We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Landmark Macau(Macau)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$204
$173
Conrad
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Royal Macau(Macau)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Lapa Macau(Macau)(Great Value!)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rio Hotel & Casino(Macau)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$254
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16(Macau)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$255
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$219
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
61
63
12
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
63
12
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfisherman's wharfrock hotelfree shuttlebeautiful hotelupon checkstar hotelbalconyfurnituremainlandferryfacilitiestaipaconciergeportuguesegambling
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 141 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Great boutique hotel
- excellent rooms. great interiors, furniture n fittings in the room
- very helpful staff. We were trying to get tickets to the House of Dancing Water but found that it was sold out. The concierge / reception staff went out of their way to help source tickets from some travel agents who had a couple of surplus tickets. Led to brilliant evening for us. Much appreciated.
- great decor and very well maintained hotel
- good spread at breakfast

Only downside - no swimming pool
Biggest upside - No casino in-house. Keeps the hotel nice n quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms - they are larger than the others.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonjour_mon_ami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at The Rocks when visiting relatives in Macau. The whole hotel is immaculate and they could not have been more helpful. The rooms are lovely and overlook the lagoon where the ferries come and go to Hong Kong. There are unbelievable sky lanes taking tourists from the airport, ferry port to the various islands which make up Macau. The length of the bridges linking different areas of Macau have to be seen to be believed.

Breakfast each day was presented very formally, with our own personal waitress each day, who soon found that we could take endless amounts of tea and coffee. In spite of being the only Europeans staying there we were made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. They even made us hot cocoa in the middle of the night on New Years Eve.

Room Tip: We loved the view of the sea and bridges, there was very little noise, but the views were great. Don't miss the Macau tower, especially at night.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teleys_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

A friend recommended The Rocks Hotel to me so decided to give it a try. I had passed by the hotel wandering in Fisherman’s Wharf in a trip to Macau a few years ago. Although the Wharf sounded like a failed white elephant investment, The Rocks Hotel looked quite charming among the tacky facilities nearby. It is Victorian replica, but with details.

We arrived on a really hot day. The ferry pier exit was cramped with hot chick ushers from the big casinos. We failed to locate the shuttle bus stop of The Rocks Hotel so ended up taking a taxi. The driver frowned on us as the hotel was quite near the pier, though one won’t venture to walk in the scorching sun. He even refused to hand over the coin changes apart from the bills, saying it’s the right amount already.

Anyway we checked in to a nice double bed room. The Rocks Hotel boasts a much more waterfront location than the more posh hotels. The balcony opened to a panoramic sea and bridge view. Since the double room is designed for couples, the bathtub in the washroom faces a glass window behind which the louver can be slid open for intimacy, or left closed for privacy. That’s real thoughtful. The décor is quite girlish actually, but it’s much more tasteful than the bigger hotels with casinos where the exotically designed windows are fake, with spot lights on but not usable. The verandahs and window frames at The Rocks exude a British ambiance. It’s even more beautiful when the lightings are on at night.

However, the bed quilt was way too thick to be used in such hot weather. I tossed around in bed all night long since it’s too hot. Tried to turn up the air-conditioning but it didn’t help much. Hope they can pay attention to that so that it’s more eco-friendly. The breakfast is no good. The croissant was cold and the omelet tasted bland. The restaurant, though, is nicely decorated with alfresco seating and a fountain facing the sea.

The staff, though with Mainland accent to cater for quite a number of Mainland guests, is friendly and helpful. They helped us to phone a remote eatery to find out which bus stop to get off, and also exchange full coins for us to take the bus.

Though we did take the shuttle to the jet foil, we only managed to find the shuttle sign at the pier as a hotel logo among a few small casinos of the same Group on a small board hidden among the big guys. Hope they can improve the signage in future. All in all, The Rocks Hotel is reasonably priced and has its own charm to stand among the competition.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluenanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Rocks Hotel in Macau, China. I stayed there for one night only from Sunday the 20th to Monday the 21st August 2011. The staff are so, so friendly (especially Mindy) on arrival. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable to boot. You have a great view of Macau and it's surroundings. If i where ever to go back to Macau i would want to stay at this hotel due to my experience while staying there. My partner and i were fifteen minutes late checking out of our room (checkout time 12:00pm) and nothing, not a word was said to us, we didn't even get a knock on the door to hurry us along. Fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: I would think all the rooms are great going my experience, but maybe ask for the top floor and you might get a slightly better view.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrantMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Rocks was a great hotel. Rooms were great with character and the hotel small compared to the others which is nice. Its close to ferry but good access to the heart of macau. Not sure I would go back to macau but if I did I would stay here. Quality.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews