We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel on the face of the earth” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beijing Wangfu Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Macau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beijing Wangfu Hotel
Ranked #88 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Edmonton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worst hotel on the face of the earth”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

I don't know who decided this hotel should be a 5 star, but they were probably blind. Nothing about this place would even earn it one star, by most standards. The staff is rude, the place was dirty, the rooms were horrible... we were put in an "upgraded" room. It was basically a very large two bedroom suite divided by one door. Another gust was in that room. The walls are paper thin. Didn't even dare eating there. If you want to save money, stay at a different hotel- this one will disgust eve the bravest traveller.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelChick15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    56
    33
    13
    33
See reviews for
12
19
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

My best definition of this hotel is "former 5 star". It does have plus and minus qualities. For example, the carpets are outdated, yet the bathrooms are renovated with larger tub, frosted glass swinging door separating sinks and bathing area, and more modern look to them. The hotel does supply extras, such as complimentary slippers, toothbrushes, hair and skin accessories, etc... The beds, compared to most rock hard beds in asian hotels are a little bit more softer than usual, but still not the western style comfort americans are use to. (again, we're in Asia, not Orlando). The view from our room we could see the Macau tower and resorts across the bay.
The architecture of the building is very unique. Giant statues of greek mythology tower in the entrance and main lobby. They are majestic, however painted, unlike the usual plain white colors you're use to seeing in greek architecture. -But again, its greek architecture with an Asian influence. The sofas and couches in the lobby are also extra extra large, making you feel like you're sitting is a sofa made for gods and giants. The pool is really large, and it has an additional slide pool and jaccusi, with depths that are safe for young children.
The hotel staff was very friendly, from the housekeepers in the hallway that greet you, to the man standing at the doorway, they certainly do acknowledge your welcome here. I'll confess that I didn't partake of any other services of the hotel, as I had a full itinerary away from the hotel.

My conclusion of this hotel is: people with great demands will be disappointed, however, I am confident that the modest traveler will enjoy this hotel. Its smaller than the new mega-hotels being built, but not too small. Its a great experience to see what 5-star hotel was like before the casino-boom hit Taipa.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KuyaKano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGAPORE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

Being a Five Star Hotel - The Check In counter staff were rude, fierce, impatient ,cannot understand other languages except Cantonese, unfit even for 1 star.
Worst breakfast ever eaten, seen cockroaches running around the buffet table
The beverages, such as coffee and tea - look worst than the "water from the drain"
Some rooms were filled with very strong cigarettes odour.
Furnitures and fixtures are old and worn.
I will never ever recommend or stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank LHMSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Macau hotels

Hong Kong
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights in August. The room was clean. The staff at reception was rude. But we could understand that as they were under great pressure with lots of guests in line.

The only and big problem was that we found a cockroach (living one) in the bathroom. It was medium sized. I was very scared. But we didn't request to change the room. We don't think it helps as there may be even more in other rooms (as cockroaches live in groups). We will definitely not stay in this hotel next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heidychow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

This hotel is fine for a short term stay in Macau. The rooms are spacious; however, fixtures and carpeting are old and worn. This is not the place for a luxury-seeking traveler; however, if you are only at the hotel to sleep, it should be fine.

  • Liked — Cheap Price
  • Disliked — Fixtures and carpeting were old
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank spectra21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
160 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2008

9 months ago I gave an ok review to the New Century. Since then it has got worse.

Check in was poor and slow. The manager could see there was a problem with the guy in front of me,but instead of delegating more staff to serve the growing queue, he just disappeared to the back office.

For some reason, after check in a reception you need to go to the cashier to leave the deposit. Why can't it all be done at reception?

Got a king size non smoking room as requested. But why in the 'non-smoking' room are there ash trays and matches?

Water pressure in shower is very weak, although water is hot.

TV channels are very limited.

A couple of good points: bed is comfortable and sheets are clean. Room is quiet and very dark - slept well (although this hotel is used by tour groups who can be noisy).

Check out was surprisingly efficient!

I will only stay here again if other choices are not available.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongKong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2007

We stayed in New Century hotel, Macau for 1 night on Dec 2007.
The decoration is old fashioned, with huges greek statues.
The check-in was quite fast as we arrived late.
We asked for non-smoking room and double bed.
We were given room 1116 (11th floor). The room was very big with a king size bed, large space in the room, the bathroom was big and clean. The carpet looked old in the room and in the corridor. The electronic key to open the door didn't fit into the system to switch on the lights, we had to use cartoon paper to do so.
After 5mn we discovered a small cockroach on the wall. We were horrified but decided to stay as it was late.
We ordered club sandwich which arrived 30mn later.
Meanwhile we saw 2 other cockroaches. After eating the sandwich we found 2 other ones coming from under the bed. It was too much. We called the reception to complain and asked to change the room. After going from supervisors to managers, they finally accepted to move us to room 1315.
This room had a cold smell of smoke, it was in fact a smoking room as attested by the ash-tray on the coffee table. The aircon was freezing. The bed sheets were clean and the bed comfortable. The wallpaper had scratches on it.
We were waken up in the early morning by loud voices in the corridor and door slams. We ordered 2 in-room american breakfast, which were OK (fresh orange juice, fruit platter, but no mashed potatoes even if written in the menu). We were served 30mn later again.
After shower we saw 1 cockroach in the bathroom.

I dont recommand this hotel to anyone. I will never come back there again.

  • Liked — spacious rooms
  • Disliked — cockroaches
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mick0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.2 mi away
Crown Towers at City of Dreams
0.8 mi away
Grand Resort Deck Galaxy Macau
0.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Macau
Hard Rock Hotel Macau
#18 of 95 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#50 of 95 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pousada Marina Infante Hotel
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Macau, Cotai Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Wangfu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Wangfu Hotel

Property: Beijing Wangfu Hotel
Address: No.889 Ave Padre Tomas Pereira, Macau, China (Formerly 新世纪酒店)
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Hotel Class:5 star — Beijing Wangfu Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 14-story Hotel located on Taipa Island, overlooking the Pearl River. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
New Century Macau
Hotel New Century

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing