We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good things come in small packages”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Guia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guia Hotel
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good things come in small packages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Guia hotel was a pleasant surprise. While the rooms were small, they were super clean with tasteful decor. Our room had a nice view and the service was great. While it seemed that the hotel was away from the happening places, we soon realised that it was very conveniently located for sightseeing in the historical parts of Macau. Guia Fort and the Lighthouse were just a couple of minutes walking and other attractions were a slightly longer walk.
If you enjoy long walks like we do, you could even walk up to the hustle and bustle of the casino scene in Macau. If not, taxis are easily available at all hours.
We wanted to spend a quiet evening, and headed to the terrage garden for a lovely view of the city on one side and the lighthouse on the other and if you are in the mood of something more happening, head to the pub in the hotel which seemed pretty full through the night.
Guia hotel was a pleasant surprise and unless your only reason to visit Macau is the casino's it is great for a couple or small family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raja_Dutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    97
    58
    10
    5
See reviews for
21
34
26
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

this hotel was really clean and tidy but the location was not that good as u had to walk a bit to reach the city centre. we booked it bcoz v were reaching macau in d night and just had to sleep as v had bookd venetian for 2 days. so for the price it was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicky159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
415 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Located on a steep & narrow two-lane road with no loading zone in front of the building. Built well away from the casinos and shops, but a lovely park after a stiff climb to the top of the hill. The 'complimentary shuttle' is only available at certain times and for specific reasons - we ended up taking taxis to get around. Pleasant reception, lovely lobby & interior, two see-through elevators, spacious rooms & bathrooms, well furnished but hard beds, good food and service in the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location of the hotel is near the lighthouse. A great overview of the city, day and night. 2 kms walk to the city. transportation is a little difficult. you have to take taxi all the time.. maybe because i can't read the sign on the bus. Their room was so clean and spacious. Very friendly and accommodating hotel staffs. The food was also good although not that cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Guia Hotel in August 2013, we got a business suite paid 517,94 euro.
When we arrived they asked us to pay the whole amount in advance (no credit card for the deposit like every hotel around the world!), once we arrived into the room it was very old and uncomfortable, the bathroom was supersmall and cheap and there wasn't any "welcome gift". We tried to order something through the room service but the restaurant was "too busy" to fulfill our order. Then we found three bugs on the blanket!!!
Seriously, this was the worst hotel ever!
We complained about everything at the reception and they changed our room, they let us order our lunch "apologizing" ONLY with a 50% discount.
At the end we wanted to focus on our work to forget about the experience but the Pc was a '90s device with no internet!
Really, don't even take into consideration a stay at Guia, you would regret that!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valebackstage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Macau hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is at the top of a steep hill, not a long walk but steep so good on the way out, bad on the way back. The front desk staff we not the most friendly people I have come across. The rooms however are fine, small but nicely presented. The balcony was a surprise and was welcome with semi good views across Macau.The downside to the experience is when we got checked out they charged us for the free in room coffee. Never in my experience have I been charged for the coffee/tea they leave in your room, so just been warned that if you do use the 'free' coffee/tea it may not be free. Although not a massive cost it did leave a bitter taste (a bit like the coffee)!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony on the upper floors overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelbuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

If yo dont mind walking up the slope and at a cheaper price then the major hotel , this is for you. We arrived in Macau and took a cab to the hotel ( Note , Get the hotel chinese name in the website and show it to the driver ) arrived there and wasn't expecting much but I must say that this is quite a cosy hotel and to my likes , the room is nice and refurished but there was too much mirrors. The toilets were nice too , there also a bath tub. The front desk is able to converse well enough for me . There is a shuttle service to and macau ferry terminal which departs every hourly but do check with the staff. Tickets for the ferry to hong kong can also be bought thru the front desk and they will arrange it. . Walking around the places to lisboa , wynn was nearby. The rest , you could use the shuttle service at the ferry terminal to all major hotels / casinos. On the whole I will be back should I ever come back to macau

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunderrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.8 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#37 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#40 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#56 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#51 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Metropole Hotel Macau
Metropole Hotel Macau
#44 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#24 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guia Hotel

Property: Guia Hotel
Address: Estrada do Engenheiro Trigo No. 1-5, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Guia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guia Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing