We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was not very good but hotel is great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Location was not very good but hotel is great”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 proves that all the Sofitel hotels have a above average standard. I stayed with my wife for vacation and business purpose and I must say it was a good choice after I have been in another hotel in Macau a few months before (cant remember which one).
The cost benefit of this hotel is a huge plus for us to chose it. Service is impeccable. When we checked-in I mentioned to the receptionist that it was our 2nd honey moon and he gently upgraded us into a room that had a river view.
The room itself was not very new, but is was very cozy and warm. The good thing about Sofitel hotels is that they give us L´Occitane products in the bathroom and we really enjoyed it again.
The hotel is a little bit distant from central Macau, but is very walkable- around 15 minutes if fast-paced. However this can be considered a plus since you are not very close to the crowd that sometimes can be very annoying.
Room service was nice. Continental breakfast was full and full of choices- lots of fresh fruits!
They also have a small casino facility (compared to other hotels in Macau) and since we are not gamblers we enjoyed to walk around...if we were players we wouldnt enjoy that much I guess.
In the end, this Sofitel is just like all the Sofitels we have been. Great service, great product!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzano_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,962
    1,136
    246
    75
    53
See reviews for
808
1,430
250
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

had been to Accor group's pullman else where,
and learnt Sofitel is rather a notch up. It was the last weekend of Aug , a night cost $3000
for a twin bed room, the design was not quite my cup of tea, though this is purely subjective judge.
Location: in the old town of Macau, a pros for those tourist which attracted by the scene of local people and macau of the oldtime (before those foreign entertainment giant group came), problem is, i never can get a taxi out of the hotel, rather, have to line up for local bus service or 15-20 mins walk out.

Room: the bed was sub standard, my experiences in macau, a usual twin is enough for 2 ppl sleeping in ( from my exp of Grand Hyatt, Hard Rock, Venetian, Encore), btw, I'm not a 200pound guy. Room size is standard.

View: had a river view room, i can see Zhuhai (the boarder city of China), just across the river. To those tourists didnt apply for chinese visa and longing to know what China is like, it's a plus.

Casino: if you wanna taste a bit of some chinatown backdoor gamble room, there you go. Full of crowded from Mainland ( and not those big whale type, you would see in Wynn, Grand Lisboa).

I wish this hotel is named as novotel or pullman, so that i could self adjust the expectation. As my subject stated, I wish i had done some research on this Sofitel, I would have not been that disappointed, my bad I admitted.

Room Tip: no clue
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikuryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Wide Traveller
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The location is near the river, less than 10 minutes walk from the down town old quarter main square, and I enjoyed a very nice view of the riverside overlooking mainland China on the other side of the water, with the typical boats maneuvering up and down the stream.
The hotel team is great, welcoming and guiding you through the hotel superb lobby. The hotel is not too big so you still feel the personal touches.
The food by the French chef and his team is great; with on top the nice wines, cheese and pastries.
The hotel has a nice pool and terraces overlooking the river and that open space emphasized the very nice atmosphere of the hotel.
The standard of the brands as well thought, I could feel that throughout all of the staffs handling, using room service, calling the operator. The quality of the towels and bathrobe is incredible and they where finalizing the installation of the WiFi in the rooms so I think it should work fine now.

I could not find anything to improve except maybe:
- labeling the light switches at the entrance of the room
- finding another way to place the very nice cotton foot mat that blocks the opening of the toilet.

Above all, the price was very decent and I definitely recommend this hotel, once of the best I’ve ever stayed in!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benchmarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The hotel is located in a convenient location and away from the Casion zone. Room is clean, gym and the pool isvery nice. There is no Wi Fi in the hotel and I need to pay for the internet services which in my room. When I checked out I end up pay quite a few extra dollars and the clerk told me I should buya package which included the breakfast and internet at a much lower rate when I checked in. Well, the problem was nobody tell me there was such package when I checked in. Don't bother about the A Club loyalty programe, I signed up before my booking and stayed in two different Sofitel hotel during my trip and the points were not credit to my account. They asked me to send all the proof of stay documents and almost 7 months I still not hear anything yet. very poor customer services.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skywalkerinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDIRKS, Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear skywalkerinbc,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

We are concerned to hear about the difficulties you have encoutered with the A Club loyalty program and we will ensure that your feedback gets followed up promptly by the appropriate party.

Since your stay in November 2010, we are very happy to share with you that Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 now boasts free WIFI internet throughout the hotel, since the beginning of this month, following feedback received from travelers such as yourself.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 some time in the future to let you endulge in our award-winning, French art of Hospitality. If you have any further questions or feedback, feel free to contact us directly.

warm regards,

M. Dirks
Sofitel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed in Sofitel Macau to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. The hotel is located in the western side of Macau Peninsula, walking distance to traditional tourist spot such as Macau Post Office.The room has a modern art deco feel, it is spacious even after putting the king-side bed, bathroom is decorated with painting and mirror sculpture, and has glass wall to separate toilet seat area. The hotel uses Loccatine soups, bath gels...The room has good river view. Free wi-fi has been made available recently. The swimming pool has good mountain view, but it is a bit small and crowded. I was told the more beautiful and bigger pool was for the guests in the serviced apartment which the rates would be double. Our rates was about USD250/night.

The hotel offers free shuttle bus to Macau Ferry Terminal, while other hotels will offer to other destination such as Border Gate, Taipa etc..It is not so easy to get taxis in Macau, and it took about USD8.5 from the hotel to Taipa. Also, the air quality is a bit stale while sleeping late at night, and there was a bit toilet flushing problem. The English level of some hotel staff is not very high.

Overall, we both enjoyed our stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I will suggest to have more choice of the bar drink like introduce the Spanish or portguese wine drinks E.g fruits wine :-) there were only a small selection of wines. Secondly I will suggest to have more buses between hotel and ferry stop. The waiting time is far too long (compare with others hotels)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onlima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

The Sofitel is a bit different from most five star Macau hotels. No over-the-top shopping mall, no casino screaming out upon arrival (although of course there is a casino on the premises!). In general, this is a discrete hotel with attentive staff which is located in the "old" part of Macau, just a 5-10 minute walk from Senado Square and not too far from the UNESCO Wold Heritage trail. When a hotel meets most expectations, it's easy to pick on the little things that seem out of place or not meeting the standard. Overall, there really aren't any issues that need attention to improve this hotel. The staff seem well trained and if anything a little over-attentive. Broadband strength was excellent and free (on Club floor), breakfast was acceptable and the free shuttle to the ferry terminal is convenient.Rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable. Include a DVD player. Really derserves a higher ranking than four stars on TripAdvisor - the hotel is of a much better standard than comparable four star hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Inspector_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
3.8 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#14 of 95 in Macau
196 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#23 of 95 in Macau
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16

Property: Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Address: Rua do Visconde Paco de Arcos, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Macau
#9 Family Hotel in Macau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#13 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 4.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on Macau's picturesque waterfront, Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 is located in the center of the city and amidst the charming historical quarter with walking distance to St. Paul's Ruins and A-Ma Temple! The complex of restaurant, bar, recreational facilities, meeting and banquet venues, in-house casino and MJ Gallery ensures that Sofitel has created an exquisite world for lovers of "art de vivre". The hotel has an easy access to the major points of entry into Macau and offers its guests complimentary transfers to the Macau ferry terminal and GongBei border gate on the Ponte 16 casino shuttle buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16 Hotel Macau
Sofitel Ponte 16
Macau Peninsula Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing