We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staffs are rude!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Emperor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Emperor Hotel
Ranked #30 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staffs are rude!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Location is great!! The room was nice; decent size but no bathtub. I don't think they changed the sheets after my first night staying there. The person who checked us in was very helpful and very instructional; however, the rest of the other staffs were the rudest ppl I ever seen in the service industry:
I was sitting in the lobby waiting for my sister, i saw the guy next to me had one of his leg rested on the arm rest of the seat. As i was thinking this is very inappropriate, i saw a manager walked toward him. I immediately thought if i was the manager, i would probably said something like this excuse me sir, can you please put your leg back down for the comfort of the surrounding hotel guests. To my surprise, the manager came and asked him with a very impolite tone "What are you doing"( this is exactly what he said in chinese). As a witness of this incident, I was speechless after I heard what the manager had said.

For some reason, I feel like every move I made in the lobby were being monitored by the managers who were just standing there.
The staffs were just generally rude
when I asked them questions; is like they don't want me to be there. They do not have any smiles at all whatsoever; hard to approach them and ask them question.

We were told by their bus driver to get off at a wrong destination after we had ask him twice if this is the right place to get off. Ended up, we had to ride another hotel bus to get to our destination. Luckily the staffs from the other hotel were nice enough to let us get on or out we would probably have to pay 160MOP to get on a taxi to get to our destination.

Overall hotel itself is good but they really need to retrain the staffs on how to talk and treat their customers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catwoman3713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandEmperor, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Emperor Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
In respond to the comment posted on December 29, 2012 regarding Grand Emperor Hotel, we have the following findings:
1. Guest believes that his bed sheets were not changed after his first night’s stay;
Action: Being a green hotel member of Macau Environmental Protection Bureau, a tentcard is placed on top of the bed for the guest to advise Housekeeping in changing the bed sheet as necessary is entirely up to the guest desire.

2. Guest stated that one of our managers stationing at the lobby was rude and talked inappropriately while trying to advise a guest to sit in a proper position;
Action: From the review of our CCTV, hotel staff was simply requesting the guest to properly sit in the public. In fact the request was directed to the complainant in the first place.

3. Our shuttle bus driver had informed guest to get off at a wrong stop after he had asked the driver twice for confirmation.
Action: a) We don’t have the information exactly what happened including the place, day & time.
b) Even though we have checked with the staff that we have no record to handle and no similar incident had occurred.

In this regard, on January 4, 2013, we have sent a private email to the guest who commented in order to obtain more details of the issue for further comprehensive investigation until now.

We remain.

Best Regards,
Vincent Yeung
Executive Assistant Manager - Guest Service Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    158
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
91
111
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed on the 19th floor in a executive room, very nice, confortable bed, with luxury amenities, and always a nice touch of fresh fruit or freshly baked biscuits before bedtime.
Wherever we walked throughout the hotel we faced confort, cleanliness, and not at all cigarette smell.
We also enjoyed our breakfast with great choices of Western and Asian food.
Central located, close to the main attractions.
Overall we were very satisfied and pleased with our stay.
We give our thanks to the great team of employess of this hotel.
We highly recommended this hotel, and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 19th floor excecutive room and we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mysave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel was absolutely fabulously. First impression and lasting empression, staff very helpful. Modern decor from entrance to rooms. Spacious clean and very modern outlook. Huge breakfasts from traditional to western influences. Tariffs were value for money as well.

Room Tip: I didn't use the swimming pool or spa, so no comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaC838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

My work associate and I made a spur of the moment trip to Macau after a long and tedious work project in Hong Kong. We scanned the tripadvisor reviews and based our choice tor this hotel soley upon the tripadvisor reviews made this a good choice. It didn't hurt that the hotel is centrally located, or the fact that we were able to score a bargain rate at the last minute. We were even more enthused when we upgrade to an Executive level room at checkin, and actually stepped foot inside the room. We had only been hoping for a clean room with somewhat comfortable beds, but to our surprise it was a large room that was spotlessly clean, had a good view, and was stocked with features and amenities that bordered on luxurious, even approaching five star quality. The room was also free from the lingering stench of cigarette smoke that is commonplace in Asia's "nonsmoking" hotel accomodations. The hotel's casino is spread out on several floors, with segregated space for slots, table games and high stake, big roller lounges, although we spent most of our time at other nearby casinos that were within walking distance. Food at the onsite restaurants is good, and there are other restaurants off site that are easily within walking distance. Overall, I give this hotel high marks, and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. I hope to stay again here soon wihen I return to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for an Executive room located on the hotel's upper floors 19th-23rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donbassero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Our booking via travel agent was upgraded from deluxe to executive room on level 19. Room size was smaller than deluxe on nonsmoking level 17 but we got a bath whereas larger room had no bath. If u want nonsmoking you hv to tell them at check in. Renovations going on at level 14 but noise at level 19 bearable. Overall room facilities are tops. My husband fell sick within a few hours of check in. The guest services staff from the bellhop to manager provided excellent assistance in organising ambulance through to picking us up for the return trip back to hospital and buying medication or us. Nothing was too much trouble. A big thank you to everyone involved. Buffet breakfast was very good. Great hotel. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If u strictly want nonsmoking, request at checkin. If you are not fussed about a bath go for deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xotica123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is the nice !!!! Location is perfect . Rooms are just beautiful . Only problem is they smell of cigarette . And not very practical for families as its a casino and hasn't a pool .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbeeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Had a few nights here late last year. We were upgraded to the executive suites. Wow! Very nice thank you very much! Made to feel very welcome and really looked after, even invited to partake of the special members area for free drinks and canapés each night. Breakfast spread was wonderful, with good choices of Asian as well as Western if you are not adventurous. I went with the local dishes and thoroughly enjoyed them. Great place to stay not too far from all the sights and wonderful casino!

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sintra
Hotel Sintra
#32 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#21 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Landmark Macau
The Landmark Macau
#23 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#57 of 94 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Emperor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Emperor Hotel

Property: Grand Emperor Hotel
Address: No.288 Avenida Comercial De Macau, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Casino Hotel in Macau
#17 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#17 Spa Hotel in Macau
#18 Family Hotel in Macau
#28 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Emperor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Grand Emperor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Emperor Macau
Hotel Grand Emperor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing