We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Hotel to Relax in”
Review of Pousada de Mong-Ha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pousada de Mong-Ha
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
264 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Welcome Hotel to Relax in”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Pousada is a Portuguese word signifying welcome and relaxation, says their brochure. The training hotel of the Institue for Tourism Studies truly lives upto its name. Architecturally, built in Portuguese style, it is relatively small in size but very cheerful looking from outside. Lobby is pretty small too.But the rooms are gorgeous- they have used the space so efficently. All the 5-star comforts are there. The staff of mostly 4th year students, is very polite and humble. There are a few minor slip-ups here and there but nothing that you wont wanna excuse. Wi-Fi is great-bathroom toiletries etc are cute. Everything is provided but what takes the cake is the bed. it's not king size but Maharaja size-extremely comfortable. Breakfast is sumptuous with excellent spread. Pretty central location but dont think of walking back to the hotel as the last stretch gets very steep . View from my room was quite green and pleasant. Prices are reasonable and it is away from the maddening casinos. The Macau Ferry is around HK$30 away only. Its best to spend at least 2-3 days here to rejuvenate yourself and de-stress. A great example for other institutes like this in other countries (though the one in Hong Kong-T College, is equally good if not better-and the sea view there is fabulous).

Room Tip: Pick up the room with a view of the greenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wineguyindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    91
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
162
54
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

You wouldn't know this beautiful Portuguese style hotel is staffed by trainees who are as professional (if not more so) than their already qualified peers in the industry. All the staff I encountered here were very professional, warm, friendly and helpful. The room I stayed in was really cosy and I felt completely at home and relaxed there. The hotel's restaurant is also extremely well run, the service and food both top notch. And all this for a very reasonable price. If I could give it a deluxe six star rating I would.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaJim73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have stayed in this place 3 different times the past few years. I am not a gambler so I try to stay away from the casinos. I left Macau more than 40 years ago when it was a small fishing village and a firework manufacturing town with lots of places only Portuguese could enter. The hotel is located in one of those areas. The breakfast itself is a 4-star treat for me. The room is decorated with old-looking Chinese furniture. There is a small separated area that you can use the computer and internet. The shower head gives you an all-around massage. One thing you need to take into consideration is the transportation. It is located in a quiet part of town and it is not easy to get a taxi during rush hours even if you ask the receptionist to call one for you. And that is the reason I can not give it 5 star rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nocorptax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is an overdue review. We decided to stay at Pousada de Mong-Ha after checking into positive review at tripadvisor. Others are recommending us to hotels in the Cotai strip, but we wanted to be different. Apparently, it was more than paid-off risk. It was worth of all cents we spent here. Kudos to the staff hospitality, room cleanliness and facility.

The location is also very strategic with buses serving to city center, major tourism object as well as the ferry terminal (although it is though to understand bus service in Macau, there is a computer in the room that you can do research). We will definitely looking into staying back in you hotel on our return. Thank you, Pousada de Mong-Ha.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahara212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Superb service and beautiful interior with a bed-and-breakfast feel – highly recommended for couples, honeymooning or otherwise.

Price-wise, it's one of the more affordable hotels in Macau at SGD100 per night.

It's located away from the glitz and glitter of the city area so you don't have to hustle with the casino crowds – but it's a short 10-minute taxi ride away if you yearn for the night lights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laremylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and were overwhelmed with the services and facilities of this hotel. Definitely worth the 1st place on TA. We booked our rooms 3 months in advance and were glad that we also managed to make reservations for the Macanese/Portuguese buffet dinner at IFT Educational Restaurant on Friday night. The dinner was superb! There wasn't an unnecessarily great variety but EVERYTHING tasted delicious! Good ambience with live music performance.
The rooms were well equipped, there was also an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. The bed and blanket were comfortable, bathroom was clean and spacious. I loved the oriental feeling of the furniture. One interesting feature of the bathroom was the message-type shower, which cleared away all the tiredness after a day's sight-seeing.
Breakfast was simple and delicious. I really loved the porridge, toast and fried noodles an omelette. We were glad that we didn't oversleep and miss it.
The surroundings of the hotel is quiet and serene. In the mornings, there were elderly people walking up the hill to exercise at the hill top, where we could see a good view of the old and new buildings of Macau.
The staffs at this hotel were very helpful and informative. As this was our 1st time traveling free and easy in Macau, we had many questions about the locations of our destinations. They were very patient in explaining all our enquiries. We could feel their eagerness trying to tell us more about this place and recommendations on where we should visit to know more about Macau eg. UNESCO heritage sites.
This place has enriched my holiday, absolutely!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AstASiszz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I got to know this hotel from Trip Advisor. It was an excellent place, you will never regret if you be stayed there. I pre-booked this hotel half year ago as it has limited no. of rooms. I had a deluxe room with 1 king size bed. The rate was reasonable, it just cost about Rm300 per night with breakfast. The room was big but not huge. The breakfast was delicious, the choice was enough to fill your stomach. My daughter liked it very much. The staff were students but they were well trained.
It located at the hill. From hotel you can walk up to the park and you walk down to main road, there were many choice of public transport which was cheap & convenience. At the main road, there were hypermarket, foor stall etc. I will come back again Pousada de Mong-Ha.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chee Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 95 in Macau
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#39 of 95 in Macau
651 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Macao Cotai Central
1.2 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Mong-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Mong-Ha

Property: Pousada de Mong-Ha
Address: Colina de Mong-Ha, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#5 Family Hotel in Macau
#13 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada is uniquely designed with a blend of European and Oriental features. The lobby and corridors are terracotta-tiled and lead to guest rooms through open-air courtyards decorated with hand-painted Portuguese tiles and lovely fountains. The use of Eastern style partitions in the guest rooms, coupled with Western style furniture and fittings create an exotic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada De Mong-Ha Hotel Macau
Pousada De Mong Ha Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing