We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Comfortable stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super Comfortable stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights last week. Very happy with our choice to stay at Sofitel in the 'Old City' rather than at the Venetian, as we aren't gamblers and so Sofitel was located perfectly for us to walk the streets of the city but also enjoy the buzz of casinos. We visited the Venetian one day and got there by taking a (free) shuttle to a ferry stop and then jumping on a (free) Venetian shuttle bus. The hotels weren't very far away from each other so a taxi could easily have been taken if you are short of time.
Staff were super helpful - We took an Express Check out which literally took a minute!!!
Turn down service, L'Occitane toiletries and extra bottles of water all contributed to a happy stay.

If I was to return to Macau, I would most definitely return to Sofitel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member (aka SamanthaMan)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. It is really wonderful to learn that from all hotels you chose us to enjoy your holiday and we are happy we didn’t disappoint.

In fact, Sofitel Macau is located within walking distance from the beautiful St. Paul Ruins, The Fortress, Macau Museum and Senado Square. We recommend our property for all those travelers who are interested in learning more about the culture of the city with a gambling option of some major casinos in our side of town.

We hope fellow travelers will find your review useful and will decide to stay with us!

Any plans to come back soon? Next time make an appointment in our So Spa, our signature treatments are perfect after a day of walking around and sightseeing.

Yours sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,856
    1,097
    233
    70
    49
See reviews for
758
1,367
233
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
entebbe
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We really enjoyed our two night stay here in an executive floor room. The staff are excellent and were so helpful making reservations at restaurants and offering advice. The hotel is just minutes from the old centre of Macau. The view over the harbour from our bedroom is spectacular and the view from the executive lounge overlooks the town. The breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktails were beautifully presented and served. Really good wifi. Transport to and from the ferry is provided. Would recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Macau.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the executive floor, its so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EntebbeEastafrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member (aka EntebbeEastafrican)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent visit at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are extremely happy to know that you had a wonderful time with us.

Our Club Lounge has beautiful views to the old town and casino skyline. During the night it is breathtaking!

We have shared your comments with our team as we are sure they will motivate them to keep up with the great work and performance.

Did you have time to try our new Chinese restaurant ‘Le Chinois’? The Dim Sum is de-li-cious.
We look forward to having you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there on Feb 15 for a one night stay at their junior suite.
Having been stayed at their various Sofitel properties in hanoi and china I booked this hotel with lot of expectations. However, the moment I walked in to the lobby for some reason didn't feel that Sofitel experience.
To start off, for some weird reason they have a girl to manage the checkin queue. Though it was empty she kept me waited for a while for the checkin.
Upon checkin to the junior suite, realised that it's actually two interconnecting rooms converted in to a suite. So it comes with two bathrooms. The shower rooms was really small and didn't had the plushness of the Sofitel brand.(except for the Hermes products). Nothing much to complain about the bed or the living room.
The worst nightmare started when we realised that we couldn't increase the aircon as the temperature won't go beyond 18 degrees. A heater was promptly placed initially to manage this but it still continue to be cold. Later another heater was placed and after checking the aircon I was promptly told that the temperature won't go beyond 29 since outside is cold.
Finally with not much of option left, I continue to stay in that cold room for a night. For a brand like Sofitel this is the last thing you expect and I would recommend not to stay in this hotel in macau especially during winter months nor you don't expect the Sofitel branding in this hotel.
There are much nicer hotels in macau and if you could afford would highly recommend either banyan tree or even venetian suites for that matter.

Just for the hotel records the room I stayed was 832.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rajeevemirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Cher rajeevemirates

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are sorry to learn that your overall stay was affected by the inside temperature of your room.

This is in fact a very disappointing issue. We appreciate reporting it during your stay as this is how we are able to improve our services and products. Our engineer team is giving maintenance to our heating/cooling system in order to avoid issues like this from happening in the future.

We understand that this sour experience will be difficult to forget. But we hope you will give us a second chance to prove you why Sofitel Macau is one of the best choices in the city.


Yours Sincerely,
J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had the room with same view as previous visit. The rate for one night with buffet breakfast was extremely affordable compared with other 5 stars hotels in the area.

The staff's friendly and helpful. They offered us early check-in without extra charges.

I loved the L'occitane body care in the toilet.

My girl loved the buffet breakfast very much because it served Macaron. My husband enjoyed the large pot of coffee without the need to ask for refills.

Will visit the hotel next time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapellbruecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member (aka. Kapellbruecke)

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.
We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience with us.

It is such a great success for us to know that we built loyalty with a new guest. We were honored to host you again during this 2nd visit and look forward to welcome you hundred times more.

Your comments have been shared with all our Ambassadors. Reading the positive feedback from our loyalty guests motivates all of us to keep up with the great performance and attitude.

Any plans to come back with your lovely family soon?

We look forward to having you back!

Yours sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Location: Macau, China
Website: www.ponte16.com.mo/home

Staff: staff mainly English speaking at Club Sofitel

Cleanliness: excellent, quite new

Sleep Quality: excellent

Quietness: excellent, we stayed at 16/F seaview side

Value: not to comment during 2014 Chinese New Year peak and we booked at 10 days ago.

View: I think seaview is not as good as the view of Macau City, because special fromt his angle to look at an old town.

Laundry: , Hermes shampoo & shower gel, body lotion, tooth brush & paste, razor & cream, soap, cotton pads & brushes, shower cap, emery board, towels, hair dryer are provided

Pantry: water boiler, daily 2 bottles drinking water are provided.

WiFi: have 2 wifi connection in this hotel, signals are good.

Hardly get taxi from this area, thus, we took public bus a lot. We are not willing to take bus but had no choice. Two times we hired taxi in this trip, 1st time that driver return the coins to me, like he was trying to insert that coins into my palm. I guess that was the way he wanted to tell me never ask for changes. And the 2nd one change HK120 for a short ride.

Sorry to tell those travellers who loves quiet place should not come Macau, because I found too much noisy from the spoiled child with their parent from mainland China or Hong Kong I am not sure, even we were in deluxe Prive French Restaurant.

Check-in Time: 15:00
Check-out Time: 11:00

Room Tip: Suggestion for doing Spa: Coupon is offered after they make-up the room. So, tell them make up your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devilcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Cher devilcoach

Thank you for taking the time to share with us such a complete and detailed review of your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are extremely happy to know that you had a wonderful time with us.

We hope that future guests will find your comments useful and will feel motivated to book a room with us for their future trips.

Any plans to visit us again? We are looking forward to having you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,
J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

i stayed 3days in macau sofitel, i travelled with my baby and wife.
hotel staff was very friendly and service was good.
i kept baby's meal in the hotel freezer.
the staff gave it to our room every time.
it was very appereciated.
and the location was very nice for travel.
next time, i will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Jeong Min K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member (aka. Jeong Min K)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed every single moment during your 3 days stay.

We have shared your positive feedback with all members of our team. We are sure this will motivate them to keep up with the great work.

We hope you had a safe flight back to Seoul. Any plans to visit us again? We are looking forward to having you back soon.


Yours sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
1.3 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#24 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#15 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Property: Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#13 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing