We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious - worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #15 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We've been meaning to go to Macau everytime we travel to Hong Kong and decided to finally go there this time.

We picked this hotel for pure luxury and relaxation and check out the sites of Macau. We didn't care for the casinos nor the busy crowds around the Venetion/Taipa Bay so were quite happy with this hotel being quieter and near the old town for siteseeing.

Hotel is lovely, luxurious and customer service is pretty good. It was a nice touch to have the staff turn over our beds around dinner time. The bathroom glass window facing the bedroom was an entertaining gimic for the family and the pool was nice.

We had a couple buffet dinners at the hotel - decent quality food. Pitfall was the chefs came out late when cooking up fresh steaks, etc since we would have been onto the desserts by then (hungry earlier in different time zones). A few streets away there is also a street full of restaurants with local cuisines which was nice as well.

We didn't actually find Macau particularly interesting but thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel so it made the trip worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Blurpyblurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,186 - 2,192 of 3,554 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

What can I say, we truly enjoyed our 3 nights stay at Sofitel. This was not my first trip to Macau, I had stayed in other hotels so I had known how high was the hotel standard in Macau. Well, I am glad to say that you had nothing to worry about with Sofitel, it is on par with other more spotlighted hotels like Venetian and Hard Rock. Both I had stayed in before.

Different from the other hotels in Cotai Strip, here you can experience the real Macau. If your main destination is only to go casino-hopping, then I agree that this is not the best spot. But if you want to split your agenda between day and night life, then Sofitel is perfect. Within minutes of walking, you can reach to various nice small shops that sell souvenirs or other items that might interest you. Street food can be easily found, ordering is a bit difficult but some are already familiar with tourists and will try to guide you ordering the right menu.

Back to the hotel, our room was decently sized if not spacious for the price. We got a river view even though we had booked for city view, which was a good thing. The Fitness Center was small but enough for small exercises with view to the pool. Room service was excellent, we had our room nicely cleaned after a long walk during the day.

The bottom line, if this is your first trip to Macau or gambling is not your main interest, then consider Sofitel for your stay.

Room Tip: Take a walk from Sofitel to the main casino strip. It is about 30 minutes walk, but you only need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mayks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingSmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I just finished a 2 day stay at the Sofitel Macau. While the hotel rooms and pool is 5 star the service is 1 star, in particular the transportation servvice. There is no taxi stand, forcing you into the hot city streets, and you better speak Cantonese. The bus is terrible! 5 tmes slower than all other hotels, and when my friend forgot their phone the bus tried to leave and split us; they could not wait 2 minutes. I yelled at them and ound my own taxi. The hotel manager did nothing to fix it. Before that the bus left without us even thouhj they saw me wwAving.

Stay at the MGM, way better service and location.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mav256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
HK
1
Reviewed September 16, 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I booked 2 nights of free room and upgraded to executive rooms with additional charges. Everything is good. Free drinks and afternoon tea set at lounge, free breakfast, free newspaper, free wifi.
TIPS: There is free shuttle to Venetian from Yuet Tung Pier(5-min southwards walk from hotel); 10-min walk eastwards to go to the street with souveniors shops.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkullbhkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Hong Kong, China
1
Reviewed September 13, 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#24 of 94 in Macau
1,152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,344 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#15 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range: $114 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing