We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Macau - A relaxed hotel option for those spending 2-3 nights in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
5,695 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12,204 helpful votes
“Sofitel Macau - A relaxed hotel option for those spending 2-3 nights in the city”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 recently and would gladly return for another stay at this French inspired hotel, located 10 minute walk from the historic city center on the Macau Peninsula.

Reservations were made online through the hotel website just over a month prior to our stay.

Hotel provides complimentary shuttle service from the ferry terminals, leaving every 12-15 minutes during the main part of the day. See picture included with this review for image of the shuttle bus. The pick up is located on the opposite end of the Venetian buses and starts at 9am.

PROS
Check-In: Quick (<10 minutes). Our room wasn't ready for early check-in but we were offered an alternative room (though on the smoking floor) which would have been available immediately. Instead we availed of luggage storage and hit the city.

Room: Standard sized room offering plenty of space, modern furnishing, closet space, comfortable bed, TV with English news and shows, free WiFi, standard coffee & tea making facility and commodious safe. Nice city view too.

Bathroom: Good size and updated, separate bath (with small tv) and shower room with rain shower head and hand shower. We liked the citrus scent of the L'Occitane toiletries!

Hotel Grounds, Pool and Gym: We enjoyed the French boutique theme of the hotel, the quiet outdoor pool area with views of the harbor and mainland China. The gym and changing rooms with sauna, next to the pool were also fine.

Lobby Lounge: We spent an evening at the Rendezvous Lobby Lounge located across from the check-in desk on the lobby floor. This had lovely interiors featuring photographs, with happy hour and afternoon tea options for hotel guests and outside visitors.

Prive: The very good Prive restaurant was the most pleasant surprise of our stay at Sofitel. This small boutique restaurant only seats 20+ diners and affords a glittery view of the city in the evening. Service was cordial and the food quality was simply excellent - we will come back specifically for this restaurant.

MJ Gallery: There is a fun gallery area celebrating the musical career of Micheal Jackson with a Billie Jean set up, and 40 or so pieces of MJ paraphernalia; including his famous white rhinestone glove.

Service: Staff were friendly and quick to serve; can't complain.

CONS:
Lifts: Only a handful of lifts were available, and can be a considerable wait.

WiFi: Wifi connection in our room was spotty at best, not working much of the time.

DEALMAKER:
The Sofitel is a good choice in terms of room quality and facilities, there's plenty of space and quietude to be had here while not being far from tourist activity. We'd happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms face either the city centre or the harbour area and mainland China, you can request rooms on e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member (Aka, BradJill)

We love the pictures! Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us and fellow travelers a great description of our facilities and services. We could not have said it better.

The only service that you did not have time to try was our So Spa. We highly recommend a relaxation treatment with one of our professional spa therapists. Bucket list!

We are sorry to know that you had trouble with the speed of our lifts. Sometimes in the weekends when the hotel is highly visited this service seems to be somehow not very fast. However our ambassadors are controlling the flow of our elevators.

Any plans to visit Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16? We are looking forward to having you back and to read another great review from you.

Yours sincerely,

J. P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,963
    1,136
    247
    75
    53
See reviews for
808
1,432
250
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed for 3 days and everything was so great:
the services was excellent,
the breakfast and evening cocktail was superb,
the room was nice with "Hermes" amenities,
the view from room and premier lobby is stunning,
the hotel location is strategic with a lot of public transportation access,
the casino is not so big but complete with any kind of games,
the best value spent I can remember so far, looking forward to get back for my special anniversary one day.

thank you Sofitel Macau.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bat0sai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member (Aka, b4t0s4i)

We feel much honored to be the hotel who welcomed you during your honeymoon. This is indeed a very important trip and we are very happy to know that the outcome was above expectations.

Were you able to enjoy a couple’s treatment in our So Spa or a romantic candle light dinner in our French boutique restaurant Prive? If not, we highly recommend to add it to your bucket list for your first wedding anniversary.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back next year! Let us keep writing ‘magnfique’ memories for your both.

Yours sincerely,

J. P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akashi, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Staying at this hotel was beyond my expectation. The lobby was very nice and spacious.
The check-in went very smoothly and the rooms were very nice. We could actually see China from our window view opposite the river.

The thing I like about this hotel is also because of its location which is just around 200mtrs away from Senado square.

The only small down point is that its not very easy to get a taxi in this hotel as not many come by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajcph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member (Aka, ajcph)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are enthused to know that you had a memorable stay.

Indeed, we think that Sofitel Macau enjoys a privilege location near all historical and cultural sites and with breathtaking views to both: the harbor and the city. It is wonderful to wake up to a sunrise facing the harbor.

Any plans to visit us again? We are looking forward to welcoming you soon and to create more memorable moments.

Yours sincerely,

J. P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed only 1 night on our trip to Hongkong Macau but it was pleasantly memorable. After 3 nights of tiny room in HK hotel and a very bumpy ferry ride to Macau, we found heaven in Sofitel room. The hotel got shuttle from ferry terminal to hotel and back every 15 minutes.
Our room had amazing ocean view, very soft, comfy bed & linens. We were surprised with delicious truffles & macaroons upon our arrival (Thank you Sofitel). Location wise is walking distance to Senado Square & Ruins of St. Paul's Church.
Would love to return & stay there again. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor & ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dopey_Owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member (Aka, Dopey_Owl)

We are very happy to know that you had a memorable experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

We have to agree with you! The views from your property are as you said ‘Breathtaking’. We have rooms facing the harbor which gives you a great view over the sea and the frontier with Mainland China. The second one is the old city of Macau and during the night you can enjoy great color scenery from the hotel casinos located nearby. We love Sofitel!

Thank you for your positive feedback. This is the best way to motivate all our Ambassadors to continue with the great performance that so far has been ‘magnifique’.

So, when is your next visit? Let us know! We would love to arrange the most beautiful harbor view room for you!

Yours sincerely,

J. P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#14 of 95 in Macau
196 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 95 in Macau
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Property: Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#13 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing