We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nightmare in 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nightmare in 5 star hotel”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

i was informed that this is one of the best hotel in macao, to my surprise it turned out be a very bad experience. My son fell ill while we were staying in the hotel. he had high fever and was not able to walk so i called the front desk for medical service . i was informed that a docto will charge $800 to visit your room. i told front desk that i am myself a doctor and what he requires is a hospital. they gave me the address of hospital. I requested them that i am in south wing and your taxi stand is in west lobby i will require a wheel chair. She asked me to deposit $2500 for the wheel chair. I told the fronk desk that they already have authrization on my credit card. she insisted on $2500. i had no cash with me at that time as i was supposed to check out next morning. We had to walk all the way to Taxi stand without anybody helping us . NEVER AGAIN

Room Tip: rooms in south side are quieter but far from taxi stand
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajivpahwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareTeam, Manager at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear rajivpahwa,

We appreciate you took the time to communicate to us why our service did not meet your expectations, and allow us to work toward improvement.
We would like to sincerely apologize for the issue encountered during your recent visit at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, causing a detraction in your overall stay. I wish to assure you that this inconvenience mentioned is definitely not the hotel standard and we have passed your comments to the respective department for further action, and avoid this unfortunate situation in the future.
Again, I extend my apologies and hope that this atypical experience does not deter you and your family from visiting us in the future. Thank you for giving us a chance to restore your faith in our property.

With very Best Regard,

Vanessa Tanzilli – Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,900
    2,101
    664
    195
    131
See reviews for
2,322
1,597
227
490
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,037)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
367 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed at the Venetian in April 2014 for 2 nights. All i can say in word is this place is ECSTATIC.
the architecture of the hotel is just amazing. Its so huge we would get lost everyday and not find our room. We booked a royal suite and the rooms too were very nice. comfortable beds, spacious room and clean bathrooms.Very Good WI-Fi too. The rooms offer comfort and luxury while the rest of the resort offers almost limitless entertainment . If you love gambling this is the place to be. The casino is HUGE. The staff is extremely polite. Amazing boutique shopping. Amazing Lineup Of restaurants and lavish breakfast.
Will surely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aniket88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareTeam, Manager at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Aniket88,

Thank you for your brilliant review of your experience at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, and for your outstanding rating.
It is rewarding you felt The Venetian has all your needs covered with its opulent décor and distinctive interior that resembles the beautiful city of Venice, its memorable Gondola ride through the Grand Canal world class shopping area and blue-painted sky ceiling, along elegant streetscapes with endless activities and performances, keeping you entertained along the way.
I am also pleased you enjoyed the comfort and elegance of our spacious and spotless suite, the hospitality provided by our helpful and caring team members and overwhelmed you found our various restaurants and breakfast superb with plenty of choice and excellent service. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team as it brings great motivation.
You high recommendation is highly appreciated, and we look forward to seeing you again when you next return to Macau.

With very Best Regard,

Vanessa Tanzilli – Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel was worth every penny pad for. The rooms were big and spacious.Room service was nice and prompt. Breakfast in the hotel was nice and elaborate. Nothing to complain about this place.At checkin you get some vouchers. Make sure to use them before checkout as they are not applied to your final bill.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hussain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareTeam, Manager at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear hussain13,

I want to personally thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us after your recent stay at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, and for your outstanding rating.
Earning referrals from our previous guest is a wonderful compliment that you have provided and it was my pleasure to share your positive remarks with our team.
I was very pleased to read that you found the resort to be of good value for the money, and we appreciate your many praise about your extremely spacious and luxurious suite and your culinary experiences.
We all look forward to hosting you and your family again in the not too distant future, for another pleasant stay.

With very Best Regard,

Vanessa Tanzilli – Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We came here to stay during 6/24-6/27. Terrible things happened since we got off the shuttle bus. We came a few hours earlier than the Check-in time, so we first went slot playing and registered for the membership cards in the casino. Not until we checked in at the hotel counter did the clerk tell us that only those who register for the membership cards after check-in can have free 100 HKD vouchers. As their customers for 3-day stay, I asked them why this cannot be worked out, but the clerks just said no and left us alone. Money was not the point, but we just couldn’t swallow this nonsense treatment. So, we returned to find the casino counter and after a long-haul argument, a mean female clerk told us to bring down the registration form put in our room. She said she would send someone to give us, so we went by the luggage center to carry our luggage, which the bellboy there told us “he thought” it should have been carried to our room. Over 30 bloody minutes passed, no one came at all. I found this hotel was fooling us around actually. The worse was that our baggage was still nowhere to be seen. So we went to the luggage center to get our luggage ourselves. However, they couldn’t find it, and the supervisor kept asking me who had contacted us formerly. How ridiculously he didn’t try to find our luggage first but instead wanted me to give him a name!!! Another 30 mins passed, and finally he had our baggage in the room.

It’s my 1st time to Macao, and LAST TIME to stay in VENETIAN. The worst hotel experience I have ever had spoiled our expected vacation for the starter. The arrogant attitude and nothing-but-money business policy disgusted us and made you worthless and penniless. I would dissuade everyone from visiting here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beachboy175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareTeam, Manager at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear beachboy175,

Thank you for your valuable feedbacks following your recent visit at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel.
Certainly, this is not the type of guest experience we are trying to provide and I am genuinely sorry that this is the feeling you took away with you.
On behalf of The Venetian, please accept my sincerest apologies that some of our services did not meet your expectations, causing a detraction in your overall experience. We are very sorry to know that you were not properly taken care of upon your arrival and we have shared your comments with our related Managers, who will follow up each and every item you had reviewed, with their respective team. I wish to assure you that the inconvenience mentioned in your review are definitely not our standards of service, and we are sorry to know that we were not able to provide you with the arrival experience you deserve.
We hope this stay will not stop you from coming back in the future. We would like to welcome you and your friends back, restore your faith in our hotel and make sure your future stays are memorable.
I would be very happy to be of any assistance for your future reservation and invite you to contact me directly at vanessa.tanzilli@sands.com.mo

With very Best Regard,

Vanessa Tanzilli – Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
udaipur, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had heard so much about this hotel & after seeing the making of venetian on Discovery Channel we decided to stay in this Hotel.
Its a huge hotel with 3500 suites rooms.There might be chance that you may lost in this huge hotel lobby is very far from the entrance so you had to carry all your luggage yourself.
There is so much to do like shopping casino, gandola ride,pool & also peacock indian restro with tasty food.
One can't see this Hotel in 02 days. Its like monster huuggggge.
If your are travelling with kids you might face problems as casino doesn't allow child below 21 yrs of age. so take this into notice

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritesh_amantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareTeam, Manager at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear ritesh_amantra,

Thank you for your sterling review during your recent stay at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel.
We are extremely happy that you and your family were able to have such a remarkable stay at our hotel, and it is truly an honor to read that The Venetian is a “Dream come true”.
I am delighted that you were able to make full use of all the facilities within your suite as well as our complex, especially our Grand Canal Shoppes with our memorable Gondola ride, our leisure facilities with our 4 outdoors swimming pool and thank you for pointing out how superb is our traditional Indian restaurant Golden Peacock.
Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. It was a pleasure having you as guest and we look forward to your return in the not too distant future, and hopefully you can stay longer.

With very Best Regard,

Vanessa Tanzilli – Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Spent two nights at the Venetian, Macau in the second week of June 2014. In the last year we had stayed in the Venetian, Las Vegas and for this reason we chose this resort for our stay as a part of our Holiday Trip to Macau and Hong Kong. I should say the courteousness extended by the staff here is admirable. The property is relatively younger but four times bigger compared to that in the Vegas. The check in timings are very strict (not before 3 PM) unlike the resort in Vegas wherein we had been allowed to check in much before. On the positive side, apart from the very courteous staff, shuttle services are available not only from and to the Air Port but also to few other places including the Ferry. Complimentary water bottles are given by the House Keeping as many times as one requests. Air-conditioning is in full blast. Further, complimentary breakfast/lunch is splendid. The guest mostly are from China and the East and few from India. Petty issues to be mentioned…disposable shaving units are not provided in the bath rooms. TVs are old type ..not LCD/LED, though we did not have much time to watch TV. However, the petty issues are overpowered by the service and courtesy extended by the staff.
Tip: the resort is big enough to lose your way…pl carry a directions map available at the reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeereddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareTeam, Manager at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Jeereddy,

Thank you for your informative review, and we are very happy to know that you choose The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, over other properties in the city, for this 2 days getaway.
We are thrilled to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience, especially our consistency of attentive service, and what was best to read was your high praise of our caring and helpful team members.
We are flattered you described us as “Splendid Property”, found our resort facilities, amenities and food offerings to your liking and our free shuttle bus convenient for you to explore Macau.
In regards to the check-in time, we understand how convenient it is to be able to freshen up and settle in before heading out to explore the wonders that The Venetian has to offer, and we are happy to accommodate our guest's request per availability.
We enthusiastically look forward to welcoming you and your family for your future travels to Macau.

With very Best Regard,

Vanessa Tanzilli – Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I spent a weekend staying in Macau and we stayed at the Venetian. The room itself was great, huge and well appointed just like the sister property in Las Vegas. However, the resort itself was clearly a gambling den with high-end jewellery stores everywhere. It is designed for the new rich of China to come and part with their money.
Restaurant and bar options were not up to standard. It was disappointing to try to find a place for a quiet drink and thought it should be much easier in a place like this.
The casino itself was the largest smoke filled environment I had ever been in and there was no atmosphere like the real Las Vegas.
On a positive note, the concierge service was very helpful and were able to help us find some great restaurants away from the casino.
If staying here again, I would only use this as a base and spend my time in restaurants and bars away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely make sure you ask for a room on a non smoking floor. Although we stayed on a non smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareTeam, Manager at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Matthew M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments of your recent visit at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel
Although your overstay was enjoyable, we are disappointed to understand that your visit was not a complete success. Whilst I am pleased to learn that you found our suite to be comfortable and well-appointed, I have taken note on your culinary experiences that were below your expectations. We will certainly take your comments into consideration as we continue to refine our products.
I am so glad that our concierge team members were able to offer you fantastic service and dining recommendation.
I do appreciate all your comments, this really gives us a good idea as to what works well and where we need to continue to work. Once again, thank you, and we do look forward to welcoming you back, in the near future.

With very Best Regard,

Vanessa Tanzilli – Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.1 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
0.3 mi away
The Parisian Macao
The Parisian Macao
#29 of 95 in Macau
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
3.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel

Property: The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel
Address: Estrada da Baia de N. Senhora da Esperanca, s/n,, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#8 Spa Hotel in Macau
#9 Business Hotel in Macau
#11 Family Hotel in Macau
#13 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#15 Romantic Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 3000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all-suite integrated resort offering spacious accommodation from 70sqm with lavish facilities, enjoy world-class shopping, entertainment and dining experiences in this signature Macao Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venetian Macao Hotel Macau
Venetian Macao Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing