We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, decent value, plus an extra bonus”
Review of Guia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guia Hotel
Ranked #64 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Didnt know what to expect with this hotel, it seemed to have the best TripAdvisor rating/price ratio, but I have been disappointed before. I booked one night (a Saturday) so that I could change if needed but I was quite pleased with it. Best of all, when I booked a second night (a Sunday) I found that the price dropped by about half.

The location is not bad and pretty convenient, you can take a nice 10~15 minute walk (down hill) to the casinos in the city (most notably Wynn, MGM, etc). Otherwise, the hotel offers a free shuttle to the Macau Ferry terminal where you can get free shuttles to any of the casinos (such as if you want to go to the Cotai strip) from there.

The room was very clean, although some might complain that it is a bit too small. As an extra bonus (for some, at least...) there is a strip club in the basement of the hotel... not a bad surprise, although I have to give the club fewer stars than the hotel gets...

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_hermit_crab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 207 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

Nice hotel. Clean and cosy. But a bit quiet at night. Can walk to town day time night better take a cab.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank kcie2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

it's our first Macau trip and we're able to booked at this Hotel thru Agoda. we gave us a twin bedroom as what we've requested, the room was well cleaned with good facilities. near to some famous casinos just like Wynn, MGM Grand and Grand Lisboa. they are also offering a free shuttle service going to the terminal/port (to Hongkong). Will surely comeback at this Hotel for my next Macau trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Its excellent value. If you are willing to ignore the pick up joint on the ground floor and the card announcing availability of adult channels in the room. Walking in to the room with kids and finding that card on the desk could be tricky. No problem for the solo traveler though. The price on Agoda was just right, the hotel is super clean, good quality soap / shampoo / moisturizer in the bathroom. Very quiet location. Lisboa / MGM, and Wynn are within walking distance or you can avail of the free drop facilty to these casinos from the hotel. A 7-eleven nearby takes care of daily needs. A great no doubt.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dilli_desi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Recently refurbished, friendly staff and clean. Most rooms have twin singles, some have balconies with a view. Book through agoda.com for low rates. As the name 'playmates club/lounge' suggests the lounge bar downstairs is a strip joint.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank anait__17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Malaysian: 9 person per trip : "Very Unhappy"
Date: 10 September 2010
We booked this hotel through a Travel Agencies for stay one night near the city. Booked for deluxe triple room but come out with small & not comfortable. Service is also bad especialy Miss Ong which promise to send us back to hotel but when we call on 10.20pm, then she said no more transport for send us back, ask us to came back ourself with the rainning day and together with 4 kids.

If that day is not a rainning day, we would'n so sad with their services, we can go back with taxi ourself. But for the rainning day, taxi also we can't get and not point we go and find help from another Hotel (Holiday Inn). That hotel workers help us to call a taxi then only we can go back to GUIA (bad services hotel at MACAU)

Place for this hotel also taxi can't find and don't know the name.

Not Comfortable for leisure holiday.

For backpacking, this hotel is very expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank layteng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Stayed for 1 night and would have move out sooner if longer stayed in Macau. Was charged MOP948. Its what one can expect fr an old hotel. Do agree that location is good n near to the heart of Macau, but that just about it.
Below average service in all areas. Not recommended to stay now, as hotel in under renovation. No notice will be given to you, and works is done on Sunday, so wake up before 9am.
For the above said price, I could have gotten a better deal, only if have booked earlier.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoloTraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
2.8 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#50 of 94 in Macau
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Regency Art Hotel
Regency Art Hotel
#52 of 94 in Macau
428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Metropole Hotel Macau
Metropole Hotel Macau
#44 of 94 in Macau
569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#60 of 94 in Macau
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guia Hotel

Address: Estrada do Engenheiro Trigo No. 1-5, Macau, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $107 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Fastbooking so you can book your Guia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guia Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing