We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Pousada de Mong-Ha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pousada de Mong-Ha
Ranked #18 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

It's a hidden gem in Macau. Love this hotel on the hill! It's a lovely hotel with old-world charm and modern facilities. Portugese-chinese deco, friendly staffs, good service and spacious & comfy room had made my last Macau trip remarkable.

Once you stepped into the receiption area, you'll be greeted by passionate staffs and you may help yourself with some teas while checking-in. As some of the staffs are students, please be patience if they did something wrong as they're still in the process of learning.

The room is spacious and it comes with a huge bathroom! The bed and pillows are fluffy and comfy, you may choose different types of pillows to suit your need too. The room also comes with a desktop pc with internet, which i think it's good for those travellers who always wanna get connected.

The location is slightly away from the city center, which it's about 10 mins ride from Senado Square/Ferry Terminal, and it's away from casinos! A few tourist attractions are around the area such as one of the oldest Kuan-Im Temple.

Head down to Rotunda de Carlos da Maia to get a taste of local's life. There's a market and many southeast asian restaurants (esp Burmese restaurant). Tuck into some local & southeast asian foods.

The hotel price includes continental breakfast too. It offered quite a few selections and they taste good.

Overall, I had a wonderful stay in this hotel.

This hotel is suitable for all travellers, esp budget traveller!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aikawayen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    90
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
161
54
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

For those planning to visit Macau and want an affordable hotel outside of the casino district, this is good choice. It is a 'teaching hotel' so you have to be prepared for that, but we found the staff good natured and helpful. This could be described as a boutique hotel and it's quite attractive, but one catch is that it is not too easy to reach, other than by taxi. We did take a public bus at one point, but taxis would be the main option for most visitors (although there is a shuttle to take you back to the pier or airport).

Be sure to climb the little hill up the street from the hotel for a good view of the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading TripAdvisor, and my title says it all. From arrival till our departure (we had only one night in Macau, but will return for a longer stay in May), the hotel charmed us and the staff won our hearts with their friendliness and eagerness to please. We had a suite (#110), which had a sitting room with a computer and a spacious bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. Because the weather was nice, we enjoyed the the small balconies (one had two chairs). The breakfast had a variety of offerings and the waiters were helpful. We went for pleasant walks around the nearby Mong-Ha Fort area.

The hotel is only $33 by taxi from the ferry terminal and buses and taxis are plentiful.

My suggestion to the management is: don't change anything!

Room Tip: "Book early"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank georgebraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The service is excellent. Cannot believe they are only trainees yet they excel than the real other hotel staff. Location wise it's not on the tourist belt but Macau is small and taxis are plenty. Did not manage to eat at the hotel's restaurant which I regretted.

Will I back? For sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arieflaksono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Best Value hotel with heartfelt staffs, they are just students but still behave very professional, even the shuttle bus driver is very polite(not a student), he will annouce each of the stopping location in bilingual and greet us. The breakfast buffet is unbeatable, quick refills, lots of choices and moreover its provided for free if you are one of their in-house guest.

Room Tip: I prefer higher floors, seems to be brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcmagmcmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here on Christmas Eve, so the room rate was higher than usual. We had two deluxe rooms. For the same price, we had much nicer rooms in Shanghai, Shenzhen, and Hong Kong on the same trip. The Posada is an older building, the heat did not work well, and the room was in a noisy location. So I was disappointed, because I had expected a lot based on the superlative Tripadvisor reviews. The location is not near any of the tourist sights, so you must take a taxi everywhere. So it is not very convenient, either. The complimentary breakfast is pretty good.

The best thing is the service. The students who are paid to work here are very professional. They attend four years of college in the hospitality field. The girl at the front desk worked very hard to get us a reservation for a Christmas Eve buffet at one of the big casinos on short notice. We ended up at the MGM Grand and really enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This place is simply amazing. What a value! The service was exceptional.

Make sure to make a reservation for the school's restaurant early - my one disappointing was that we were not able to eat there. The hotel's breakfast buffet was great though, so I don't doubt that the restaurant is amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohmystars28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#37 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
1.2 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Mong-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Mong-Ha

Property: Pousada de Mong-Ha
Address: Colina de Mong-Ha, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#5 Family Hotel in Macau
#13 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada is uniquely designed with a blend of European and Oriental features. The lobby and corridors are terracotta-tiled and lead to guest rooms through open-air courtyards decorated with hand-painted Portuguese tiles and lovely fountains. The use of Eastern style partitions in the guest rooms, coupled with Western style furniture and fittings create an exotic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada De Mong-Ha Hotel Macau
Pousada De Mong Ha Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing