We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great room... Good for family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #14 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location and great room... Good for family”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very good location especially if you prefer experience the local life style and food ... 5-10min to Ruins of St. Paul cathedral ... As we are traveling with our 6 yrs old boy so not so keen in casino... The free shuttle is great to bring you to ferry where you can hop onto another shuttle service to others places and big casino ...
As for the room, it is above 5 stars standard clean & big room, comfortable big bed and bath room with good parition and TV ... Great service of front desk which put extra effort to fulfill our request for extra clean for my boy has asthma , they arranged additional air purifier in our room ... As for room cleaning, 2 session per day ( afternoon & evening ) but on the 2nd day the timing a bit messy as the evening one came after 9pm when my boy has already sleep ...
Overall a prefect 3 nights stay ... Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len_yeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. Len_yeo)

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are very excited to know that you had an overall satisfactory stay while visiting the city.

We are happy to know that everything from your check in and until your departure was very well taken care off.

We have shared your review with our team and we were all motivated with your kind words of affection and support.

We are looking forward to have you and your son back very soon! Summer is coming and our pool is a fantastic place to enjoy an afternoon!

Yours Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,914
    1,122
    241
    74
    53
See reviews for
785
1,411
241
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The good:
excellent front desk service- booked 2 rooms and was moved to 1 floor. Staff spoke a variety of languages and was given a free parking pass for my friend in Macau.
Rooms looked really new and was clean

The so-so
Casino is OK but not quite the luxurious style/open concept as ones of Las Vegas or larger hotels in Macau
Room smell..the cleaning staff put an extremely strong perfume/cleaning product in the room. Think cheap airfresher. I was too tired to switch rooms and settled but that was defintely something I wish was different!

Overall- not bad for the price!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. Simon L)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us and fellow travelers your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

We appreciate your kind feedback regarding the overall availability and friendliness of our Ambassadors. It is extremely satisfying to know that the service offered by our Ambassadors was up to your expectations. These are comments that truly motivate our team to keep up with the good work and performance.

We have also shared your comments regarding the casino with the owner company Ponte 16. This service is not owned by our Hotel but by a local group. We however share with them all the reviews that our guests have in order for them to improve their facilities and service.

Our Housekeeping department has been informed about the smell in your room. We will keep track of this issue and follow up accordingly. We will have an improvement plan with modifications that will benefit all our guests.

Any plans of coming back to Sofitel Macau? We are looking forward to having you back again!

Yours Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
277 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I spend a lot of time in hotels, so it takes a lot to really impress me - and Sofitel Macau did just that! I can't thank the Exec lounge team of Gary, Diego and Amelia! Nothing was too much trouble from the second we checked in to the second we sadly had to check out. I have never had such excellent service in a club lounge - ever! Breakfast was fantastic. The suite we had was lovely - spacious, amazing views and a coffee machine which we always love to have. The location is good - it is close enough to the St Pauls Ruins10 mins away and a 15 min walk down to the Grand Lisboa etc. There is a shuttle bus to the ferry. Taxis are pretty hard to come by but that's just Macau and not Sofitel's fault. We will definitely go back - as soon as possible - and stay longer!

Room Tip: We had a city view on the 9th floor which was spectacular - sure the sea ones are nice too but seei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongCallisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. HongKongCallisto)

This is a wonderful way to finish our week! Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are extremely proud to know that our Ambassadors were able to exceed all your expectations.

Certainly, being referred as ‘Heaven in Macau’ is an enormous compliment and this is indeed what Sofitel Macau strives for everyday. We are extremely content to know that we achieved it with you.

Amelia, Diego, Gary and all our team in the Club Lounge have been informed about your feedback. We are sure that this will motivate them to keep up with the excellent performance.

Did you have enough time to try our recently opened So Spa? It is one of the most relaxing corners in Macau City. For your next visit, we highly suggest you to add it in your bucket list. You will not regret it!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16!

Yours Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have been stay here for my leisure trip and I designed to return with my family again. Because it's made me and my family feel comfortable. Just 10 minutes walk to Senado Square. If you take a ferry from Hong Kong to Macau Ferry Terminal, it's easy way to go to hotel by shuttle bus but they don't provide shuttle from Macau Airport. Overall rating is Very Good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mickey-Mike8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. Mickey_Mike8)

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16!

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a wonderful time in Macau while staying in our property. We are happy to know that you liked our location. We are in the Macau side where all historical and heritage sites are located, this is indeed a great choice for kids as it is very family friendly, compared to the Casino side in Taipa.

We hope to remain as your first choice in your upcoming trips to Macau with your family.

Life is ‘magnifique’

Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

3 nights/4 days here in March on the Club floor. Good value made special by very good customer service. The management here really do know how to run a quality hotel - the staff are a credit to the Sofitel brand. Room and hotel facilities were an oasis in Macau. To be recommended. Big tip when getting around Macau and Taipa island easily is to take the free hotel bus from the hotel to the ferry terminal interchange and then hop on another free hotel bus to take you wherever you want to go. It's magic and the buses are going around all the time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. Finnas)

This is a great way to start our week! Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

We appreciate the tip regarding the shuttle bus. We are sure fellow travelers will find it very useful. Our property counts with two routes: Zhuhai Border gate and Macau Ferry Terminal. The positive thing is that from both spots you can find shuttle buses going to every corner of the city!

Any plans to visit Sofitel Macau again? We hope we can remain as your first choice during future visits.

We are looking forward to having you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My recent stay here really made my trip to Macau enjoyable.
Staff in the club room and the front desk were extremely friendly and accommodating, making me feel very comfortable in a place where most people speak little to no English and I would have struggled without their assistance.
At first I was disappointed by the location out of the busy area although this grew on me and by the end I realised it was only a 5 minute walk to the busier areas and I enjoyed being able to sit back in my hotel and enjoy the views.
The hotel is very nice and my room offered very good value for the cost.
Overall if you are looking for a very nice hotel that offers great personalised service you won't be disappointed with the Sofitel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank radz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. radz74)

We really appreciate your nice review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. We are really excited to know that overall you enjoyed your visit.

It is very motivating for us to read that our service and the courteousness of our Ambassadors was one of the main reasons that your stay was a success. Your review has been shared with all our team in the property as we aim to motivate them with excellent comments from our guests.

Did you have enough time to try our So Spa? We highly recommend our signature treatments. For your next visit, we suggest adding a relaxing massage to your ‘things to do’ list.

We are looking forward to having you back again.

Yours sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We are returned customers and this time we upgraded to Club Floor. Very nice service from staff, my husband was especially impressed that they remembered his favorite drink at the lounge on the second day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank dmcmug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka. dmcmug)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

It is very rewarding for us to know that you enjoyed a wonderful time in our property and that the services in our Club Lounge were up to your expectations. We are proud to have one of the warmest and helpful team of Ambassadors that will work very hard to reach make your stay a memorable one.

Any plans to visit Macau again? We hope to remain as your first choice during your future visits.
Have a ‘magnifique’ day!

Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#15 of 95 in Macau
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#23 of 95 in Macau
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Property: Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#14 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing