We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and value”
Review of Emperor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emperor Hotel
Ranked #61 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed October 31, 2010

The Hotel was nice and modern. The room and the bathroom were very clean. The room was basically equipped. The bed was comfy and good size. Nothing was really problem and we appreciated the assistance of the hotel staff.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank julienbens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2010

I stayed one night at this hotel.

Likes:
Gd location. Within walking distance to Wynn and MGM.
Stay includes breakfast
Room is nicely furnished.

Dislike:
Beds which were hard as rock.
Bread provided during breakfast was also HARD like rocks
The bed board had a layer of dust!
Room has cigarette smell.

Recommanded for short stays.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muimui0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

1. Shuttle Bus : The hotel would tell you that they provide a shuttle service from Macau Ferry Terminal, but you would be better off taking a taxi. The bus is operated by 4 hotels and has no placard or sign on it. We waited 40 mins for the bus and then took a taxi ...

2. Nobody has heard about this Hotel (Seriously): We had to show the hotel on a map to the taxi driver and even then he couldn't locate it. He left us near the Holiday Inn, and even the Holiday Inn staff didn't knew where the hotel was, even though it was just behind the Holiday Inn. At the ferry terminal, I asked many other hotel staff about this hotel, and only 1 staff from Grand Emperor knew about it.

3. The Name: It's very easy to confuse this hotel with the Grand Emperor or Emperor Casino.

4. The photos: believe me, the hotel does not look like the front face picture that you see here. I don't think they could take a front face picture, as the alley is so narrow.

5. The rooms; The rooms are spacious and clean.

6. Service: Many posters have touched on it, so I would skip it. Just an addition, the security guard scolded me for asking him a question in English.

7. Breakfast : Meh.

8. Location : Good, but there are many hotels with better service in that area, you would get for less.

All in all, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SmilingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The hotel is located in the center of major activity areas, usually walking distance within the tourist areas. It still looks modern at a glance but seems to have aged a bit. Good thing there were continuous renovations going around in restoring the quality of its interior facility. Our room was a standard double bed and it was generally in good order. The bathroom is clean with standard amenities and the fixtures were somewhat newly upgraded. But the room was showing its age as the carpet had some old stains with the wallpaper a bit faded. Beds were comfy, the aircon is real cool and we had a flatscreen cable tv, ref and some free bottled water and coffee but we opted for no breakfast. There were some newly renovated rooms but those are for better paying customers.

We had no problem getting a taxi, but some say there's a line on occasions and the bus stop is just around the street corner. All-in-all this is a good hotel for tourists on a budget and I'd rate this a 7.9.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rvfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Hotel is centrally located in Macau close major casinos like Sands & Lisboa. Even the other major attractions like Macau Tower, Forts and Museums are quite close to the hotel. There are very good water front restaurants also close to the hotel. The ferry terminal for Hong Kong is also not too far from the hotel. Hotel Staff were quite friendly and helpful in giving directions. Breakfast menu was limited.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Spacious and clean room. The bathtub is long enough for me to have a good soak. Ok location. Average customer service. Good bed.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

First impression is WOW, but second impression at the front desk is OMG and WTH. Front desk is unfriendly and unhelpful. Request for non-smoking room but was assign to a smoking room. Took forever for a room change. Once in room, toilet doesn't flush correctly and have a leaking water song all night long. Given a late check-out but front desk still calls to rush you out of the room. Will never stay there again, as I could stay at a better place for what I have paid.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank armchannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beverly Plaza
Hotel Beverly Plaza
#47 of 94 in Macau
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rio Hotel & Casino
Rio Hotel & Casino
#31 of 94 in Macau
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 94 in Macau
1,165 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.5 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#41 of 94 in Macau
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emperor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperor Hotel

Address: No.51 Rua de Xangai, Macau 999078, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $98 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emperor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern High-rise Hotel located in city center, near casinos & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emperor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing