We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down by size and service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel
Ranked #14 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Let down by size and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived at the airport in the morning and went straight to the taxi rank to be told there was a Venetian shuttle bus. We walked to the bus and the "guide" pointed to the luggage area and told us to put our bags there. No offer of help and that included elderly people, too busy talking on mobile phone. On arrival at hotel we were early and room wasn't ready, so we left our luggage again no smiles or welcome from staff. We wandered round the canal area upstairs with shops which is impressive but struggled to find anywhere for a coffee. There was no one around to help. The focus is on the enormous casino on the ground floor. When we checked in staff were friendly but just told us which wing our room was in, no offer to show us where it was or help us with our bags.It was a long walk through the casino on the ground floor.
You couln't fault the room, it was well appointed and spotlessly clean. This hotel was too big and impersonal, at no time did we receive any service. It is a beautiful hotel with lovely rooms but had no personal touch.

Room Tip: Bella Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloxhambebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareTeam, Manager at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Bloxhambebe,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay. Being a “humungous icon” does provide some obvious challenges but we will continue to work on providing as personal an experience as possible. We value your feedback as it helps us in our efforts to further develop guest services & I will share your comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Warm regards,

Dave Chan ~ Manager of Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,746
    2,037
    651
    186
    128
See reviews for
2,212
1,548
219
473
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,000)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tokyo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

May be the biggest casino in the world, but not really conducive for family use. Or maybe just not our family.
Currently at the Venetian which we chose because we've stayed in it in Las Vegas and had a nice time. In Las Vegas we enjoyed our stay from the initial check-in through to the end.
But in Macau its more like hangar sized spaces and major lack of service mentality or any real hotel feel. Just a big casino. And super smoky and hard to get around at that.
From our initial arrival when, after having just got off the bumpy jet boat that finally got us here (both people in front and back of us vomiting during the trip), all we wanted was a little calmness and easy check-in, what we got was the West Lobby entry which is just a lot of big buses dropping customers off. Even though we chose one of the hotel's bigger suite rooms, we didn't even see the main entrance or lobby until we made an effort to find late night shop to buy water at (no convenience store on premises that we've found so you are out of luck if late) and stumbled upon the main entrance.
Anyway, no-one greets you or offers to help with luggage. Yes, I know arriving on the free bus shuttle does not communicate "big spender" to the staff, but the reality is that we just didn't feel like loading up into a private car for such a short ride and without much luggage this time. So lack of normally expected greetings likely means opportunities lost for building customer relationships and potentially generating even more revenue for the hotel.
Once we found our room it was quite nice. Basically the same kind of suite they had in Las Vegas. But very inconvenient to get around.
For example, must go up to the canal shopping level close to smoky main casino area to get from the West side of the property to the main lobby and cotai strip side.
And hard to get outside if you want a breathe of fresh air.
So every time you come back to the property it feels like to you have to take a deep breath and dive back in to the overcrowded hard to get around huge property.
And then there's the smoke. Now I have to say that my family really dislikes smoke, especially around our 5 year old. So would never consider staying at the lisboa (still remember it from the days of old when it was just a smoke pit casino and not as nice as it is now) or other property that does not offer nonsmoking rooms and nonsmoking gaming.
But the venetian's nonsmoking policy is SO LOOSE and uncontrolled. Everywhere the property smells like smoke and incense or some perfume used to cover the smoky smell. And the casino's nonsmoking games are a charade as customers stand around smoking and even sit at the tables with no-one calling them on it or asking them to go to other tables or refrain from smoking at the non-smoking tables. When I did, the dealer just shrugged and said "what can I do?".
All was not bad. The phone service of the operators was quite good and they went out of there way to solve problems for us. Thank you.
Although a sands shareholder and fan of Mr. Adelson, will probably stay at Conrad or other property in Cotai next trip. But business-wise, the hotel probably makes a boat-load of money. Just not from us anymore.

Room Tip: Cotai strip view rooms definitely. To avoid the rush and bustle in the one huge buffet breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dalieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareTeam, Manager at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear dalieb,

Thank you for your recent feedback and it comes to our concern to learn about your stay was affected by the unfortunate experience upon arrival and your disappointment in terms of the Hotel services. I will be sure to share your feedback with the relevant departments so that they may utilize it to improve their areas. Laws were introduced at the beginning of the year that do not permit smoking in Shopping Malls & Restaurants and next year that will expand to cover a significant area of the Casino – hopefully making for a more pleasant experience for non-smokers. Meanwhile thank you for taking the time to give feedback & we hope to see you again.

Warm regards,

Dave Chan ~ Manager of Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
310 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place is just bad. It is nothing like the Venetian in Las Vegas. In fact this place is just terrible. See my review about the casino in another review, that will help understand more about that. Anyway here is my review of the hotel, it's long, but informative, any questions just send me a message.

Positives:

Rooms are big and clean, but expensive.

Beds are comfortable.

Close to the airport, about 10-15 minutes I think by hotel bus.

There are shows that go on in the ballrooms of the hotel, to get there you need about 20-30 minutes as they are quite a long walk, and you need to pay extra to get into those things, some events are like trade shows and stuff like that. When we were there in August there was an ice show that was actually pretty cool.

Negatives:

Some issues, we asked for a room with a view, we got a view all right, we got a view of the buildings air conditioner system just right below us.

Getting to room is a problem. They give you a map, which is pretty useless. Their signage is unintelligible. We ended up walking right through the middle of the casino dragging our luggage through the poker tables on the carpets as there is no signage to tell us how to get to the side of the hotel where we were staying. We were staying on the South Wing. You can get there through a walkway but there are no signs to get there. Ask people and they will send you in several different directions.

Casino, like all is smoky full of ladyboys and working girls, a plus if you are looking for them. In addition minimum bets in the casino are outrageous; they are obviously solely catering to the rich people in China and could care less about anyone else. Am I being prejudice, no, I am just stating the fact, if you can’t except it, don’t read further please. I am sorry if people take this the wrong way, I have no bad intention about people in China, but you will see more problems below. And the hotel staff needs to take care of these things. Getting back to the gambling, minimum bets in most (99.99%) machines are like 20HKD for the low end, meaning if you are small time gambler, you’ll play for about 10 seconds. You are not their target, they don’t want you in the casino. Tables are like 300HKD (US$38) to start, really terrible! I had wanted to play, but not at that price. Again this hotel is focused on the rich Chinese. God bless them I guess. Read my other review about the Venetian casino, I will stop here, it’s just bad all around. I have no idea about other hotels, but there no other hotels within walking distance of the Venetian, you have to take a taxi just about anywhere in Macau as everything is so spread apart. There is no strip so to speak like in Vegas that I know of anyway.

There are no bellhops, you drag your luggage with you.

Getting a cab is like a hotel affair, three to four people help you while everyone else waits in line while all of them try to figure out where you want to go, problem is none of the four can actually understand where you want to go. None of them really understand English or Portuguese and can’t translate the addresses into Chinese for the drivers. Oh how things have changed since Macau went back to China, and not for the good, let me tell you.

The people from China cut in line for the busses outside back to the airport and there are no hotel staff there to organize things, they just simply don’t care. Rules are for suggestion only. Politeness is nonexistent.


Basically what I am trying to tell you is that if you need help in the hotel, forget it, there is no one working here to help you.

The people who helped us the most are the security people wearing the yellow jackets or sashes. Everyone else doesn’t care.

Oh and Internet isn’t free, you need to pay for it. Another joke, hotels that charge for internet should get an automatic negative from everyone.

I sent an email to the hotel about some of the issues above, and their response was basically as I said many times here, they don’t care. And nothing will change. If you think you are coming to a hotel like the one in Vegas, forget it, choose something else.

Basically if you have money to burn, want a clean hotel, then you can stay here, but don’t expect too much. Be prepared for no one to care, and be prepared for the services to be bad. And then you will love it! Just remember, like Vegas, everyone wants and loves money so much they will treat you like garbage just to get more of your cash.

Room Tip: That's a joke, good room? ha! Can't help you here. They don't listen anyway, so don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrunchyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareTeam, Manager at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear crunchymonkey,

Thank you for your recent feedback and it comes to our concern to learn about your stay was affected by the unfortunate experience upon check-in and your disappointment in terms of the Hotel services. All of your comment has been passed on to relevant departmental heads for immediate service review. I am sorry and disappointed for all kinds of disruption caused in between. It is your valuable feedback allows us to recognize where we must improve and develop. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Dave Chan ~ Manager of Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in a normal room. The room was huge and we really enjoyed the space. The hotel lobby, shopping and casino area was massive but it had an unfriendly and busy feeling about it. Casino min bets on most tables were about AUD$35 which is too much. I did find a Craps table with a AUD$10 min bet which was ok. Queues on the gondola rides were about 45 mins so that was not worth the wait. Dancing Water show and a nearby casino was the highlight. All in all it was ok but we probably would not bother with Macau again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank feelingxxlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareTeam, Manager at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear feelingxxlucky,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Venetian and I am pleased you found the suite spacious. We are committed to maintaining the high level of service and please be assured I will pass your comments on to concerning department heads for immediate follow up. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Dave Chan ~ Manager of Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Massive hotel, stayed one night for the experience. The room is a bit outdated but nice all the same. One big disappointment is the wifi you have to pay for which is rather expensive, it barely works really slow and only works in your room and not the hotel. Kind of annoying when you want to use your iPhone. Another huge issue is they overcharged us at checkout by $100nzd which we are currently trying to sort. Go here for the experience but don't expect anything amazing.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareTeam, Manager at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Monique S,

We appreciate your comments about your stay with us. We go through every comment we receive and use the information to better enhance our knowledge about the guest experience. The hotel has now been open 5 years & we have already begun regular refurbishment programs to refresh the guest suites. I will be sure to share your feedback regarding your Wi-Fi experience with the relevant department so that they may utilize it to improve their areas. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future – It would be my pleasure to assist you to book a refurbished suite.

Warm regards,

Dave Chan ~ Manager of Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for the last leg of our vacation. Coming from the tiny rooms of HK, the suite we were able to get was just huge. I mean the size of the bathroom is already a hotel room in HK!

We had a very comfortable king size bed, a roomy seating area and the large windows also gave way to an awesome view. We requested for a non-smoking room, and we were lucky that they still have one available. There's still some tobacco smell in the room though, not sure if it's because of the vents or it used to be a smoking room in the past. If this is a deal breaker for you, make sure to advise the front desk so they can assist you or probably transfer you to a different room.

We availed the Titanic Package through Agoda.com and we were able to make the most out of it since the inclusions are things we would want to do anyway. Aside from the entrance tickets to to the Titanic Exhibit, it came with buffet breakfast, souvenir photo, ice skating pass and the gondola ride.

The hotel area is definitely huge, we had to take mini breaks whenever we are walking around the shops. Good thing there were a lot of hotel staff that were Filipinos so it was very easy to communicate and ask for directions. They will also provide a hotel map upon checking-in to your room… don't lose it! :) The exhibits are at the far end of the hotel, prepare for a long walk even if you have no plans to leave the hotel grounds.

We checked-out around lunch time, but still wanted to walk around the city. The staff gladly took care of our luggage, and had it ready for us in the evening, in time for us to catch the airport shuttle. Except for the tobacco smell in the room, the overall experience was seamless and stress-free!

Room Tip: If you plan to go to Senado Square there's a public bus that stops at the side of the hotel, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cieloism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareTeam, Manager at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Cieloism,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of your stay with us. It is truly a pleasure to learn that you had lots of fun here.
We look forward to welcoming you in the near future for another memorable holiday.


Warm regards,

Dave Chan ~ Manager of Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The pool area is big. Not as flashy and new as galaxy.

Lots of great shopping there but lots of walking too!

Rooms are very nice and have separate lounge area which is nice.

Overall good place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willyum8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareTeam, Manager at The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Willyum8,

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted you thoroughly enjoyed yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Dave Chan ~ Manager of Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.1 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
0.5 mi away
Studio City Macau
Studio City Macau
#23 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel

Property: The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel
Address: Estrada da Baia de N. Senhora da Esperanca, s/n,, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Macau
#8 Spa Hotel in Macau
#9 Business Hotel in Macau
#11 Family Hotel in Macau
#14 Luxury Hotel in Macau
#15 Romantic Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 3000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all-suite integrated resort offering spacious accommodation from 70sqm with lavish facilities, enjoy world-class shopping, entertainment and dining experiences in this signature Macao Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Venetian Macao Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venetian Macao Hotel Macau
Venetian Macao Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing