We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pousada de Mong-Ha

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pousada de Mong-Ha
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
Noosaville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have spent the past week here in Macau staying at this special and unique property. It is in a quiet and peaceful area on a hill surrounded by parkland (great for nature walks), away from the hustle and bustle of the streets. Everything here is first class. Well-appointed, comfortable, tastefully furnished and spacious rooms; a bathroom with a jacuzzi shower and a 'study' with a personal computer with internet access. The service was sensational. The students are very professional and attended to my every question with enthusiasm and efficiency. They take the care to remember your name and follow-up on any enquiries. They speak very good English (not common in Macau), and it was always a joy to see their friendly smiles. The hotel is not in the casino district (thank goodness) but there is easy access to the ferry terminal (and the free casino shuttles). The hotel provides free shuttles to three places of interest in Macau (two in the morning, one in the evening), and it is only a twenty minute walk to the ferry terminal anyway. (a bit harder coming back because of the hill, but it is really not too bad). The breakfast is gourmet standard with a wide variety of foods, in a beautiful, Portuguese colonial style breakfast room. There are lots of shops and restaurants withing a ten minute radius, including a great vegetarian one. For those who appreciate the finer things in life (at a budget price) and an authentic experience rather than a generic one, this is definitely the place to be. I also highly recommend the affliliated IFT restaurant next door (especially the dessert buffet!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoosaCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    89
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
159
53
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Chose the hotel because of the rave reviews, and we were not disappointed.

For the price that we paid, we got so much more that what we had expected. We got a deluxe room with an extra bed, and found that the room was huge. There was a mini-foyer of sorts, a nice bathroom and a room with the 3 beds. From the room, we had a great view of the garden.

The breakfast that came with the room was also not bad at all. Wasn't even expecting breakfast.

But most importantly, the service. The attentiveness of the student-staff was top notch. We felt genuinely taken cared for. They offered to call cabs, make reservations to restaurants and shows, carry our bags and so much more.

The location is probably the only thing going against this place, if you're the type who wants to be in the middle of things. See, the property is within the city center, but there's an uphill 5-minute climb, if you want to walk. BUT! With the property and the service we got, ignore the uphill bit, and make your reservations here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hammock20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

This little place, located up on a hill and away from the glitzy casino areas, is a real gem. It is less expensive than most hotels, yet offers much more. The rooms are large, clean, and well appointed; each one even has a desktop computer. The buffet breakfast offers an adequate variety of hot and cold items; in addition, one can order eggs cooked in various ways.

The real plus here is the staff --- students from the adjacent Institute for Tourism Studies. They go out of their way to make you feel at home and to help you in every way possible. And they do so cheerfully and efficiently.

One recommendation: Be sure to eat at the Institute's Educational Restaurant, located just a bit farther up the hill. You'll need a reservation, which the folks at the front desk will make for you. The Friday buffet dinner seems to be particularly popular.

And a warning: If you need a taxi, be sure to allow enough time. The place is located a little out of the way, and fewer cabs are available than one might expect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
203 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you want to stay in an excellent and quiet location within easy reach of the centre. then this is the place.(The hotel also provide a free shuttle bus to various sites as well).
The rooms are clean and spacious . The PC in the room was an added bonus.
Breakfast buffet has a good choice of fresh and cooked food.
All the staff were helpful and courteous.
It may not be near to the Casinos but for real travellers who have come to see Macau - who cares!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Minkymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stay this hotel for 1 night for my mom and my birthday. The boys and girls are very nice, and the breakfast buffet is great! And give us a photo when we leaved. I will stay again when I visit Macau next time!

Room Tip: Take No.5 bus to Mong-Ha from the Customs Gate, and then you can walk to the hotel in 5 mints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicewendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a brilliant experience to be able to stay here. The staff work so hard at everything they do, they love to talk to you and practice people skills and language skills. The hotel and rooms are clean and comfortable, you get breakfast included, and free WIFI. We have been away on a six week tour of Hong Kong, Macau and New Zealand and this was by far the best value for money hotel we stayed in. If you want great food try the attached restaurant, the waiting staff and chefs are all under training but the food and service we had was excellent and could not be faulted. The decor puts most fancy top dollar places to shame and its great value.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tucks60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural West Aussie
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We (married couple, 50+yrs) stayed here as part of a 2d/1n tour of Macau we planned for ourselves, and were totally blown away. A quick trip by cab from the Ferry Terminal and we were welcomed in by the reception staff, who offered us cold juice and water to quench our thirst on the warm day as we checked in. The receptionist insisted on carrying our luggage to the room, which was more a suite with an entry foyer with a desk and computer, a huge bedroom overlooking the front garden and a large bathroom with one of the fanciest showers we have encountered! All this and buffet breakfast for the amazingly low price of AUD85.

Being out of the casino strip was a plus for us, as we had no interest in the casinos and night clubs, and enjoyed the peace and quiet offered by the Pousada de Mong-Ha upon its hill overlooking the town. Tiny courtyards within the building with tinkling fountains, and manicured gardens all around completed the peacefulness of this hotel.

Breakfast in the morning was a wide-ranging buffet with a selection of cereals, fruits, breads and pastries, home made jams, bacon (GREAT bacon, only wish we could have brought some home :-) ), sausages, eggs to order, French toast, coffee, tea and other goodies. They also serve morning and afternoon tea and light lunches but we weren't in for these.

Dinner was a five-minute walk up the hill to their attached restaurant. Great food at reasonable prices- high for Macau no doubt but we had three courses and drinks for AUD88.

Access to and from town was relatively easy as a bus stop was a five-minute walk down the hill in one direction, or a different bus route a little further in another direction. Only one hiccup; when we wanted to leave to go to the Ferry Terminal at the end of our stay (the staff kindly stored our luggage for us while we went sightseeing for the day) the staff tried several times to call a taxi for us but none would respond as apparently the drivers don't like to go up the hill at evening peak hour. Our first taxi driver on the morning before was fine with the fare but later that day at peak hour when we caught another taxi from the main part of town the driver was somewhat cranky- we put it down to being stuck in peak hour traffic- and his mood didn't improve despite the fare ending up half again our first fare due to all the delay. We felt so sorry for the staff as they were beside themselves with embarrassment but it was not their fault and they had tried everything except physically kidnapping a taxi :-) At the bottom of the hill we found a passing taxi fairly quickly and all was well.
Would we stay here again? In a heartbeat! If they had similar hotels in other cities we would definitely look at staying there as it was so luxe and so affordable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YorkFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#25 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#37 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
5.1 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Sun Sun Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Mong-Ha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Mong-Ha

Property: Pousada de Mong-Ha
Address: Colina de Mong-Ha, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Macau
#5 Family Hotel in Macau
#13 Business Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada is uniquely designed with a blend of European and Oriental features. The lobby and corridors are terracotta-tiled and lead to guest rooms through open-air courtyards decorated with hand-painted Portuguese tiles and lovely fountains. The use of Eastern style partitions in the guest rooms, coupled with Western style furniture and fittings create an exotic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada De Mong-Ha Hotel Macau
Pousada De Mong Ha Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing