We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Miri, Malaysia
1 review
“Reception”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The only thing i am not happy with is one of the receptionist refused to let us check in to the room around 1pm even we had been waited for few hours since we arrive from the airport in the morning. He did not mention the room was unavailable, he said due to the policy, i was only allow to be checked in at 3pm. We were exhausted for waiting at the hotel for few hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jl8482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. Jl8482)

It is shocking for us to know that your stay was damaged upon your arrival while doing the check in with our Front Desk Ambassador. We are extremely apologetic for the poor communication skills that our receptionist demonstrated when serving you. We understand and we agree that this type of issues shall not be happening in 5 stars hotels like Sofitel Macau.

We have forwarded this review to our Front Office Manager who will personally talk to every member of the team in order to achieve the correct standard of service that we aim to provide.

In fact, our Check In time is at 15 hrs. If our rooms are not available before, we follow up first with a pre-registration which allows our guest to register upon arrival and we invite them to enjoy Macau or if they prefer we can keep their luggage in our Concierge and we invite them to try our Swimming Pool or Gym facilities while waiting for the room to ready.

We hope this experience will not deter you from staying at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 and at other Sofitel hotels, as your most recent experience does not reflect our usual levels of service.

Yours Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,909
    1,121
    241
    74
    52
See reviews for
782
1,407
241
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

very friendly staff, clean and very luxurious hotel with very wonderful decoration. very comfortable rooms. has very nice chattel bus every 15 min. to terminal for free with reasonable coast. the only disadvantage was very very slow internet connection

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. Mohammed K)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us and fellow travelers your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 and the beautiful pictures of our lobby that you kindly uploaded.

We are very satisfied to know that all our efforts paid back and that you enjoyed a very relaxing time while visiting Macau city. We hope your review will convince fellow travelers that Sofitel Macau is their best choice!

Did you have time to try our So Spa or for dinner in our new French Restaurant Prive? If not, we recommend to add this to your bucket list for your future visits!

We are looking forward to having you back soon!

Yours sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The waiting for the shuttle at the Ferry Terminal sucks. I wish they have shuttle more frequently. But the stay was pretty good. The room was clean and the staffs were extremely friendly. Location wasn't too bad, very close to where we wanted to go. Very friendly walking distance to Samba. But I wish they can improve the shuttle service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank wong_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. wong_101)

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are really happy to know that you enjoy your stay and you liked our property and our overall room.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the Shuttle Bus from and to the Ferry terminal. This service is unfortunately not controlled by Sofitel Macau but by Ponte 16 who owns the complex including the casino and MJ Gallery cafe. Nevertheless, it is something that has affected many of our guests and we are working with Ponte 16 to find a solution that can benefit everyone. We hope you will see an improvement in this particular service during your future visits in Macau.

Will you visit us again soon? We are looking forward to having you back at the Sofitel Macau.

Yours sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is just a 10 minute walk away from the "must see" places of Macau like the Senado Square and the ruins of the old church. Despite this, going to the Newer hotels is a breeze because of the free shuttle that takes you to the Border Terminal where you can just hop on to the other shuttles of the other hotels.

If you came to Macau for the casinos, then this hotel has the more reasonably priced tables around. The service is definitely 5 star.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. Adelucia)

Thank you for sharing with us and fellow travelers your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are very happy to know that you had a very enjoyable experience during your visit.

As you mention our location is very close to all Macau cultural and heritage sites. We are very proud to be located next to the harbor which provides a beautiful morning view or the city side that brings a very lively evening as scenery.

If you want to visit different places in the city, it is just as easy as taking our shuttle bus to the Ferry terminal or border gate and change to any other shuttle bus of your preference! Thank you for giving useful tips to all our future guests.

Any plans to come back again soon? We are looking forward to having you back!

Regards,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very Good Hotel!!. The service is best. The entrance of the casino, the smell of tobacco, mildew smell in the room a little . The birthday cake is really Thanks. Another opportunity, if I want to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ky571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. ky571)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

We are very happy to know that you chose our property to celebrate such an important day! We hope you enjoyed thoroughly your experience and we wish you the best in all future birthdays.

We have reported the smell problems to our Housekeeping department as well as Ponte 16 who owns the casino. We are implementing new procedures to decrease the bad effect that smoke cigarette has during all arrival experiences. We hope you will see a big difference in your future visits.

We are looking forward to having you back soon!

Best regards,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Sofitel Macau has everything you would expect from a Sofitel. Grand halls and lobby, beautiful and spacious rooms, and just top notch quality stuff, but having been there during the National holiday of China, I think the hotel had trouble keeping up with requests. This by no means, hindered my ability to enjoy my time there, but it did make it a bit harder.

The pool was lovely and the cafe where we had breakfast was excellent. I couldn't have hoped for more. However the room service failed to get our order correct the three times we contacted them. Now I don't always expect things to be perfect as things are lost between person to phone to person orders but three times is a bit extreme. My thought is, if you're gonna have room service, do not place the person who has the most difficult time understanding English at the other end. Things were either forgotten or flat out wrong and that did upset that we had to make repeated calls down to room service so they could sort us out, all to varying degrees of accuracy.

But I would still be willing to give this place another try. I loved where we were, I loved the 10-15mins walk to the ruins and the simple access I had to good food around the area. Loved there were nice clean massage places nearby, and I also loved that there was no casino in the Lobby.

Room Tip: Try and avoid Chinese National Holidays
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. Jon L)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are very happy to know that you had a very good stay but sad to hear that the service provided by our operator while placing your room service order was lacking standard, attitude and attention. We understand how an issue like this can transform completely a perfect stay into a not very positive one.

We would like to mention that not because it is Chinese Holidays our service will drop, on the other hand, we try to increase and enhance the service as we know the city is highly visited. But unfortunately we made a mistake during your stay that we are now working towards improvement. We will make sure issues like this will not happen in the future.

I hope this experience will not deter you from staying at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 and at other Sofitel hotels, as your most recent experience does not reflect our usual levels of service.

I look forward to having the opportunity of meeting you in the near future.

Best regards,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the forth stay
Staff are polite, helpful and responsiveness as usual
Room rate are competitive if you book early
Bunch at 6/F restaurant is a fantastic experience, price was cheap as food was delicious particularly the seafood. It's wonderful to having meal with family in front of the swimming pool


Overall is excellent comparing with the other five star in Macao

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank katharine y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. katharine y)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent visit at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are very happy to know that everything during your stay was entirely up to your expectations.

As you mentioned the pool area is a very comfortable place to enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner with the pool lightning. Summer is coming and the pool bar will be opening soon. We would love to have you back with your family enjoying a perfect holiday with us!

Any plans to come back again? We are looking forward to having you back soon.

Yours Sincerely

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#15 of 95 in Macau
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 95 in Macau
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Property: Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#14 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing