We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb luxury hotel experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altira Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Altira Hotel
Ranked #35 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A superb luxury hotel experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My fiancé and I have travelled to Macau several times before, preferring to be away from the larger casino hotels. We stayed one night in a Waterfront View Room which was beautifully designed and very spacious, with a separate lounge style area, ideal for eating in room or relaxing in front of the amazing view of Macau. The deal through Trip Advisor meant this was excellent value for money. The bathroom features a large tub and shower room. The large pool has a panoramic view of Macau. We ate in Ying, the Cantonese restaurant which has great dim sum, and had drinks in 38 lounge (again overlooking the amazing view). At all times the service was excellent. The breakfast is ok, but not the best. It is a short taxi ride from the Cotai Jet ferry terminal at Taipa and just 10 minutes by taxi to the main areas of Macau. I'd highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indigoblue_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    45
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
89
15
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Although the hotel has a casino (with a separate entrance from the hotel), what I loved about it, as a non-gambler staying there as part of a visit with our son and family who live nearby, was that it was small and calm - a world away from all of the tremendous glitz and gawking tourists in the bigger hotels and casinos. Our room was beautifully set up with a separate large seating area and plenty of desk space. A full wall of window overlooked the harbor and mainland Macau. We had a room package that included breakfast in the room, and we found the various egg dishes we chose, as well as the yogurt and fruit and fresh juices, very good. After one day of the "bread" basket, with only very sweet Danish and muffins, we asked for toast and were brought fresh white and whole grain bread slices and a toaster, so no cold toast from the kitchen. Wonderful! We didn't use the gym, which seemed well set up, but swam every day in the infinity pool on the 16th floor, also overlooking the harbor. I would have been happy to spend all day there. (The minimum age is at least 12, or perhaps 16, so it is truly a lovely place for adults to relax.) A great visit, and so convenient to our family that this will probably be a regular port of call when we visit. Only drawback from a tourist point of view is that it is across the harbor from the old town (well worth visiting), but taxis are easily available and not expensive, so that really isn't a problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
104 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I do agree most of the reviews of this hotel in the tripadvisor but never the quality of breakfast. The fruit juice was really freshly squeezed and the tea and coffee was acceptable, but never tried the bread, my friend only managed to bite one corner and then gave up. The congee and dim sum were not up to standard. Why I focus on the quality of breakfast? Simply because I will go to this hotel again and I really want the management make some improvement in controlling the quality of breakfast.
Although there was only a van to take us to the hotel from Taipa, I really appreciated their service, a handtowel and a bottle of water inside the van. The receptionist was exceptionally smart and I was fully impressed. Yes, some hotels did ask me my preference but they simply asked without any action. This hotel said yes then it meant yes. Room near the elevator? Yes, they did not like Sheraton, noted meant nothing.
The site of this hotel is not so good but the view is excellent. It was lucky of me to see the firework play even I was not informed by the hotel staff. I really think no so much people knew the firework. I was alerted by the noise of the firework play. Frankly speaking, a fantastic view.
There are so many free movies I simply could not watch all. Free wifi, free soft drinks and beers. The services of this hotel was extremely supreme.
The swimming pool and the sauna really worth a visit. However, the casino was too bad for us to have too little choice to play the slot machine.

Room Tip: high floor such as 36
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience another level of luxury. Perfect for a couple getaway. Spacious room with amazing bathtub and spectacular view like nowhere else. Definitely get a breakfast in room-delicious food and hey how often do you have breakfast overlooking Macau? Amazing! The service is very attentive and you will feel like a celebrity the way they treat you. We got a limousine pick up and drop off and it was all worth it! Nice new cars (BMW) with wet towels and water provided. We also tried their Kira Japanese buffet and it was the best Japanese buffet I've ever tried! I would recommend this hotel to everyone. And will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask about non smoking floor if you are no smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tetiana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Chic, comfortable , good service, very very good SPA!! The massage was awsome !! The breakfast gorgeous. The room is cosy, practical and elegant design..ask a hight level, the view is fabulous! The only negative point, a bit far from the main interest of Macau. We recommended

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Urantia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This Hotel is just perfect...
The Casino is so so, but the venue is superb.
We went to the Chinese (YIN) Hot pot restaurant and we have been surprised by the package offered by this venue.
Nothing is perfect but here, we have had one of the best Hot Pot in Macau...
The price is there to remind you the all experience.
This hotel offers you one Italian restaurant, Japanese restaurant, this hot pot restaurant and an amaizing roof top bar named 38...
Just go there and enjoy the view and of course the food..
The service was ok and professional with some issues which are easily forgivable...
Do not miss this hotel if you are a food lover...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Altira Macau is located close enough to all the chaos, yet you feel completely at home in its large comfortable rooms and fantastic spa/changing rooms. I seldom felt this much 'at home' in a hotel!

PRO's:
- High comfort rooms
- Gorgeous swimming pool/spa/changing room
- Fantastic view
- Great in-depth interior design
- Very friendly and helpful staff !!

CON's:
- Only breakfast in-room
- Bit strange layout: lobby/reception on the top floor

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Macau
Grand Hyatt Macau
#6 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Crown China Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#7 of 95 in Macau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crown Towers at City of Dreams
2.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
1.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altira Hotel

Property: Altira Hotel
Address: Avenida de Kwong Tung, Taipa, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#12 Business Hotel in Macau
#18 Casino Hotel in Macau
#20 Spa Hotel in Macau
#32 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Altira Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Altira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altira Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing