We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spa!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #14 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here over Easter Week- great location and an easy walk to Sendado Square and the historic city center. The Hotel Spa is amazing- highly recommend a massage followed by time in the "Relaxation Room". Reasonably priced for such luxurious pampering!
Only draw back is the hallways have an odd smell, but otherwise a most enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Pearl River- very fun to watch the ships sailing past!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka Ruth D)

It is so exciting for us to know that you had time to enjoy one of our Signature treatments in our recently opened So Spa. We really believe that we have one of the most relaxing corners in all Macau and receiving your feedback proves us right!

Which treatment did you enjoy? Did you know that we have a special package that includes one of our special Signature treatments followed by a tailor made dinner at our fine dining restaurant Prive? Maybe for your next visit you will have enough time to try it out.

Any plans of visiting us soon? We are looking forward to welcoming and pampering you many times in the future!

Have a wonderful weekend ahead.

Yours Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,806 - 1,812 of 3,692 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

The tiredness from traveling and the sea sickness from the ferry ride simply melted away the moment we stepped into our room. Our room on the 15th floor with harbour view was tastefully decorated, very clean,fresh smelling.. no extra odour from musty carpet whatsoever. Conveniently located, just 3 mins walk to Senadro Square, 5 mins to St Paul ruins. Local eateries within the vicinity. Free shuttlebus from ferry terminal. Look for green 20 -seater mini bus with Ponte 16 sign, it is located across the road outside the ferry terminal. You have to take the escalator to the basement to go to the other side. Not for avid gamblers because the hotel casino is pretty small. Check-in process could be improved though. It takes about 15mins to check in with 3 staff and just 3 couples ahead of me.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Abbylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka Abbylim)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us and fellow travelers your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

It is most exciting for us to know that our property made you feel like at home and that your room was entirely up to your expectations.

As you mentioned, we are located within 10-15 minute walk to the famous historical and cultural sites including: Senado Square and St. Paul Ruins, we are privileged with a beautiful location that faces the city and the harbor.

Will you visit us again in the future?

We are looking forward to having you back again!

Yours Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you get this hotel at the right price it is a very good value 5 star hotel.
We stayed a night on accor red hot rate - wished we had stayed for two. At 115$ it is the best deal in Macau! The rooms are very good, large, comfortable beds, all the tv channels, quality fittings, large bathroom, separate shower and bath - tv also, above the bath! No complaints for the room, especially at this price. River side is a little bit more expensive but has better views.
The location also is excellent. Very short walks to the Centre tourist area, only 5 - 10 mins. It also looks over the river. You are far enough to be away from the more hectic casino areas of town but close enough to walk or a cheap taxi ride. We enjoyed the stroll, especially visiting the side alleys and roads. The pool areas are very good. ell set out and very pleasant spots to relax.
The negatives were few. Macao is trying to bring in no smoking zones into the casino's. The Ponte 16 is trying that hard. The casino looks run down compared to the new super casinos i.e MGM, City of Dreams, Wynn's etc. It attracts a very mainland Chinese crowd and as such is not offering much in the area of luxury in the gaming area. Due to this the hotel has a smell of cigarette smoke through out the entire hotel.
The new hotels that have been developed in the last 3-5 years has meant that the Sofitel is now a notch down in the pecking order. It looks old compared to them but it means that you can get some good deals.
We ony tried the Mistral restaurant for a buffet. Very good value at 98 HK. The meal was variable The cooked fresh dishes were excellent, very good BBQ, pasta and made fresh salad. The cheese and desserts were good also. However a couple of the dishes were as bad as I ever had, inedible prawns and an absolutely horrible butter chicken and dahl. Good thing it was a buffet as we could just taste it and the put it to the side.

Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel for a visit to Macau if you get the right price. If though you have to pay close to rack rates there would be better options in that price bracket in Macau.
We wish we knew more about Macau before we went. We actually went on a whim whilst on holiday in HK for a week. We found the history, smaller walking distances and less crowded walkways, even the casinos to be very interesting. If we had known what was on offer we would have stayed for 3 or 4 nights and spent less time in HK.
PS if you come to Macao by the ferry it is really easy to get where ver you want to in Macao for free. Just look up on a map where you want to get to and then find one of the major hotels that is nearby. There will be a shuttle bus at the ferry terminal to that hotel and you can get on - no checking for a booking etc. The Sofitel is called the Ponte 16 Resort and does not use sofitel in it's name on the shuttle! Shuttle runs about every 15 mins.

Room Tip: If yu want a better room go for riverview but if on a budget the city view are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbfun48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka dbfun48)

We are really happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent visit at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

It is really exciting to know that everything from your check in until your departure was well taken care of. Thank you for your nice review regarding our facilities, we are content to know that your room was up to your expectations.

As you mentioned, depending on the season Sofitel Hotels has different offers! We suggest checking out our Sofitel Hotels website to find out more about them. Our ‘Spring Collection’ offer is Hot at the moment and should not be missed.

On the other hand, we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the issue with our name plate in the Shuttle Bus station at the Ferry Terminal. This issue will be definitely addressed in our next meeting with Ponte 16 in order to follow up and improve the service.

Do you have any plans to come back and visit us? In January we opened our So Spa, it is one of the most relaxing spots in Macau. It should be added in your ‘things to do list’ for your next stay.
We are looking forward to having you back again!

Yours Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Staff are nice and helpful. Room is clean and new. Toilet is spacious and tidy.
Welcome drink is excellent. Location seems not so convenient. Facilities seems limited.
Check in and out procedure are simple and quick.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank vanicewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka vanicewen)

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our services were up to your expectations.

We recently opened our French Fine Dining Restaurant Privé who offers creations by our very own Master Chef Yannick Ehrsam, as well as our So Spa which offers excellent relaxation moments. These are two experiences that shall be added in your bucket list.

We hope you will be visiting us soon!

We are looking forward to having you back at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

Life is ‘magnifique’

J. P. Rodriguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with nice rooms and pretty pools right on the river and in walking distance to st Paul's cathedral . We got a nice deal so we enjoyed an amazing breakfast buffet! They had two chocolate fountains for breakfast and two chefs who prepared eggs, bacon etc on the spot! One side of the hotel has river views the other side is city view which was fine for me.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka acdenmark)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your most recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

We are really happy to know that you enjoy every single aspect of your stay, from your arrival until your departure.

We have recently made several modifications to our breakfast offer and we are really pleased to know that all the efforts paid off.

If you enjoy fine gastronomy as much as we do; we are pleased to invite you to our recently opened fine dining restaurant Privé. During this week, 16th to 21st April, two Michelin Star chef Jean-Pierre Jacob will be teaming with our own Master Chef Yannick Ehrsam presenting a series of dinners bringing their own styles and flair to you!

We hope you will be visiting us soon!

We are looking forward to having you back at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

Life is ‘magnifique’

J. P. Rodriguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel room was comfortable and the view of the old city area of Macau peninsula was great. The Loccitane toiletries just added extra marks to our stay there ;p

The selections of complimentary drinks I received from the bar there was wide. Would definitely go there for beer again for my next stay there :P

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Feichit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka Feichit)

It is very exciting for us to know that you had a wonderful experience when staying at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

We hope you start planning frequent trips to Macau in order to keep enjoying the many services we have in our property. By the way, if you enjoyed our L’occitane amenities we highly suggest for your next visit to try our Club Sofitel Rooms; besides incredible benefits you will enjoy HERMES toiletries!

Any plans of coming back soon?

We are looking forward to having you back and to continue enjoying a ‘magnifique’ experience.

Your Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel Macau recently and thought the room, breakfast, decor, view, location and service were all excellent. It is a good place to explore the old part of town without being in casino city. We had a beautiful river view room and a very comfortable bed. The buffet breakfast had to be one of the best we have ever experienced. There is a free bus to take you from the ferry terminal to the hotel and a pleasant walk from the hotel to Senado Square and most of the other attractions in the old part of town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka Max422)

Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. It is very gratifying for us to know that everything from your arrival until your departure was well taken care of.

Did you had enough time to enjoy any treatment in our So Spa or a nice dinner in our French dining restaurant Privé?

We are not sure if you will be around the area during next week, but if you are we recommend you to visit us as we will have two star Michelin Chef Jean Pierre Jacob as a guest Chef from the 16th to the 21st of april. We hope you can join us!

We are looking forward to having you back again!

Life is ‘magnifique’

J.P. Rodriguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#15 of 94 in Macau
228 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#8 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#14 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $112 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing