We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice room and spa area. But location far” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #12 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really nice room and spa area. But location far”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This was a really nice hotel stay. They gave us a free upgrade and we got Hermes toiletries.

Spa area was nice and clean.

Location wasn't great. But free shuttle. Galaxy hotel better if you can afford it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willyum8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Bonjour!

Dear Willyum8,

Thank you for taking the time to write your brief comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau.

As we are a hotel company that has it’s origin in Paris, France we are proud to feature L’Occitane and Hermes amenities in our guest rooms, and we are pleased to learn you enjoyed the toiletries.

Our SO Spa is a brand-new addition and offering to our guest service and features a Haman sauna experience unique to Macau.

The hotel, which is located within the vintage part of Macau is surrounded by historic sites such as Pier 16, the original harbour of Macau and is in a stone throw from one of the world Unesco sites named Largo do Senado. Indeed we are not surrounded by the modern buildings of Macau, however these are easy accessible with our complimentary casino shuttle service.

We were delighted having had your company and hope we are given another opportunity to extent to you an authentically local experience.

Yours Sincerely,

Juan Pablo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,826
    1,080
    230
    67
    48
See reviews for
742
1,347
224
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable, clean, modern room. Very typical of what Sofitel offers. Although it's not located close to the casinos such as Venetian, you are walking distance to the Unesco area. There's also a Michael Jackson cafe and gallery, something which I thought was very interesting. Free shuttle buses to and from the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GwennSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Bonjour!

Dear GwennSingapore,

Thank you for the complimentary comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed the MJ Café and Michael Jackson Gallery a truly unique exhibition of collectable memorabilia of the King of Pop!

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel during your next visit to Macau.

Yours Sincerely,

Juan Pablo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I am a fan of the sofitel chain, and having really enjoyed a few nights at sofitel xian a few months ago, i was looking forward to stay in Macau over Xmas.There was nothing that you would indivually complain about, but overall it was disppointing. Check in was slow and a bit chaotic (would help if they had beter signage), lthere was generally qute a wait for lifts despite hotel not being very full, they were very keen to sell me xmas buffet in restaurant (athough ii was not clear anywhere how much that was) and begrudgingly allowed me to order a la carte. Room was normal sofitel standard and generally staff were very friendly, so i feel a bit bad with such a low score but it just did not work for me. It could well be that this is what the local market wants, but from walking around other hotels in Macau i got a better feel elsewhere.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank gipsona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Gipsona1,

Bonjour! First and foremost Thank You for taking the time to provide us with your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Macau.

We are disappointed to learn that we were not able to exceed your expectations of us, especially as we strive to provide each guest with an exceptional experience. Our hotel had a full occupancy leading up, during and after the Christmas period, that may have impacted our lobby and subsequent check-in procedures which we apologize for the impression this had on your overall stay. We gladly take your comments regarding the signage on board and we will assure that the proper signage is posted and displayed.

Even though we appreciate your overall comments, we are saddened not to live up to your expectations and we hope that this has not negatively impacted your review of our Sofitel brand and subsequent hotel property.

Yours Sincerely,

Juan Pablo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

This trip that in Macau is really nice! The hotel can provide the service asap that you need. Especial that you have a baby ! I really appreciate that the hotel can provide some facility to my daughter that let her can sleep very well!!! The staff is so nice and settle a check out time for my family that we can have enought time to visit Macau!

Thanks Sofitel! at Ponte 16!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CH_FAMILY_9888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Bonjour!

Dear Accorhotels.com Traveller (aka CH_FAMILY_9888),

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 and taking time to provide us with your precious feedback.

We are delighted for taking care your baby daughter and we are doing all in our power to make our guest feeling care and the most comfortable.

We are pleased to see you enjoyed your overall stay with us and hope that we will be seeing you again soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Juan Pablo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

check-in was a pain as there was a long queue & reception were tied up, plus room wasnt ready despite the afternoon check-in. Only smoking room available despite my booking request .Was informed to return in 2 hours if i wanted a non-0smoking room ! Fortunately, remembered had a club accor membership so leveraged it. We stayed on the 16th floor where the city view was superb & used the club members lounge for daily breakfast. Hotel is close to city central . Worth a try if you use club accor privileges

Room Tip: club level from 16th floor up offers great city views, a contrast of old macau with Grand Lisboa in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brandon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Bonjour!

Dear Brandon228,

First and foremost Thank You for taking the time to provide us with your comments regarding your recent at the Sofitel Macau.

We are appreciative and sensitive to the comments from our guests regarding the guest queue which sometimes is experienced during the check-in experience. As the hotel often experiences full guest room occupancy, on occasion it takes our housekeeping department a bit longer to sanitize and make up the guest room for our next guests. We should have acknowledged your non-smoking guest room request, even though we are not able to guarantee this during the time of making the reservation. We have updated your guest profile and will ensure that this will not happen again. We are sincerely apologetic for the impact this had on your stay.

We are glad to learn that you have an ACCOR LeClub membership and that we utilized the benefits whilst staying with us. Indeed our Sofitel Club is a terrific haven of serenity in our property we are glad you were able to experience the product and services.

We hope that we are given another opportunity to welcome you to the Sofitel Macau on your next visit to Macau

Yours Sincerely,

Juan Pablo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

My girl friend and I checked into the hotel yesterday and have been very pleased with the stay to date.

As a little treat, we are staying in the executive floor, this is our first Xmas together and the extra money is well spent in my view. The reason for this is we ended up skipping dinner last night as I (blush) eat a little too much cheese and Somozas. While alcohol is affordable in macau the wine selection last night was good. A nice mix of new and old world wines. Though mostly old world I must admit. The staff were very friendly, though it was very busy last night.

They have a new spa and I am off to visit it shortly. I'll try to update on the spa experience soon as I understand it is a new.

Happy travels. :-)

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jamesknott76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Pablo R, Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Jamesknott76
Bonjour!

Dear Jamesknott76,

Thank You for the kind review of your recent Sofitel Macau stay!
We are delighted to learn that you selected our property as your residence during your recent Macau visit. One of the wonderful Club Sofitel benefits is the ability to enjoy our complimentary food and beverage services, and we are delighted to learn you have done so.

Our SO Spa recently opened its doors and the guest comments have been nothing less then positive and complimentary. We trust that your visit was equally relaxing and enjoyable.

We hope to have the opportunity again in future to welcome you back to the Sofitel Macau.

Yours Sincerely,

Juan Pablo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
6.3 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#24 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#21 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Property: Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#12 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing