We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice spot to break during a busy day”

Monte Forte (Fortaleza do Monte)
Book In Advance
More Info
$158.27*
and up
Macau Day Tour with 2-Way Ferry Transfer from Shenzhen
Ranked #14 of 241 things to do in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the 16th century by the Jesuits and later used as a military base, this fort today features a public park, an observatory and the Macau Museum.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“nice spot to break during a busy day”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We ventured up to the Fort after visiting the St. Paul ruins. We had a good view of the city; the new immersed with the historic. It was a relaxing break to sit above the city life.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank beausmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    296
    109
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
131 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great vantage point and an interesting walk”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

There is a bit of an uphill walk involved in getting to the fort, but once there one has a 360 degree view of the city and into mainland China. I didn't try out the museum, but just seeing the large defensive structure up close was enough for me.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
820 reviews
502 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Historic Portuguese Fort with good views over Macau”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Free access to this historic and important landmark, built as a statement in stone of the Portuguese strength and intent to colonise in 1622.
It is well worth the climb up to the top to see the views from the Fort Walls over the Pearl river delta to Mainland China. The excellent Macau museum forms the centrepiece of the site. Nice laid back and shady attractive park with floral displays well tended by the gardeners. Locals enjoy the tranquility for Tai Chi, and reak from hustle and bustle of the city. Definately worth a short detour to see.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank cherriesfan_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,402 reviews
3,451 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11,753 helpful votes
“Affords nice views of the city on clear day”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We were blessed with very clear day in Macau last week so we opted for a trip up the fort, near St. Pauls. This traditional European style fort is nothing particularly special if you've seen the hundreds of similar versions spread across Europe, but its not bad. You can take some decent photos of the cannons and the city from a nice vantage point. Due to its proximity to St. Pauls, it is worth a quick climb and look/see if you've time in Macau and its not too hot. If the air quality is poor we usually recommend giving the fort a skip. If the air quality is good and you've an extra 45 minutes to 1 hour then this can make for a very nice add-on to your Macau historic city tour.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Forte (Fortaleza do Monte) also viewed

 

Been to Monte Forte (Fortaleza do Monte)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing