed to swim 2 times within the stay.

One more bonus is the staff. They were all highly trained and always wearing a big smile when you approached them and it was a add-on value when you are on holiday with kids. There is free shuttle bus TO/FROM the Macau Ferry terminal too.

So I would say if you are not a gambler, this is the right place for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crwahwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

I had stay there for a night , I will said the room is great with TV infront of the bath tube!Great bed with choices of pillows.The room is very comfortable without " over the top" design comparing to other Macua hotels.The location is great as some touist site are nearby.However I wish to highlight if you are looking for a hotel with all super grand sur-rounding pick others around the Costal belt example MGM ? If you are looking for a place where you get to see some locals in action and historal sites Sofitel is your choice.

However room service food is poor for simple order such as a club sandwich,fries are over cook and sandwich was cold.:(

You can also notice that the casion is much afforable with betting of HK 100 and above.Other 5 star casion starts from HK 300 .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

The Ponte16 hotel looks good from outside. But the surrounding neighborhood israther run-down. My wife asked me why is the hotel located in a 'slump'?

My family and I went to have a three-day leisure trip to Macau. Hotel room was reasonable. But the service of the staff was terrible, unprofessional and smoking at lobby too. Staff at lobby won't allow people to sit in the sofa arm rest. Breakfast time: need to ask waiter/waitress 3 times before we got the coffee/tea.

There is an un-signed area downstairs of the Michael Jackson gallery which is supposed to be a VIP region. We accidentally walked up to there without knowing it. The staff there was so rude to us. I suggest the hotel should put up bigger sign to restrict accidental access to the VIP region.

No free internet. Not in lobby or anywhere.

Overall: Good hardware, but lousy service. Would not recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LCHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

I'd stayed there in 2008 and I liked this place due to 'less gambling crowd'.

The hotel rooms and facilities are wonderful and comparable to any other 5* hotel. As with the other hotels in Macau, the hotel is partially filled with smoke. You can see, smokers walking in the lobby, some of the lifts. So it's rather disappointing.

Location- Near the shopping belt, walkable to lot of casinos, (if you are still looking for VM, you need to take a taxi)
Rooms - Quite spacious, clean & comfortable
Food - Good spread and choices. (Vegetarian available and even Indian food is there)
Facilities - Pool is rather cold and not heated. Rest as per normal
Children - ?? Macau is not a good place to go with Kids, but I saw some play items.
Overall, I'd recommend due to the comfort, english speaking (good english) staff & location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srikrishnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

The hotel is located within walking distance to the main shopping centre and famous casinos like Grand Lisboa, Westin. At the time of check in they asked us if we would like to be upgraded to executive club for additional cost. We opted for upgrade and it was a good decision. They have good club on 18 floor which you can enjoy with upgrade. We really enjoyed the leisurley breakfast at the club. The staff is also very courteous.

The travel desk was very helpful. They arranged a day trip for us. The car and driver were excellent. At the end of the trip we got down at the shopping centre. We forgot a packet in the car and thought that we will loose it. When we reached back hotel the packet was already in our room. The driver of the car returned it and hotel staff delivered in our room.

Lobby is busy so check in and check out take more time than our experience at other hotels. The casino is average.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mylifeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
6.3 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#21 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Property: Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#12 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing