We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #13 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Easy access via the Wanzai Ferry from Zhuhai, crossing the Inner Harbor. Can walk to the hotel from the Macau landing in under 5 minutes.

Large, pretty room; posh amenities. If you have been traveling in China for a while, you will appreciate the soft beds. Reasonably priced eating places across the street. (You can find them easier if you take the pedestrian bridge.) Hotel has helpful English speaking staff; local eateries do not.

I usually stay in another part of Macau, but this hotel is not really inconvenient once you get a map and figure out where you are. Free shuttle will take you to the old Hotel Sintra, across from the new Grand Lisboa. Runs every 30 minutes. There is also a city bus stop across the street. Costs 3 Patacas and 2 Avos. No change made.

Casino is downstairs, mostly for locals and day-trippers from the mainland. Mainly baccarat and slots.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the city. More expensive rooms overlook the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZhongguoKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,927 - 1,933 of 3,608 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

I would highly recommend staying here. I stayed in one of the very reasonably priced deluxe rooms. It has to one of the best rooms I ever been in. very spacious very luxurious! The hotel buffet was a master chef creation and room service to match. The location was quite acceptable as well, about a 5 minute walk from the other Chinese casinos. There is also a decent size casino downstairs too. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loetech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our first stay at a Sofitel Hotel and Macau,what a great experience,booked in for three nights (next time it will be at least 6) From the moment we found our hotel bus at the ferry terminal untill we arrived back to depart it was service with a smile all the way.Arrived about midday from HK Tired from travelling all night,check in desk was busy,waited about 10 mins during which time the Conceirge came over and suggested my wife sit in the lounge and carried her cabin bag,finally at the counter the female staff member was full of apologies for delay and gave us vouchers for half price breakfast,rest of the checkin process was speedy,then up to our room with harbour views (booked cheaper room with city views) so a bonus here really nice room with all the right accessories you would expect,down to breakfast next morning could not believe the great variety offered, fantastic value even at the full price,working on my next trip back to Macau 2013 and of course will be staying Sofitel Macau, best hotel all round I have ever stayed in.PS. First time I have ever bothered to write about a hotel because I usually find some problem........

Room Tip: Harbour views would be better than city views,usually a small premium if you are going to look out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brissydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were only briefly at the hotel, arriving in the evening and leaving the next morning. We ate elsewhere. So I can only comment on the location and the quality of the accommodation.

In my opinion the location is certainly not the best. This would matter less if taxis were plentiful and always available, but our experience was one of not getting taxis easily. That is a problem if you don't want to be stranded.

The hotel shuttle bus from the ferry terminal took ages to arrive. If the line for the taxis is not long I would recommend just taking a taxi rather than waiting for the shuttle.

The hotel room was excellent. Spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom is a good size and the toiletries (shampoo, soap, etct) were Hermes, so good quality.

One odd thing is the glass wall between the bath and the bedroom: since the toilet also has a glass wall, there is potentially a view straight from the bed to the toilet - if you have a companion you'd better be very relaxed/comfortable with each other! OK, the toilet wall is partly frosted glass, but this is still peculiar, and definitely not my idea of "showtime".

For my next trip I would probably choose somewhere else unless the Sofitel price was particularly good. I would rather be in a better location or a resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank GRW720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is my 4th time staying at Sofitel Macau. I have never been disappointed with Sofitel chain of hotels. Nothing to complain about - only compliments. The beds are heavenly, rooms are spotless. For the price per room night I pay as Accor member, it is a great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyholiday873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKResident
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

we have now stayed at this hotel 3 times and each time it was the most enjoyable experience the staff headed by amelia and gary and diego plus marlena and 2 other lovely girls made this a hotel you just did nor want to leave,they canot do enough to make your stay a wonderful memory,this is in the club rooms which is really good value

Room Tip: choose the club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RONNIE9096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,352 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#16 of 94 in Macau
213 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#11 of 94 in Macau
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#13 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $116 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing