We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emperor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Emperor Hotel
Ranked #57 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Central Coast
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

For starters their website says they have free shuttle service from the ferry terminal not one person knew of the hotel or where to find the shuttle, luckily i had read on here that you can catch the starworld shuttle and its over the road, we walked up and down the stro trying to find the hotel, its in a side st and extremely hard to find, luckily we ran into an american tourist who had a map to show us, we had walked by it twice not even seeing the sign! We requested a non smoking family room and when we arrived to check in at 1pm they told us they only had smoking rooms as the people in the non smoking room decided to extend their stay so it was no longer available! We were travelling with a severe asmatic and we told them this the only option was to go to a queen room and they offered that 4 grown women could sleep in 1 bed they refused to give us 2 rooms unless we paid a large amount of money, everything in the room stunk of smoke, bedding towels etc stunk of smoke! They offered us a room to freshen up for an hour while they tried to make the room stink less of smoke so they took us to a room on a floor they were renovating so all you could hear was hammering the fumes were that bad we decided to just go for a walk. At the end of our stay we asked about a shuttle bus to the airport they didn't have one, we waited outside for a taxi and they refused to stop for us, they would only stop for the Asian tourists, one even went as far as to mount a curb other then stop for us! No staff to help us! Wouldn't stay here again if they paid me, terrible experience!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank monsgrantmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    832
    313
    56
    15
See reviews for
64
75
60
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

It really a waste that we were there for just 1 day, room given to us was spacious, high floor, clean and most important is there's free WiFi. Hotel is about 10 to 15 mins walking distance to few casinos like Grand Lisboa, Lisboa, Wynn, Galaxy Star World and others.

There're quite a few Chinese cuisine restaurant around the hotel area and about 10 mins walk to McDonald's. We walk from hotel to Ruins of St Paul's Church, took us about 20 to 25 mins. Actually you may consider taking taxi around as the taxi fare is low.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eeyore88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Booked a Family Suite for a night here in November 2012. The hotel's conveniently located within Macau Peninsula as many of Macau's attractions can be accessed by foot from the hotel. For travellers who are coming from the Hong Kong Macau Ferry terminal (also known as Inner Harbour Ferry Terminal), you could actually catch a free shuttle service from the Ferry Terminal to Starworld and cross the Avenida da Amizade to get to Emperor Hotel. As the hotel is situated along Rua de Xangai, it may be more prudent to look for signs to this street as only the side (with no visible signage) of the hotel is visible when viewed from Avenida da Amizade.

The hotel's interior has a grand oriental touch to it which sets the tone for the decor pretty much throughout the hotel. The Family Suite on the 8th Floor was spacious with an adjacent connecting room to the doorway of the main room - in short, you do get the impression you are getting two rooms for the price of one. Fruit platter and complimentary bottles of water (not exactly commonplace in this part of the world for 3-star hotels and below) were provided.

Decent local eateries (coffee houses similar to those in Hong Kong) are aplenty around the hotel as are reputable casinos (whose extensive network of shuttle bus services would allow travellers to commute to just about all major attractions in Macau - including those in Cotai, Taipa and Coloane - seamlessly if a little research is done beforehand to establish how one should get connecting buses to an eventual destination).

The service is generally good, although we encountered a 2-hour delay in checking-in as we were advised our room wasn't ready when we first arrived despite arriving after the check-in time. Nevertheless, this was sorted promptly when we returned after a late lunch and strolling in the vicinity.

All in all, while this hotel is certainly no match for the many newly sprung-up luxury hotels along the Cotai strip with first class hospitality and amenities, the Emperor Hotel nevertheless remains a good hotel at an affordable price in a central location in the midst of Macau Peninsula.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edtkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A little hard to review this hotel since it is being renovated causing noise and smell on some floors. At checkin I was offered the choice of staying at a smoking floor or at a floor with construction work causing both noise and smell. I chose the latter. I didn't stay much at the hotel during the day so the noise was not a problem. The floor and room suffered from bad odor. Whether the rooms stuffy smell is a result of bad AC or the construction work I don't know.
Anyways I stayed here for just one night, to get my China entry visa, in a deluxe room on the 17th floor. At 700 HKD excluding breakfast it's pretty good value considering the location. By coincidence it was just 200m from the CTS visa office.

Good:
- very helpful and friendly staff all around
- free wifi (fairly good speed)
- nice firm bed
- spacious room but small bathroom

Bad:
- room had stuffy smell and is quite "worn out".

The 60 HKD breakfast buffet pretty much equals the quality.

I would try and look for better value at least while they renovate the hotel - especially if smoking rooms are not an option. Although I don't know if my room's lack of fresh air was a result of the construction; or just bad AC. I slept pretty good despite, but wouldn't have wanted to stay for more than one night. Don't be afraid to give it a try though if you are looking for a cheap hotel in the center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casperdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Although I favorably reviewed the hotel in the past, I would hold off on staying there until their construction is finished. Construction noise permeates the building from 9am until 6pm. Construction is on the top as well as on the 1st floor. There really is no floor where you are guaranteed not to hear the jackhammers. Check before booking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eurotrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Good price at good location. However there is renovation going on and the noise is unbearable to me. The standard room is spacious and clean, but the family suite is horribly run down, especially the one located at 10th floor which we requested to change the room after we found out the air-con wasn't functioning.

Hotel staffs are generally kind and helpful. I would suggest to add more personnel at check out counter during peak hour as we've been waited for 30 mins due to lack of resources.

Room Tip: avoid high floors for the drilling noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryannelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at Emperor hotel, Macau last March 28-30 and it was the best part of our stay in Macau. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. My 2 sons each had their own bed and me and my hubby had a separate room. Considering that we only paid for the same price as hostels in Hongkong. The staff are very accommodating and friendly. The only thing that I don't like is the carpet. It's quite old and smells like cigar. But other than that, we had a very comfortable and satisfying stay. I will definitely recommend this to my friends.

Room Tip: The hotel is close to some of the biggest casinos in Macau island like Star World and Wynn. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobie1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#24 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Emperor Hotel
Grand Emperor Hotel
#28 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropark Hotel
Metropark Hotel
#48 of 94 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beverly Plaza
Hotel Beverly Plaza
#54 of 94 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.9 mi away
Metropole Hotel Macau
Metropole Hotel Macau
#43 of 94 in Macau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Real Hotel
Casa Real Hotel
#39 of 94 in Macau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emperor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperor Hotel

Property: Emperor Hotel
Address: No.51 Rua de Xangai, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emperor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern High-rise Hotel located in city center, near casinos & nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Travelocity so you can book your Emperor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor Hotel Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing