We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for sightseeing”
Review of Towns Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Towns Well Hotel
Ranked #54 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best location for sightseeing”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very nice location, clean and newly repaired inside. Attentive and advisable staff.
Although, only Asian food is available for breakfast, and not mamy places to eat around.
Shops, ATMs, bus stops after are around.
Taxidrivers know the area well. The hotel is up the hill at Optical 88 store on the estreet cross, right upper ESPRIT outlet shop.
Rooms are nice, big and clean.
Wi-Fi is on the lobby only, but very slow.
I would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NDYRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    41
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
21
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Fairly good stay. Hotel close by to casinos and historical attractions. Staff won't give password for internet other than in the lobby so no WiFi in rooms which is annoying. Pleased with room size and cleanliness although beds are very hard. Hot water boiler didn't work.fixed one day but had to use another rooms shower the next day. Booked through agoda so not a bad price compared to the standard of rooms v price we were shown when walking into hotels in area.

Room Tip: 5 th floor was no smoking which was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAMlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel didn't look well from outside, our cab took us there through some rather shabby streets, plus, they were in the middle of the renovation. The reception was a tiny table tucked next to the elevator and rather grim. Hence, our first impressions were very bad. But that changed the moment we reached our floor. Mirrors, some nice clementine tree next to the door. The room didn't disappoint either - very spacious (we had a triple room), nicely furnished, clean good quality linen and all the usual hotel room amenities in place (hairdryer, kettle etc). The room had quite an interesting view over the old part of Macau as well. My only negative comment is on their very hard beds, but as we learned from our trip it's quite common for Asian hotels.

We were in Macau mostly for its historical heritage, so the hotel met this purpose perfectly. Macau fortress with its beautiful views is just around the corner as well as a number of other colonial heritage sights. Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barsuchok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Towns well Hotel is located within the UNESCO sites in macau. I suppose this is a hotel that caters more to people who love the historical sites rather than for people who are into gambling. The hotel is located on a small lane off the main street, therefore locating it when you first arrive will be rather difficult. To get to this hotel, take a taxi from the Macau ferry terminal to somewhere near St Dominic Church. It will cost you less than 20 Patacas. Locate St Dominic Church and follow the directions as mentioned from the previous review by 'Debroy;.

Towns well Hotel is relatively new and the room are spacious. It is a 'chinese-style' hotel with no lobby and no other services. Free wireless are provided however the signal can be quite weak. If you are just looking for a place to stay and do not wish to spend an exorbitant amount on lodging, i will definitely recommend this hotel. You are required to make a $300HKD security deposit when you check in, it will be refunded when you check out. Convenience stores and shops are located a few steps away from the hotel. If you love traveling like a local, there are plenty of buses on the main road when you can board and travel to other parts of macau.

If you are traveling solo and if you are flexible with your itineraries. Try to book this hotel on agoda, the night before you reach macau. I notice Agoda will slash the rates for Towns Well hotel by 25%. if you booked it last minute.

Cheers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danzelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My Towns Well Hotel experience
==============================
As always I'll keep it simple and share my good and bad experiences. I leave the rest to you.

THE BAD:
- The place it hard to find. We were just lucky that the cab driver had the initiative to call his dispatcher and ask for directions. It was not spot-on, but he was close.
- We were four in the family and got a room with 3 beds. Each bed could actually fit 2 people.
- The room and bathroom looks clean (stupid me I forgot to take picture of both). But on our first night, I felt some itching a few minutes after I got on the bed. It disappeared though the following day. The batchroom is clean with hot water. I have nothing bad to say about the bathroom.
- The receptionists barely spoke any English - it took us 20mins and a translation app to ask for an extra pillow and towel!

THE GOOD:
- The place is really in the middle of the Senado Square. On foot, you're 1 minute away from the many retail shops and restos around Senado Square, it's around 5mins away form the Ruins of St. Paul.
- If you want to leave the area, you're just around 10mins away from major hotels/casinos like the Grand Lisboa, and some 15-20mins away from the Wynn Hotel. If you take the free shuttle of the Grand Lisboa you're just 10mins away from the Ferry/Harbour Terminal.

Very simple hotel, with a great location. That's my simple take on Townswell Hotel, I leave it to you if you want to stay here.


How to get to Towns Well Hotel
==============================
Finding the hotel is a challenge. So here are are 3 tips that can help:
1) When you arrive at the airport or if you know someone, have the hotel address written in local language.
2) Unless you really know where you're going, take a cab, and have the driver call their dispatcher for help or better yet, call the hotel for direction.
3) If all else fails, ask to be dropped by Senado Square, look for the Church of St. Dominique, and follow my instructions below.

Now unfrotunately, my description will not be a detailed street-by-street instruction, but I would say it's one of the best directions that you'll find ;-)

1) We start in Senado Square. If you're facing the St. Dominique Church (Image 01.jpg), you'll notice the street will either go left or right. Go RIGHT (image 02.jpg).
2) Go straight and the road will again fork left or right. Go RIGHT again. You'll know if you're on the right street if at some point the black and white pepple road abruptly ends and turns into a normal cement street (Image 03.jpg).
3) From this street, turn left on the first street, an uphill street. This should be Calcada Das Verdades, the street of Townswell Hotel (Image 04.jpg).
4) This street will again fork (at the time of this writing the fork was marked by an ESPRIT store), take the one to the left. The street to the right will lead you to a residential aparment/condominum. As you walk up the street on the left you should see the hotel entrance to your right (Image 04.jpg).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Dreboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great budget hotel I would recommend!. The location is quite near to Senado Square and Ruin of St.Paul Church. Eventhough the receptionist can't speak English but they are very helpful and tried to write down the answer on the paper and present to you.

One thing needs to be improved is that water get clogged in the bathroom. It can't flow well.
The other accommodations are fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel quite not well know for the local people but i would recommend anyone who want to stay in a good budget hotel in macau to stay here.(very hard to find in Macau) The receptionist not really speaking english but she very patients to help a guest and she friendly. In-room amenities are well prepare and clean. The location of the hotel is the best it's located just right at Senados square. As St'Dominic church(Yellow church at Senados), walk up to Lukou mansion and as you see the alley to the mansion on the right but the hotel just 100 meter up the main road on the left. Keep your eyes on the left side alley then you will see the hotel building on the left. (building a bit up hill road of the left). If you lost don't walk away from the square because the hotel just right there. We did lost and used about 3 cabs to come here but our friend used just one cap direct from the airport to the hotel...i guess just some taxi know this place.(we have chinese address with us but it's not help) A trick is ask the cab driver to call the hotel and check the exactly location. Noted..we are not speaking chinese or understand chinese language..most we can undersatnd is "Ni how" so that why it's hard for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyJane2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.3 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#38 of 95 in Macau
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ole London Hotel
Ole London Hotel
#41 of 95 in Macau
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#55 of 95 in Macau
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Sun Sun
0.4 mi away
Macau Masters Hotel
Macau Masters Hotel
#53 of 95 in Macau
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hou Kong Hotel
Hou Kong Hotel
#60 of 95 in Macau
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towns Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towns Well Hotel

Property: Towns Well Hotel
Address: No 6-6A Calcada das Verdades, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Towns Well Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Towns Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing