We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Balneario Camboriu, SC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very good hotel, excellent service, excellent view to the bay, great swimmingpool, food, very good spa and so on. I really enjoyed this hotel. You can go walking to the old part of the city. I recommend you ask a room with seaview, you can see the bay, the fishermans wharf and the swimming pool down there. If you want bet, there is a very good cassino just downstairs. You should really try it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aloir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka Aloir)

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte16! We are really excited to know you were able to try almost all our services!

Which treatment did you try in our So Spa? We have 2 signature treatments that we are sure will give you a unique relaxing experience.

Do you have any plans to come back to Macau? If so, we hope to remain as your first choice for your accommodation!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,

J. P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,828
    1,080
    230
    67
    48
See reviews for
743
1,348
224
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

If only all hotels were this amazing! The building itself is amazing, great views, not far from all the action, and the pool has a view to die for... I felt like a million dollars... And I'm a seasoned traveller, so I'm hard to impress. Macau itself was also really beautiful and fun, it's like Portugal meets Vegas! I really want to come back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka shedden2u)

Wow! Thank you for such a positive feedback full of excellent vibe and joy! We are really excited to know that your recent stay at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 raised the bar for many other hotels in the city.

As you mentioned, the location of our property is really unique. The hotel offers 2 beautiful views: the city and the harbor. It is located within 10 min walking distance from all historical and heritage sites and within a 15 min ride to Taipa where you will find all the big casinos in the city.

We really appreciate your support and we hope that your experience will motivate fellow travelers to visit us soon!

Any plans of coming back to Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16? We are looking forward to having you back!

Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Staying over during a Sunday night where the crowded has left back to HK or China, check in was quick on 17/F. We went to the room next the the checkin area for drinks and snacks.

Service was great, I was here 8 months ago or so and the staff can still remember who I was when they saw me. Felted surprise and happy, we didn't have to walk out for more drinks. The butler kept refilling our drinks.

One of the reason I came over is to try the new French restaurant, so I ask the butler so show us the menu even when we are not in the restaurant. So the foods looks ok so they help me make reservation and walk me to the restaurant. Not going to comment much on the restaurant as I will comment the restaurant individually.

The room smells very nice, there were some complementary chocolate from the hotel. The only thing we weren't too happy was there was a tiny spider on the bed. We called the housekeeping and they quickly change all the bed sheets pillows. The temperature of the shower was not so stable, it gets really hot for all the sudden and back to normal after 5-10 seconds. The pillow and the bed was very comfortable, there are many pillows to choose. Just call housekeeping for the one you wish to have.

We had to catch a ferry 730am in the morning, we checkout at 6;50. The breakfast doesn't start until 7 but the people were nice enough to serve us with food. Although it was a really rush stay in Sofitel this time but overall experience was good!

Thank you Gary and David for the superb service!

Room Tip: Check out the new restaurant on 6/F call Prive, cozy atmosphere with great food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctkwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka ctkwan)

Thank you for taking the time to share with us and all fellow travelers your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16! We are very satisfied to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Firstly, we would like to apologize for the issue encountered in your bed and in the shower. Please be assured that these are not Sofitel standards and that we have addressed your feedback to our Housekeeping team. Mayor measures will be taken to avoid something similar from happening in the future.

On the other hand, we appreciate your kind and positive comments towards all our Ambassadors specially Gary and David in the Club Lounge that helped turning your experience into a very comfortable one. We have passed this information and we are sure this will motivate them to keep up with the excellent performance.

We hope that this will be the first of many visits throughout this year 2013!

By the way, how was your experience in our new fine dining restaurant ‘Privé’?

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I enjoyed the stay. From checking in to checking out, everything was done very efficiently and service was great. Great location and walking distance to the square. Shuttle bus is provided from the pier to the hotel. The room is great and very very spacious.

A feedback I have -I was given a upgrade to the club level and that was a pleasant surprise. I called to enquire if I can access the club lounge and was told that only the room is upgraded and but not the benefits. It would have been better if this was communicated during check in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank p_wongdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka p_wongdw)

Thank you for sharing with us your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16! We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time and you had a very positive experience.

We have informed our Front Office Manager about the lack of communication from our Ambassadors during your check in process. This is a perfect opportunity to re-train our team and refresh their minds in order to avoid small issues like this to change the perspective of our guest’s stay.

Thank you for sharing this review with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The check-in day is my birthday, the hotel give me a free birthday cake, they promise send to my room at 10:30p.m., but it's late till to 11:30p.m., It's make my child go bed to sleep too late, because I use the fece-time to listen the birthday song from my child.

But, actually I feel so warm from the reception of this action!!
To be the member of Accor , have a welcome drink and snack, this is a quite good idea!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank AncyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka AncyR)

We would like to sincerely apologize for the delay on the delivery of your birthday cake. The necessary follow up is been given to this issue with the Room Service department to find out the reason and work towards improvement.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for letting us learn and grow through our your feedback.

We hope you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 and we we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Overall is good but at the lobby I understand it near casino
so there are many smoking smell. But the room is good big room , big bed. Good view I happy with this hotel.
If I have a time will come to this hotel again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank romsai_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka romsai_lee)

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

We would like to share with you that special air cleaners and fragrance machines have been purchased in order to control the bad smell produced by cigarette. On the other hand we just recently have managed to stop the smoking on the second floor of the casino which is next to the lobby. We are giving the necessary follow up to this issue in order to achieve improvement.

We hope these measures will help us to reduce the uncomfortable feeling that cigarette smell produce to many of our guests.

Thank you for your kind review towards our facilities and the hotel view!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

Yours Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nice decor and facilities. Bathroom is excellent, and the window view of the good old days of Macau is just excellent.

Conveniently located at the city heart of Macau, though nearby buildings are old residential houses which don't match with the class of the hotel.

Appreciate the enviornment and service where the welcome drink is provided. Enjoy the stay very much!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Deric_Lam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Quality Assurance Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Bonjour,

Dear Accorhotels.com traveler. (Aka Deric_Lam)

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

Thank you for the compliments regarding our facilities in special our room and bathroom. We are happy to know that they were up to your expectations.

We hope you had a memorable experience and that we remain as your first choice for future visits in Macau!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

J.P. Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
6.3 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#21 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Property: Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#12 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing