We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“non english speaking hotel staff”
Review of Hotel Taipa Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Taipa Square
Ranked #50 of 95 Hotels in Macau
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“non english speaking hotel staff”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

casinos are just ok...breakfast was good,but most of the hotel workers dont speak english. we even encountered one hotel staff who ignored us when we inquired about something. room was just ok but the beddings were obviously old.
even the hotel shuttle driver who brought us to the ferry terminal to HK cant speak english luckily i speak a little mandarin but my partner does not so she was so upset when we got lost at the HK ferry terminal cos our agent was 30 mins late to pick us up. next time we will just choose a hotel in macau central downtown.

Room Tip: choose rooms with good nightime view of the extravagant lights outside. and morning view of the mac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 608jinggoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    148
    94
    18
    8
See reviews for
41
38
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms better, softer beds than other local hotels. No views from my room.
Lobby inconveniently located at Top Floor!
Went during Macao Grand Prix so was severely overcharged. More than double normal rates. Trouble is I didn't go there for the race, nor for the casinos. So getting price gouged made it worse. Then to top it all off since I used Hotels.com I felt ripped off by them as well when I wanted to go home a day earlier but was told that I would not get a refund.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel has a shuttle, that I was not able to find when I arrived by ferry. The room was quite large, with a spaceous bathroom. There was free wifi, which I didn't expect after reading other reviews. it was clean. The location is not the best one, but it's still easy to reach. What was attractive was the price. But it's hard to say that it's 4 start quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SorinBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at the Taipa Square on the 5th of December 12. Was shocked that there is no wi-fi in the hotel at all. If you have to use the internet you have to go up to the reception area where one system has been connected to the net. Certainly a huge drawback for the netizen.
Room was spacious. Provided with tea, coffee and sugar sachets but no creamers. Asked housekeeping and was told they dont provide creamer. Located in the Taipa area and close to the Venetian. Toilet was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psankhla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel for MACAU. The hotel is not bad, its average and good for budget. But when you are travelling to Macau for holiday this is not just the place.
1. Its not in the downtown.
2. The rooms are very crampy.
3. Services are not good.
4. Casino is horrible.
5. Very less choice of cuisines
6. The shuttles they use are awful.

Again, everything is average, but when you compare with the other places in macau available at same price this hotel loses value.

Thanks

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vipulj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Location was out of bound (besides a housing estate), lobby was on the 21st floor (to make way for 3 storey of Casino on the ground), check in was good, lobby decoration is cosy, room is normal size but quite sizeable bathroom (with tub) and damn hard beds. TV is box type and just Chinese and Portugal channels plus a Fashion TV channel. No wifi in room and lobby but only on the 3rd floor (restaurant). Internet is free (plug in) and no internet computers for guest use. Lift is huge and fast (6 lifts) and room is quiet plus with a view of the race course (if you are lucky). The reason i am posting for this hotel is the restaurant we frequented during our stay. The Buffet Lunch and Dinner are AWESOME... salmon, roast pork&beef, lamb cutlet, steam fish, prawns, ice cream and everything Lisboa Buffet provides in their buffet spread is noticeable here (minus the price). There are easily 50 over dishes with cheese cakes and fruit spread along. Go for the buffet if you stay in or around the corner

Room Tip: Walk for 15 minutes to a stretch of heritage building selling all kinds of local delicacies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The hotel has a reasonable location but the staff needs to be more service centric. Rooms are small but the mattress is rock hard and no English tv channels. Walls are paper thin as one can hear the loud conversations in the hallways!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gunjan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.1 mi away
Grandview Hotel
Grandview Hotel
#66 of 95 in Macau
286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#51 of 95 in Macau
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regency Art Hotel
Regency Art Hotel
#54 of 95 in Macau
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
2.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#28 of 95 in Macau
1,318 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#39 of 95 in Macau
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taipa Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taipa Square

Property: Hotel Taipa Square
Address: Rua de Chaves, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Taipa Square 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Taipa Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taipa Square Hotel
Taipa Square Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing