We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't think the Emperor would have stayed here”
Review of Emperor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emperor Hotel
Ranked #61 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed November 20, 2013

There are 2 Emperor hotels in Macau - this is a review of the one without a casino that is next to the Landmark Hotel. I'd say this is like staying in a smaller hotel in Vegas not on the Strip - basically people are here to gamble and sightsee, not spend time in the room. We started out in a 7th floor room with a smoky smelling hallway, but got moved to a much more pleasant room on the 17th floor after our local handlers found out where we had been placed. Room was average, rather dark, view of the highrise next door, stained carpets, shower head was too low - basically it was serviceable. The breakfast buffet was a loser, though included with our room - go elsewhere if you didn't get the breakfast package. Restaurant was ok, beer was cold if requested, seafood was pretty good. Maybe it was just the letdown from the previous week's Gran Prix but this place seemed a bit worn out - would give it a miss.

Room Tip: Believe the rooms on the higher floors are non-smoking. Best tip is to stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurnalsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were staying in Macau so that I could play poker at the Wynn's Casino. My girlfriend chose to stay in the room the whole time resting from our SE Asia traveling. The hotel is on the plateau.
We have stayed at other hotels in the past in Macau. I like this one for its convenience. The hotel restaurant is pretty pricey. The rooms are comfortable, bed is good, decor is nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The room is large, but as the renovations are still in progress, the lobby is still a little messy and noise starts too early. My room which is supposed to Non smoking still had stale smoking odour. Perhaps non smoking is not strictly enforced. Room cleanliness can be improved, even though housekeeping staff clean throughout the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_my_views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night for birthday celebration. We stayed in their very spacious and clean double room on the quiet 17/F (which is recently renovated), with a good view of the Macau Tower.

Other points noted are:

Pros:
- The buffet breakfast at this hotel is good. Wide selection of dishes and the staff are friendly.
- The drinking bar on the top floor is not bad, with a good live band and not too crowded even on a Friday evening.
- This hotel is a very convenient location; most of the historical tourist attractions are within walking distances. Though no shuttle buses, you can take those at the nearby casino hotels.

Cons:
- Check in counter at the lobby is relatively small. No sofas or chairs are provided for any waiting guests, and no staff was there to handle the messy guest queues. It took us quite a while to get our room keys.
- Lobby is noisy; there are just too many guests running around taking pictures of the gold bars.
- Housekeeping staff needs more training. We asked for a ice bucket to put in our champagne a couple of times and they still could not get it right repeatedly.
- Taking their lifts are unpleasant journeys - you are expected to share the lifts with the casino floors so the lifts are full of strong cigarette smell.

Room Tip: Get a room on a recently-renovated floors with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAddictWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed only 1 night at this hotel. I like the centralised location. It has free shuttle to the ferry terminal. Hotel itself has casino. I was given a room with very nice view of the Macau tower. Nice scenary day and night!

Room Tip: Ask for room with the Macau tower view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_Chan_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Good location in the city within walking distance from most of the historic sights in Macau. Room is nice for it's rates. No need to browse within this hotel itself. Because it is right across the streets from the mega resorts such as Starworld, Wynn, MGM, Grand Lisboa. Free Wifi in rooms, but the signal is poor. TV has several English speaking channels. Recommended for single business travellers or couples who don't want to splash the cash for a room.
*Note that the Non-smoking room is next to contruction right now. And the regular room that I got had a hint of cigarette smell. So for non-smokers, it's best to avoid at this time.
Personally, I like to spend a little more and get a room at the old Lisboa hotel. With better restaurants, good wifi,and historic casino. But if I can't get a room there, Emperor is cheaper and it's a good alternative.

Room Tip: Request a room that's away from construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OuijaAble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for a group of 5 for the Family Size room which comes with 1 queen size bed and 2 single bed, the room is a connecting room - clean and comfortable. View is restricted as the hotel itself is located in between high risk building. Overall a satisfying stay.

Pros: Strategic location, Clean room, Affordable.
Cons: No shuttle bus from/ to Airport (They only provide shuttle bus service to the to HK Ferry Terminal)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaruEita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beverly Plaza
Hotel Beverly Plaza
#47 of 94 in Macau
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rio Hotel & Casino
Rio Hotel & Casino
#31 of 94 in Macau
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lisboa Macau
Hotel Lisboa Macau
#22 of 94 in Macau
1,165 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Macao Hotel, Cotai Central
0.5 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#41 of 94 in Macau
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emperor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperor Hotel

Address: No.51 Rua de Xangai, Macau 999078, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $98 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emperor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern High-rise Hotel located in city center, near casinos & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emperor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing