We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada De Sao Tiago
Ranked #73 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Atmospheric and beautiful”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in July 2011, a very romantic and beautiful hotel situated in a very old Portuguese house. Liked the spa bath, Hermes cosmetics and room decor. Definitely recommended for romantic get-aways. The staff was nice, maybe a tad slow.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
10
43
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Poitives: Gorgeous rooms - large bedroom, bathroom (spa bath plus seperate shower with amazing shower head!), lounge room and second bathroom! Cable tv and wifi. Breakfast was absolutely delicious - highly recommend!

Negatives: air con smelled a little of cigarette smoke (probably ok to some people - but I need fresh air). Staff were nice but not overly friendly or helpful. it's not really close to any sightseeing destinations or tourist attractions. Had to take a taxi to get to ruins of st Paul's or casino district.
Staff told me they couldnt call us a taxi to go to st Paul's ruins (apparently they said there was a really big taxi prob in Macau and suggested us to take the bus, which we couldn't work out with the language barrier) but we were lucky to flag down a taxi on our own and we found no problems with macao's taxi service - cheap and quick. We were meant to have free hotel transport to and from the airport in our rate however this is only between 11 and 5 - and as we had a 10 am flight we weren't provided the transfer :( they did however call us a taxi that time... Which was there within 5 minutes!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katefrommelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Flew into Macao mid-morning and was greeted by the hotel limousine, as arranged. Upon our arrival, the manager and his staff were helpful, friendly and courteous. Lunch was booked and we were escorted to our suite . . . two nights of relative luxury . . .

This hotel is far from the madding crowd, as it were, and not spoiled by all those hoards of noisy and smoking types . . . it was a little piece of heaven . . . solitude personified . . . relaxing and private . . . for our weekend . . .

The suite was well appointed, without the ubiquitous gold bathroom fitments that seem to adorn every so-called five star establishment, spacious and comfortable. To spend a weekend in one place . . . the suite . . . was not an issue . . . room service and entertainment facilities were all conducive to 'staying-put' . . . and that is exactly what we did . . . to our sheer indulgence!

The food was thoughtfully presented, timely and tasteful . . . with an extensive wine list . . . the staff were discrete and attentive at the same time . . .

This is a charming hotel . . . with wonderful suites . . . perfect for a romantic get-away . . .

But don't take my word for it . . . NIKE!

Room Tip: . . . pre-book the limo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glhinhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed there for one night in July, 2012 and I could only say I am kinda disappointed.

Room type: de barra suite

Arrival: I was welcomed with a excellence staff, warm and smiled every seconds. (good)

Transportation: MB S500, I was wow at the beginning but once I step inside. It's a Benz with broken AC. The vents are blowing out warm air and it's 30 degree Celsius outside. The cabin was hot like sauna room, without steams. (BAD!)

Check-in: The check-in documents were well prepared before hand and the staff guided my to my room, have a few name signed and finished. No more hassal waiting at the front desk. (Good)

Hotel Room: It's stylish but seems not well maintenance, dirty marks on the sofa, cushions, floor, windows, Bed cover. Not up to a five stars hotel standard. Intermittent TV signal wasted the B&O Television and audio system. Bathtub and the sauna were fine (No good)

Hotel environment: You probably won't feel you are in a fortress at all as I think it's over decorated. The highway outside was noisy with sport cars, Macau's grandpix wasn't opening in Nov only? (fair)

Shuttle bus: The hotel doesn't provide shuttle buses to the town. and if you need car service from the hotel, it required one day advance booking and they goes to the terminals only. I wasn't told about that on my arrival and I was rejected when I asked for. (No good)

Food: I only had the complimentary Breakfast only, It's not a buffet breakfast but some sets. The breakfast itself is okay but I personal like buffet breakfast more. The in-room bar was filling with juice, soft-drinks and beer. They won't charge you if you don't take away the empty bottles. (Okay)

Checkout: No complains, the staff pro-actively asked if we need a cab and don't bother to call one for us (Good)

I think this hotel is losing charm while there are just so many new built international branded hotels like four season, Sheraton, banyatree ... ...

Room Tip: I don't think they would offer some extra even you are celebrating something. If you are expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nd777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have not had the chance to stay at this hotel so I am writing based on my review of eating at the cafe house.

The hotel itself is beautiful, it has character and unlike those boring normal hotels you find along the casino strips, this one is special and having being used to be a fortress, you do feel you have stepped away from time and entered into another dimension!

The entrance to the hotel was exactly like a fort, while it is interesting, I personally found it a little intimating and it was all stairs, so may not be that friendly if you have luggages although they do have a bell for you to ring for help should you need assistance.

And now the service, having read about the rave about this place, I thought since I can't stay in the rooms, why not visit the hotel for afternoon tea? And gosh, I was very disappointed with the service. Maybe you do get better service if you are staying at the rooms, but for a 5 star hotel, should they treat all customers equally?

I had tea and the waitress serving me was terrible. She was impatient when I asked her questions, and she looked like she was miserable in her job! No smile nothing! Having spent the night and had breakfast at Pousada de mong ha, I will say she has a lot to learn from those students! And it is surprising that the hotel actually hired staff like them! And when I was having tea, I noticed that the staff are all looked really bored!

I will say the only redeeming factor was one individual waitress, I think she is a philippino, she was the only reason I gave this a poor instead of a terrible! She was the only staff that does behave up to standard.

When I wanted to feedback this to the management, I found to my horro! THERE IS NO customer satisfaction feedback form! So is the hotel saying they are too perfect to listen to their customers?

I am very disappointed with the service and if they can't even get this small thing right, then speaks so much of their attitude!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This superb boutique hotel built into the old fortress walls sits near the historic centre and very near the A Ma Temple. But you could be forgiven for wallowing in your room or in the restaurant. We ate there every evening of our stay in Macau ; not out of laziness but because the food was excellent whether taken as a formal meal or as tapas in the bar.

Service was also excellent from check in to check out.

Breakfast was splendid with good choice ; try the Macanese at least once.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hawardTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Just returned from staying a night at this refurbished fortress. Although done in a slightly kitschy Chinese style, its a nice respite from the craziness of Macau's casino crowd and at the same time close enough to the city center to get back in if you wanted to. Rooms were huge and spacious, we got upgraded to a suite right above the swimming pool. Bed was super plush and comfy. Exploring the fort took all of 15 minutes. The little chapel was a gem to find and reading the legends of St. Thomas (who guards the fort) was very endearing. All in all a very surprising and charming hotel

Room Tip: Rm 220 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LottieYeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macau
5.2 mi away
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
The Rocks Hotel
The Rocks Hotel
#35 of 95 in Macau
125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mandarin Oriental Macau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yinhua Hotel
Yinhua Hotel
#118 of 537 in Zhuhai
1 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wynn Macau
Wynn Macau
#21 of 95 in Macau
589 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Lisboa
Grand Lisboa
#41 of 95 in Macau
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada De Sao Tiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada De Sao Tiago

Property: Pousada De Sao Tiago
Address: Avenida Da Republica, Fortaleza De Sao Tiago Da Barra, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada De Sao Tiago 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is seasonally closed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pousada De Sao Tiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Sao Tiago Hotel Macau
Pousada De Sao Tiago Macau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing