We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,998)
Filter reviews
3,998 results
Traveler rating
2,278
1,293
279
87
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,278
1,293
279
87
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichael jacksonmistral restaurantprestige suiteclub flooraccor memberferry terminalriver viewsenado squareluxury rooml'occitane toiletrieswalking distanceolder partfree shuttlest paulevening cocktailsmainland chinaan upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
2,552 - 2,557 of 3,998 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Positives: beautiful rooms and decent breakfast. Alfredo, the club floor concierge was brilliant at getting us a dinner reservation at a moment's notice at a great Portugese restaurant and even recommended us dishes to try and was very friendly and nice. He even checked up on us the next day to ask how it went. Thank you Alfredo!

Negatives: we checked in a few hours after official checkin time and our room was not ready and the hotel had the audacity to try to upsell us to another room despite our room not being available.
The hotel is well located for the historic sites but not for anything else. This is usually not an issue but in this case it is because taxis are very few and far between. The usual wait for a taxi is anything between 15-20mins+.
The elevators are a mess - very slow with long wait times as well, and we were only on the 8th floor.
No wifi in our room is another minor sticking point that I think 5 star hotels should have.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aust-girl-in-HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDIRKS, Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2011

Dear Aust-girl-in-HK,

Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding the service you received from Alfredo in Club Sofitel.

We sincerely regret the lapse in service you encountered whilst a guest at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us to continue to improve the service provided to our guests and we appreciate the time taken to share your comments.

We are thrilled to announce that within the next two months, Sofitel Macau is finalizing the installation of a wireless network that will provide free WIFI to all of its guests on premises. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to benefit from this additional service.

Thank you again for your comments and feel free to address any further feedback or questions to our attention directly.

warm regards,

M.DIRKS
Sofitel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

The outside is under construction, it really affects the outlook of the hotel. The swimming pool is very good for family. The buffet breakfast is not equivalent to a 5-stars hotel. The food is not enough in kind.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passenger291901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Stayed two nights in club room at non-smoking floor, and very enjoyed my stay. The king-size bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and had a nice ocean view. I liked the Hermes bath amenities, TV in bath room and automatic curtain.

The best part was the club lounge. The service quality of Club lounge was awesome and it was the best club lounge in my experience. Staff was very attentive, courteous, excellent in service and among them Gary was superb. I usually go out to try local restaurants for breakfast and evening beer, but I visited the lounge every morning/evening because this place was very nice and spoiled me. Only minor drawback was that there was no evening turndown on first night. When I visit Macau next time, I will definitely stay at this hotel and book club floor room again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tyo1820036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

It is crowded in Easter, but the counter staff is not well prepared. We couldn't get a non-smoking room even we had booked and pre-check in before two hours. They didn't express any regret for their poor service. The room was clean, but the hotel located in an old district and without amusement facility;it was not convenient for family guests.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDIRKS, Manager at Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Dear Accorhotels traveler from Hong Kong,

Thank you very much for sharing your concerns regarding the service you received at Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16.

I would like to sincerely apologize for the oversight in your room preference during the Easter weekend, but primarily for the lack of an apology from our ambassadors.

I am confident that this incident is a rare occurence in a hotel where service and location are two strengths, as attested by fellow travelers on this website.

We welcome you to share any further feedback to help us improve our services by contacting us directly.

warm regards,

M. Dirks,
Sofitel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews