We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience but some hiccups” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altira Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Altira Hotel
Ranked #32 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Kuching
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent experience but some hiccups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

As what where written by other reviews here, the experience at the hotel was great. Do remember to tell them when you will arrive at macau and they will be there to pick you up. The limo is more of a toyota alphard or similar car which is quite popular in hk/macau. Nothing much to complain about the ride as it is complementary. Some unexpected things happen during the check in. We check in at 3 pm and was told that we have to wait another 1 hour for our rooms to be ready. Was really upset with the staffs. I suppose the check in time was a standard 3pm and since they expect me to arrive at 3, i expect the room to be ready by then. Was told that the hotel was fully book which i slightly doubt that.

after all, waited 30 minutes for everything to be sorted out. one more thing, i read from reviews that the staffs spoke good/fluent english but i'm afraid i have to disagree with it. their english was quite bad and couldn't understand what we were mentioning. from the arrival, you will have to get to the 38th floor and change to another lift to get to your room.

For the room, the room size was great which i highly appreciate. full size window which allows you the whole view over the old macau town area. I was informed that every room have that magnificent view. The bed was not super king size but it was very comfortable. Complementary mini bar includes various soft drinks and beer while wines are chargeable. They provide fruit platter and green tea when you check into the room. The round bath tub sufficiently fits two and they provide aigner toileteries which includes bath salt.

however, in terms of transportation leaving the hotel will be a bit difficult as you need taxi leaving the hotel. even the last shuttle from altira to city of dreams was cancelled. its around 30-40 mop getting to the cotai strip area. breakfast was not the buffet style but its more of fine dining breakfast which is sufficient and the environment was quite pleasant.

The pool was located at level 10 but didn't have the chance to use it. however did tried out their vitality pool, sauna facilities which was really awesome. good privacy. During check out, they gave a baggage tag as a souvenir which is a nice touch. we went to the old macau area after leaving the hotel and they were gladly transport us there. Some hiccups on the original car and they soon found a replacement BMW 7 series car.

A good hotel to stay where you appreciate personalized service, peaceful gateway and really enjoy yourself. Less so for those who intended for sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HK_Ling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    40
    10
    0
    4
See reviews for
29
79
14
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

From its stunning views, competent and attentive staff and its large family suite this hotel cannot be faulted. Relaxing swimming pool and a sauna and steam room that actually worked - many a 5 star hotel weakness. Concierge spoke perfect English.
We even were provided an extra-early room service breakfast free of charge as we were missing our breakfast to get the ferry to HK International Airport.
This is one 5 star hotel that lives up to its billing and more and I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hkxpat1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

it was great good service.The staff were really friendly and the swimming pool was awesome i particularly the music every time you went under the water it was really relaxing. Overall it definitely deserves 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bailey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

For my first stay in Macau I selected the Altira, mainly due to the revues here. Alot of effort has gone into making a stylish contemporary hotel, but it lacks character. The rooms were well appointed, with good views of mainland Macau. The bathroom and large circular bath were great. The bed was comfy. However the lighting system was very complicated and I could not find any way to turn off the bright light over the bed without turning off the master switch for all the lights in the room. I wish hotels would stop making switching on and off a light so complicated. The room did not have any power adaptors, but the receptionist sent one up quickly. Likewise at one point the internet was unavailable, but they managed to get it working again quickly. The breakfast options were very basic to say the least. The location of the hotel is good, as it is located in between the Cotai strip and the mainland part of Macau. The pool is indoor but seems nice enough. Some of the staff in the hotel have absolutely no English, which surprised me for a 5 star hotel in such a major gambling city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I recently visited this place on a romantic getaway weekend with my wife and we were both blown away by the service and our room itself. The staff was incredibly professional and very heplful, plus they all speak very good english. It is a beautiful hotel and our entire experience was great. I would suggest this place to anyone. Especially couples. Plus, they have great package deals!

The room was very modern and well layed out. It is not a huge room by western standards, but by eastern standards I could live in it happily. The bathroom has a shower, dual sinks, and a tub big enought to easily fit 2 adults. My only complaint of the entire stay was the bed was a bit harder than preferred.

Our package deal came with a round trip ride from the ferry terminal and breakfast for 2 in the morning. The food was top notch and one breakfast would have filled us both up. We also tried the chinese restaurant in the hotel (which was good, but no where near as amazing as breakfast).

Overall, this place is great and we will be staying here when we need another quick get away. If Macau were Vegas this hotel would cost 2-3 times the price we paid (so we are glad Macua is not Vegas).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We just come back from a one night stay there. We had a large and quiet room overlooking the bay. The hotel is not exactly in the center, but around one kilometer from the main places (casinos) of the island, and free limousine transportation is offered to and from Macau. The swimming pool, sauna and hammam are great, the breakfast far from being exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneAdvisedTravaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I booked thru the hotel website and stayed for 2 nights. We liaises thru email a lot and they very prompt in replying email.

We're greeted at Macau ferry terminal and the personnel attendant was very professional. He started by asking if I got places I like to visit and they'll try the best to arrange for us. And they did !! They helped to booked a restaurant and arrange the taxi so once we're down to the 1st floor, the taxi is ready in front of the hotel. No need worry if you shop a lot as the bell attendants there is very helpful.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we go straight to 38 floor for check-in and once we reached there, we greeted by the staffs with a genuine smile.

We booked waterfront room and the room is spacious for 3 persons. The view is magnificent. The fridge is filled with beers and can drinks and will replenish everyday. Housekeeping twice per day. So we fill very relaxing and enjoyable everytime we back to hotel and the room had cleaned with a soft music on !!

Breakfast is great and lovely. And the 38 lounge is great also. The band play a good music and the place is very relaxing. We can sit there for 2 hours and the snacks will replenish once finished.

Overall, I'm very impressed with the service and hospitality provided from them. And also 1 thing good about Altira is the entrance to the casino and lobby is separated. Will return to Altira if travel to Macau again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mayshalws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Macau
Grand Hyatt Macau
#7 of 94 in Macau
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
1.1 mi away
Conrad Macao Cotai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
0.9 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Macau
Hard Rock Hotel Macau
#15 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Okura Macau
Hotel Okura Macau
#6 of 94 in Macau
4.5 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altira Hotel

Property: Altira Hotel
Address: Avenida de Kwong Tung, Taipa, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#12 Business Hotel in Macau
#15 Casino Hotel in Macau
#17 Spa Hotel in Macau
#29 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Altira Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Travelocity so you can book your Altira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altira Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing