We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good free museum, cheap MOP15 wine tasting! A nice addition to Macau's many nice attractions”
Review of Wine Museum

Wine Museum
Ranked #53 of 243 things to do in Macau
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,579 reviews
3,607 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11,982 helpful votes
“Very good free museum, cheap MOP15 wine tasting! A nice addition to Macau's many nice attractions”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We visited the Wine Museum, which is located in the Tourism Activity Centre, along with the Grand Prix Museum, just off Lotus Square, not far from the Macau Outer Harbour Ferry Terminal. It seems entrance is now free for the Wine Museum and you have the option to partake in a bit of wine tasting if you like, MOP15 for three wines. This is very cheap compared to wine tasting elsewhere in the world. Overall, we found the Wine Museum to be the second best of the three museums we visited over the weekend.

What we liked about this museum was the backroom that had a wine vineyard display some old wine pressing equipment and a half dozen cellar storage areas with some old wines, dating from as early as the 1850s on display! This was a very impressive collection.

We also enjoyed the wine tasting area where for just MOP15 per person, you could taste three of six wine choices. The selections change every three months so repeat visits for the wine tasting are possible. There was also a wine purchase area if you liked any of the wines you tried, as is typical with wine tasting experiences.

The Wine Museum is less child-friendly than to the excellent Grand Prix Museum, which is next door. However, as this museum is now free, you might as well make a quick stop even if you are not much interested in the cultivation, processing, selling and tasting of wines. Those that enjoy wine tasting will find this a nice little visit while in Macau.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    52
    40
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing special and quite small”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I was not impressed with the museum, which had a few pieces of cool information that could have been found on wiki just as easily. The exhibits and layout of the museum was also not too visually appealing. I wouldn't recommend going, though it is opposite the Grand Prix Museum so if you are in the area to see one you can easily also visit the other. It is also free, so that is a plus.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
366 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Most museums don't give you a drink...”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The wine museum isn't a wonderful thing that you absolutely have to see whilst in Macau, but if one of your party loves motor racing and hates wine, and the rest are the opposite, or if you just want to combine both drinking and driving and yet have no risk of being arrested, this is the perfect compromise.

The wine museum isn't very big, but the captions are all in Chinese, English and Portuguese, and last time I was there, the admission ticket also provided you a taste of wine. If you're obsessed with wine, I think you'd probably enjoy going for a drink in a bar more than traipsing all the way down here.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank MrCushtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“My First Wine Museum Visit”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Called Museu Do Vinho in Portuguese, this nice small exhibition tucked in the basement of a big building is the first wine museum in Asia. I was attracted to this place because it was in the same building as the Macau Grand Prix museum where I was headed. Also I had not been to any wine museum before.
It is supposed to be in the shape of a wine cellar, but I had no clue of knowing this. There were no guides and very few visitors inside. The corridor leading upto the main hall displays posters on the genesis of wine making and drinking, how it reached Portugal and then China. Interested visitors may know many aspects of the subject from these write-ups. In the display hall I saw many wine making and vine growing tools followed by actual bottles of wines along with the dresses and culture of the different wine making regions of Portugal. The mannequins provided a lot of photo options.
Lastly near the exit we came to the wine testing area. Although the museum entry is free for testing you have to pay minimum of 15 patacas. You may test while the person in charge answers your queries.
I met a visitor from New Zealand testing from many of the samples, who appeared very knowledgeable about wines all over the world.
As you come out you are greeted by the sight of the wine store with a good stock of varieties of wines. You may take your pick, if you liked the wine inside.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ChinmayHota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Museum also viewed

 

Been to Wine Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing