We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most extravagant hotel in Asia. A in a class of its own. Very private.”
Review of Altira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Altira Hotel
Ranked #35 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most extravagant hotel in Asia. A in a class of its own. Very private.”
Reviewed May 16, 2010

From the moment you arrive the doorman leads you to a private elevator that brings you to the 38th floor for check-in. The staff is well spoken in every language, I speak 7 languages and I was fooling with them but I was amazed that they had staff members that spoke 5 different languages aside from mandarin. I won't get in to every detail regarding this hotel, if you are looking for luxury this is the place to be and be seen. Don't expect crowds, this is all about high-rollers who wish to go unnoticed. This is perhaps the most private hotel and staff you will ever encounter in any city in the world. Certain floors cannot be accessed since they are private for those who wish to not be seen when spending hundreds of thousands on single hands of baccarat. The rooms are immaculate with Plasma TVs everywhere you look e.g. bathroom, powder room, living room and bedroom. The mini bar is a understatement. It’s a better bar then some hotel lobbies and that’s in your own room, go figure! The restaurants are out of this world I tried most of them and I only wish I could get the quality of fish that place has in my city of residence.
The Crystal lounge is the place for a cocktail and you’ll be amazed at the service you’ll receive while over looking Macau. The casino is very private since there are 5 or more floors to play on depending if you are rated to access those floors. If you are looking for luxury this is the place to stay. I like my privacy and Altira was able to accommodate me and my friends like royalty. Thank you for the good time. You guys know how to do it!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank privateaffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    47
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
91
15
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

I'd stayed here for 2 nights recently, and thoroughly enjoyed it. I got their winter promotion package, which is a relative good value. It includes 30-minute massage in the spa, breakfast for 2 and limo transfer (in a Mercedes sedan) from/to the ferry terminal.
The room is spacious and decor elegant; it has the feel of grandness when one first walk in the spacious corridor in the room. The separate vanity, bathroom and walk-in closet area is about half the size of the room! The L-shaped couch in front of the floor-to-ceiling window is very comfortable, but has some stain spots that couldn't come off. It is great for lounging and watching the big LCD TV (provided that you are not distracted by the Macau view facing you ;-).
The facility in the spa is no doubt first class. The private treatment room has its own en-suite shower, and toilet area. That is very convenient and private, especially when you are getting multiple services. The rain shower feature is nice, but a bit weak for my preference.
The buffet breakfast in Aurora is just ok. It has a rather limited selection compared to other high-end hotels, and not much of a view from the dining area.
The hotel has a separate entrance from that of the casino. So it is great if you don't want to have to pass through the casino area as in most other hotels. The only inconvenience is that the hotel's ground floor elevators do not go directly to the room floors. You have to first take the elevator to either the lobby or the spa floor, then take another elevator to your room floor.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveller_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Most amazing hotel I've stayed at! Located just south of Macau Island on the Taipa side. It is the tallest building on Taipa. The view is spectacular both from the lobby and the Seaside view rooms. The beds are super comfortable and spacious. Swimming pool is great as well. Not very large, but is indoors and has a great view. Breakfast is excellent as well, though the buffet selection is a bit limited in terms of main course items. The hotel staff are warm and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exnihilo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed here in December 2009 during a visit to Hong Kong.

What a stunning hotel! Downstairs doesn't look a lot as the lobby is up on the 38th floor, and when the lift opens it's just wow. We stayed on the 32nd floor, so it was back down 6 floors in a different lift.

The room was large, clean and extremely comfortable with the biggest bed I've ever slept in! The wet room had everything we needed, and when we went out in the evening the maid came in for the turndown service and replacement of any toiletries we had already opened.

The minibar was all available free of charge and there was also a well stocked fruit bowl and tea and coffee box. There was a comfortable seating area and huge cable TV

The staff were attentive and friendly and we'd have loved to stay longer. Fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillypand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

The only reason I am giving this a 4 star instead of 5 star rating is because the hotel is clearly geared toward Chinese guests and, as a westerner, there were a couple challenges with communication and the amount of smoking was also an issue. That being said this is a superb property. Our suite was very spacious and beautifully decorated and outfitted with spectacular views of Macau Island across the water. While it is a little away from the main casino area and the new Cotai strip area, the views here are far better. The bed was extremely comfortable with 600-thread count sheets and down pillows/duvet. There were multiple flat screen TVs. A few more English channel channels would be nice. The spa is very stylish and has a good selection fo treatments and the fitness center, while moderately sized, is well designed and has almost everything one could want. The stand-out was the service, which was attentive and responsive, but not overly intrusive. They were wonderful. Additionally, lunch at Aurora was very good, dinner at Kira was delicious and in-room breakfast was also great. Thank you Altira!

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jm514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2009

As we got a very valuable package with tickets from HK, we chose Crown. The location of Crown is not near old urban district nor new developed area, but this resulted a peaceful environment around.

The room is large and well equited. It is one of the most fancy one that i have even stayed. Big bath tub and rain shower. The bed is very comfortable. The lounge area is one of the best of my experience.

One thing I would highly recommand is the infinity pool. It is over looking the whole macau Peninsula. The view is absoultely stunning. The steam and sauna and Jacuzzi in the changing room worth a visit~!

The breakfast we had inroom is very nice. Arrive sharp in the order time. Nice presented and taste excellent.

Staff are all friendly, but some of the service attendent came come the mainland China should pay attention to their attitude; try not to say no to the guess if u declare yourself a six stars hotel. Why do I say so? Because my requests are completed by local staff, but rejected by staff from mainland China.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

There are many hotels with plenty of rooms since the casino business opened up in 2003 in Macau. This self-declared 6 stars hotel charged more than other casino resorts but located in a remoted area. The rooms are just ordinary for a luxury hotel. All in all, poor value for money.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKEuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
1.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Macau
Grand Hyatt Macau
#6 of 95 in Macau
950 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crown Towers at City of Dreams
1.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The St. Regis Macao, Cotai Central
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
1.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Macau
Hard Rock Hotel Macau
#17 of 95 in Macau
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altira Hotel

Property: Altira Hotel
Address: Avenida de Kwong Tung, Taipa, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#12 Business Hotel in Macau
#18 Casino Hotel in Macau
#20 Spa Hotel in Macau
#32 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Altira Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Altira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altira Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing