We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“truly excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #15 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Spent a week at the hotel during the hottest part of the year - so we were at the hotel a lot :). Facilities are all excellent, but the big deal for us was the service. Everyone we met was genuinely helpful, engaged in solving our problems or meeting our needs, and smiling. I felt very welcome at all times. Breakfast is above average for large hotels, pool is very comfortable, and the top floor Chinese restaurant is quite good. Casino is small, and location is on the coast rather than amongst the Macau versions of Las Vegas' MGM, Pharaoh, Wynn etc. You can walk to all of these in 15 minutes (I did it twice), but it's nice to spend time _away_ from the gambling hub if you're not a gambler.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the water, the other faces the town. Both views are good. Sides of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathlene M, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Michael M,


Thank you for choosing the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 on your recent visit to the city with your family.

It is extremely encouraging to receive such great feedback from our guests and we appreciate the time that you took to tell us your experience. We are happy that you liked the facilities in the hotel, the sumptuous breakfast at the Mistral, and most importantly, the genuine service delivered by our Ambassadors. At Sofitel, guest experience is a key priority and it gives the team great motivation to know that they are doing the right thing to make our guests happy and feel special.

Indeed the Chinese restaurant on the 18th floor, called Le Chinois is good. We hope that on your next visit you can try our French Restaurant, the Prive.

Thank you once again for your very kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Kathlene Marin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,234 - 1,240 of 3,629 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

Absolutely adored staying at this hotel!

It has a wonderful location - ten minutes walk down a main road to the Portuguese sector of Macau and all of the sights.

The hotel itself is stunning, the architecture and layout are great. The pool and fitness areas are lovely and the Breakfast was amazing (good choice of food options, local and western, attentive staff, clean, bright and relaxed atmosphere).

We stayed in a club room and access to the club lounge was a lovely touch - afternoon tea and evening cocktails were provided.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit Macau.

Room Tip: Club rooms were wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathlene M, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Camblin,


Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

We are extremely delighted to read your very positive feedback about the hotel and your experience. We are happy that you liked the hotel in general especially the pool and fitness facilities, the club room and the lounge, and of course the sumptuous breakfast at the Mistral restaurant.

We very much appreciate your recommendation of the hotel and we hope to be able to serve you again soon.


Yours sincerely,

Kathlene Marin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Hanny B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kathlene M, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The lobby is smoking smelly as it is one floor to the casino access. The room is nice and additional extra bed is available for the kid free of charge. It is really good service. The room is spacious and nice bathroom also. The location is good within walking distance to Largo de Senado, Ruin of St. Paul. You can buy many Macau cakes and gift there, having meal there too. The only issue is that the taxi is very difficult to get especially on the time from 17:00 to 19:00, they said it is switch changing time for taxi. So some taxi charge you on fixed price to go anywhere. I recommend Sofitel to provide a shuttle bus to Taipa area especially within this hour. When I have to go Taipa for Dancing Water on 20:00, I was on the taxi queue from 18:45 and until 19:15, I cannot get any taxi. I need to walk to Largo Senado and find a taxi on fixed expensive price. It usually cost around MOP60 to 65, but I have to pay MOP100. Swimming pool is nice and good for kid also.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoHandaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathlene M, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear JoHandaya,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate that you liked the service, the room, swimming pool, and the location of the of Sofitel Macau. We do hope that you and your family had a pleasant experience in the hotel.

We value your feedback regarding the smokey smell in the lobby. This is usually not the case especially that we have the Sofitel signature scent to provide a sensory experience to all our guests. However, we will definitely consider your feedback and our Engineering team will look into the matter.

As you may have seen in other reviews, the shuttle services are not managed by Sofitel Macau but by the Ponte 16 which is the owning company. Nonetheless, we will share your comments with them.

Similarly, the taxi service is also one of the common challenges in Macau. Indeed, taxis are quite difficult to find during peak and change shift hours. Although we hope to be able to control this situation, unfortunately there is very little the hotel can do on this area. On a positive note, we do offer assistance to book a private car through the Concierge desk to avoid any inconvenience especially if guests have important occasion and appointments to attend to.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we do hope to be able to serve you again in the near future at Sofitel Macau.



Yours sincerely,

Kathlene Marin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Hj Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kathlene M, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

we stayed at the sofitel for our second time, the first time was when the hotel first opened and we had fond memories of the hotel and the TV in the bathrrom! recently we had a holiday in Hong kong and decided to to do a few days in macau also to share the portuguese tart expereince with our daughter.
we arrived in macau i guess like most people by ferry from HK and quikcly found the shuttle bus to the hotel. As soon as we arrived in the lobby a young lady came to check ou booking and quickly whisked us away to the 17 floor for the club check in ( awesome as there was a huge queue to check in! this expereince was new to us as it was not something that we were expecting. we had booked a prestige suite as our daughter is now off a age where she cant have her own room but she needs space. The room had plenty it was 90m2 with a huge lounge,bedroom with the biggest bed ever ! then the we saw the bathroom with the jacuzzi. simply amazing all 3 of could fit in there with room for a couple more. all the bathroom amenties were hermes.on our first day after going out explorinng the city on our return we came back with the beds ready for sleeping, complimenary fruits, and hand made chocolates.
1 of the perks of the room was the club benefits, choice of 2 locations for breakfast the quiet lounge or the crazy busy main restaurant. Main restaurant we were told had a better variety but why bother with the queues when the breaky here was fantastic and you get the personal touch from very attentive filipino staff, Candy & Precious were always smiling and making sure we had everything we needed. Sandy the chef cooked our eggs perfectly each morning. all the other staff there were equally as good but i forget there names to mention. the lounge also gives you complimentary afternoon tea and in the early evening canapes & drinks. The canapes & drinks were a winner for me as they had the best Roquefort cheese at the perfect temp for eating washed down by nice cold Heiniken they had plenty of wines and cocktails available also.
we ate 1 night in the hotel as my daughter loves a buffet even though i hate them she managed to twist my arm and i am glad she did as the food was surprisingly nice for a buffet with many options to choose from including freshky grilled lobster and the best french butter with the bread! the service here was not as attentive as the lounge as the staff seemed more interested in doing there mis en place ready for breakfast the next day.
I also frequented Rendevous bar in the evening for a quiet drink, whilst my daughter was asleep and my wife made the most of watching chinese Tv. The bar is nice and again with good service, though i feel not enough seats and a lot of empty space. Club guests received 50% of drinks from 7-11pm.
like everyone else says its very hard to get a cab in this area, the hotel staff do try very hard but it tales a very long time. 1 night we had a dinner reservation at wynn casino which is only about a 15 minute walk away or 3 min cab ride but it was to hot to walk and we were dressed nicely for dinner. After waiting 20 mins for a cab we had to ask the bell boy to tell the taxi company we would pay 100 for a 22 fare just so we could get to our reservation. the hotel does have a shuttle service but its busy with huge queues at peak times which is the only negative comment i can make about the sofitel.

we will stay again at the sofitel and willin futire always make bookings with the club benefits

Room Tip: prestige suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamb528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathlene M, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Dear alicia s,


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

As returning guests at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16, we extremely delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay once again with your family.

We are pleased to know that you were extremely satisfied with the hotel facilities as well as the service of our Ambassadors and very much enjoyed your dining experience at the Club Sofitel and at our buffet restaurant, the Mistral.

Thank you once again for your very positive comments and it is always encouraging to receive such feedback which constantly provide a great motivation to our team to deliver on guest expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


P.S. I hope you daughter loved the Portuguese egg tart experience.


Warm regards,

Kathlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Always book sofitel ponte 16 each time when I went to macau as a member of accor hotel, get free upgrade and welcome service. Very clean and spacious room, face river. The staff are very nice and always with smile.

Room Tip: face river romm is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathlene M, Guest Experience Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear jie w,


Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

As a returning guest, we are happy to read that once again you felt the service is great – which is of course what we aim to achieve. We are also delighted to know that you liked the rooms and the view to the Pearl River.

We definitely are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous ones.

Life is magnifique!


Yours sincerely,

Kathlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#16 of 94 in Macau
220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,360 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#10 of 94 in Macau
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#8 Best Value Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#15 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $116 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing