We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning hotel off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel off the beaten path”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

You will not be disappointed! Was fortunate to stay on the 17th floor; the views of Macau are stupendous. If you are looking for activity, shopping, a bustling casino and night life - stay in the Venetian across town. The Sofitel is quiet, luxurious and gracious. The rooms have everything you would expect for a five-star hotel, and things you wouldn't expect. There is a TV in the main room, as well as the bathroom; Hermes toiletries; coffee/tea service at any hour; wonderful large shower and THE most comfortable beds I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping in. I had a view over the harbor - relaxing and lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAChickadee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDIRKS, Director of Quality at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Bonjour!

Dear CAChickadee1,

Your description of your stay at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16: "...quiet, luxurious and gracious" makes us giddy with pleasure. If we could put words into the mouths of all of our guests, these are the ones we would choose.

We can let you in on a secret regarding the beds: they are MyBeds! The MyBed concept is a true original by Sofitel. They are sometimes called SoBeds as well, depending on what part of the world you are. Some of our guests even love our beds so much that they order them online at the So Boutique.

Wishing you restful and luxurious future travels!

Yours truly,

M. Dirks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,886
    1,112
    237
    71
    50
See reviews for
772
1,387
238
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Wonderful hotel. Serivce especially consierge assistance first rate. Rooms spacious and well appointed. Almost too many inclusions - fruit, amenties, slippers etc etc... Casino activity is quite separate to the hotel and totally unobtrusive. Not many restaurants in the area but the food at the Hotel is excellent. Great ensuite and super bed. Pool is exquisite. Never had to wait long for a lift (stayed 5days). Daily room clean very thorough. Bed turned down every night.

Room Tip: we had a river view room and city view room. Both are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDIRKS, Director of Quality at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Bonjour!

Dear Mr. John P.,

There are a few points of that every hotelier should aim to excel at and these are, of course, usually related to the guest room, which is the main reason why people stay in hotels.

We are delighted to read that you found the housekeeping and turn down services to your expectation during your stay at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. Additionally, than you for your recognition of our restaurant teams; we will share your comments with all relevant Ambassadors.

Lastly, we are very pleased that you recognized the separation of the casino operation to the hotel. In Macau, many hotels are operated by the casino and Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 is one of the exceptions to this rule. This means, as a hotel management company, Sofitel's priority is the guest experience in the hotel, rather than the gaming experience.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your comments on this website and we look forward to welcoming you back so you may have the chance to discover the fabulous So Spa that is currently in pre-opening!

Yours truly,

M. Dirks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I spent three nights in this hotel with friends and was very impressed. The rooms were tastefully decorated and well equipped, although a little dark in places. If there was one thing I would tell the manager to change about these rooms it would be to have better lighting over the mirrors. I found it difficult to see to put my make up on apart from in the bathroom. Other than than that the room was lovely. A lovely bathroom with tv over the bath, although with the sight seeing and partying I did, I wasn't able to use this. The bathroom is stocked with L'Occtaine goodies which is also a nice touch.

Check in was a little slow, but I was checking in at peak time around 3.00pm so I guess this is to be expected.

The room service food was good and very prompt and Hotel staff were all very friendly and welcoming.

I had a quick look in the casino here and thought it looked a little sedate. We preferred the Sands by the ferry port. It had a really fun atmosphere with cheesey dancers on every night and is just a short taxi drive away.

The hotel is a short walk from the square where there are lovely buildings and restaurants. Be sure to pick up a yummy egg tart!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDIRKS, Director of Quality at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Bonjour!

Dear HannahMumbai,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a complete and helpful review about Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 and your experiences in Macau.

We appreciate your suggestions about the lighting in the bathroom and we offer our apologies about the speed of check-in (or lack of) during your stay.

On a positive note, we are very happy to read of your appreciation of L'Occitane, which means you will be trilled to hear that Sofitel is slowly changing its amenity products to the legendary brand: LANVIN. Lanvin is one of of the oldest fashion houses in Paris and we are very excited to be partnering with them for bathroom amenities. Perhaps you can try them during your next stay with us!

With warm regards,

M. Dirks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Possibly the best hotel I've ever stayed in . Huge luxurious rooms. Toiletries by Hermes. My room in the 10th floor was a shore with huge televisions in the lounge , bedroom, and also above the huge Jacuzzi!
Sumtuous furnishings with a Bose I pod dock, denon hi do, and even a real coffee machine.
I have stayed inmost of the amazing girls in Macaulay, but this is special.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eddie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDIRKS, Director of Quality at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Bonjour!

Dear Mr. Eddie G,

We think it's great to hear of your wonderful experience at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16! From the description, it looks like you stayed in one of our 19 unique Sofitel Mansion suites, which are some of the most decadent rooms available in Macau.

There are 4 different styles of Mansion suites to choose from, so perhaps you can try a different room style during your next visit to Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. *(One of the suites even has its own small sauna and massage bed, so a therapist can provide a signature So Spa treatment right there in the comfort of your own room!)

Yours sincerely,

M. Dirks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We enjoyed a beautiful weekend in Macau,staying here Friday to Monday,The hotel is gorgeous,staff courteous and helpfull...our only blemish on the weekend was the buffett in the main dining restaurant...our hotel reservation said price was $150 HKG each which is quite expensive,when we went down for breakfast first morning we were told $207 each,The waitress went and checked and they did give us the $150 price,it was not worth it...very disappointing!cold coffee in a Caraffe to start,cold food in all the buffett containers....pastries were stale,cold items were room temperature,we did not enjoy it at all,Burners should have been keeping hot items warm...we took one or two bites and left...not worth the money!The hotel itself is immaculate and have nothing but glowing remarks about the comfort and cleaniness of our room,view was great of the Macau harbor,and hotel is close to the history of Central Macau.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachhound_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDIRKS, Director of Quality at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Bonjour!

Dear Beachhound_12,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments and feedback about your visit to Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

It's great to read that you had a wonderful stay overall but equally saddening to read of the disappointing experience you had for breakfast in the Mistral restaurant.

It's true that at the time of booking, the breakfast inclusion will always be at a lower rate than when breakfast is 'purchased' directly at the restaurant. Nonetheless, no matter what prices is paid, the breakfast experience you described was inadequate at best, for which we offer you our sincere apologies.

We encourage all our guests to let us know any discontent during the mealtime so we can have the kitchen prepare your personalized breakfast exactly as you like it.

When you visit the hotel for a future visit, please do let us know in advance or make contact with me directly: Maarten.Dirks@sofitel.com so we can provide you with a restaurant experience that matches the rest of your stay!

Sincerely yours,

M. Dirks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Except they did not give any Accor Platinum Welcome Gitf, it was worth to stay in this hotel.(The front staff made a mistake I guess)
Room is clean and neat.
Especilaly, bed is s~~~~o comfortable.
As soon as I jumped to the bed, I just said "Ah~~~"

After got checked out, there is no hesitation to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeynoh1838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
523 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Easy access via the Wanzai Ferry from Zhuhai, crossing the Inner Harbor. Can walk to the hotel from the Macau landing in under 5 minutes.

Large, pretty room; posh amenities. If you have been traveling in China for a while, you will appreciate the soft beds. Reasonably priced eating places across the street. (You can find them easier if you take the pedestrian bridge.) Hotel has helpful English speaking staff; local eateries do not.

I usually stay in another part of Macau, but this hotel is not really inconvenient once you get a map and figure out where you are. Free shuttle will take you to the old Hotel Sintra, across from the new Grand Lisboa. Runs every 30 minutes. There is also a city bus stop across the street. Costs 3 Patacas and 2 Avos. No change made.

Casino is downstairs, mostly for locals and day-trippers from the mainland. Mainly baccarat and slots.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the city. More expensive rooms overlook the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZhongguoKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
1.3 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#27 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#15 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Property: Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#13 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing