We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok. Hotel not boutique - more shabby chic (and Faulty Towers)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Macau
UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It's ok. Hotel not boutique - more shabby chic (and Faulty Towers)”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

After a few hectic days in HK we were looking forward to our 'pool-side' part of our holiday.

On arrival in 28 degree heat, we found the pool closed until April for maintenance (phone ahead before you book - hotel's website misleading).

We took a 2nd floor room, it was ok with balcony towards the sea; bathroom clean but with some silly monstrous 80's style jacuzzi taking up much of it. Double sink - but no space to put our toiletries so we used the second sink as a counter top. Shower dire as water splashed over the edge onto the floor - probably accounts to the smell of damp and mould that accounts for previous reviews. Wobbly wardrobe that made us laugh with 4 hangers......

More insulation is required between rooms - our room was next to a European family who got back to their room in the early hours (probably from the strip) and decided to make copious amounts of noise up and down the tiled corridors for an hour or so. Also we knew when they took loo time - the loo along with its pipework sounded like it was about to take off when flushed!

Restaurant staff excellent and probably the best thing about the hotel besides the balcony looking out to the sea, especially of an evening - food ok (better 300m away at La Gondala), basic breakfast.

This hotel could be a real gem, it has so much potential; I really wanted to write something positive, because of the hotel's wonderful location, the excellent restaurant staff, but the hotel accommodation just lets it down.

Would I be back, I'm not so sure.......

Room Tip: Get a second floor room - the noise must be worse on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arewereallythere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    81
    37
    14
    7
See reviews for
43
98
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I enjoyed our two night stay here. It was a 'romantic get-away' We did not have to go anywhere near the casinos, and hustle and bustle of the rest of Macau. If you are mobile and can climb stairs there's a very frequent and effective bus service on the road above the hotel. You can easily get into town using the busses but we only went as far as Hac Sa (black Sand) beach and the lovely little village of Coloane.
A few problems with getting the jacuzzi working, but with the aid of the friendly staff member we did manage to get it going.
Breakfast was rather disappointing both days and the restaurant did not look very appealing as it was empty when we were there.
Highly recommend this hotel for its location if you want to get away from things and go to sleep with the sound of waves crashing on the seashore. Despite this tranquility, the hotel is well equipped with Free WiFi and we had no troubles getting into this. There's also a computer area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValEqHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel with about 20 rooms is one of the rare boutique hotels in Macau and it is located far away from the city hustle and bustle on the beach. The hotel has a big pool amidst lush foliage and you can take a few steps and you are on the beach. When we visited it rained unfortunately so we just took a stroll along the beach and could not enjoy the pool or the hotel terrace with beautiful views over the ocean. The terrace of this Portuguese restaurant must be great in summer time.

The hotel exterior is very run down and in need of some paint. The windows are those old brownish sliding doors which looks depressing. Inside it is very basic with a computer room with dirty carpet and a simple reception counter with a couch.

The rooms are nice with stone floors and Portuguese tiles along the walls. All furniture is Portuguese/Macanase wood which gives these rooms an authentic and boutique flavour. The bed was large and made up with white sheets but the mattress was very hard. They also put in a white-upholstered Ikea chair plus table which was totally out of line and cluttered up the room. The chiar was dirty as well: stains everywhere and a large stain on head-hight of sweaty predecessors. Brrr, I wanted to put the chair in the hallway.

Bathrooms are large with a large spa-bathtub, unfortunately with a shower curtain. I think shower curtains are dirty things, especially in hotels. But the bathroom was clean with enough towels.

Because of the rainy weather the past 2 weeks the hotel and our room was very humid. It smelled humid and a bit moldy which just gives the room a dirty feeling. They should have kept the airco on keep the room dry. Now our sheets felt humid too.

We booked an extra bed and it was actually already made up and they had put extra towels, showergel, bathslippers and water in our room which in most hotels doesn't work like this. I normally always have to call housekeeping.

We had dinner in the restaurant and had to sit inside because of the weather. A shame because inside the restaurant does not look cozy, there are no candles, flowers or plants. Some tables are in half-darkness. The second part of the restaurant has all those long tables and chairs covered in white cloth as if they were expecting a wedding party. It would be so easy to make it a little more cozy.
The food was fine though: I had the bacalhau cakes again, these were a bit too oily though but the overal taste was good. Then I had the bacalhau with onion and potato. My husband had the sardines, grilled with salt and lemon. All nice. I ended with the serradura (sawdust pudding). The pudding was a bit too cold when served but tasted nice. Together with some Portuguese white wine we had a nice dinner.

Breakfast the next day was pretty basic: white bread rolls, some apples, white bread, jam and butter and some cornflakes and yoghurt. You could order an egg. I decided to have coffee and lunch in Taipa instead of eating here. Staff was invisible during breakfast as well and we really had to find the 'buffet' ourselves around a corner. Tables were not set, just pick a table and hope there were no crumbs from the family before you.

Would I go again, probably not. I like my hotels a bit more clean and less run-down Besides the rooms, the hotel is really rundown.
But if you are there in summer and can sit at the pool or enjoy dinner on the terrace, you will have a good time.

Staff was friendly and helpful and responded adequate and fast to my emails.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariken v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I need to state upfront that i liked the hotel and will definitely come here again. However, it will not suit everyone. If you are comfortable without big city service and convenience and can enjoy a more relaxed pace then you should enjoy it. We arrived by taxi during a thunderstorm and had to walk uphill from the entrance with our bags. Allowing the taxi to drive up to the dining room entrance, where staff cars were parked for their convenience, would have been nice. Our room was on the lower floor so the balcony was a triangular sliver of approx 15 sq ft and no table or chairs. Once we had settled in we found the fridge wasn't working but this was replaced quickly. Later, the spa bath wasn't working but we gave up waiting for it to be fixed as the tepid water was fast losing heat. The electric jug helped fix this. After this we had a very nice meal in their restaurant- my wife asked to sit outside like another couple but the waitress told her it was difficult to put up the umbrellas and it would be inconvenient for service staff.
Breakfast was very basic and I'm sure that on one day there was only one staff member working as waiter and cook because he was moving quickly and looking flustered yet doing his best to get orders completed.
The next day we needed to take their van into Coloane village to withdraw money from the only ATM- the hotel doesn't change money and we found no one wanted Hong Kong money ( unlike other times we have visited ).
The rain continued throughout our stay so outdoor pursuits were limited. There are good hiking tracks friends have enjoyed, the swimming pool looks clean and cool and the beach is only a minutes walk away. Rain stopped play for us but some hardy souls were in the water. Walking around Coloane was lovely. Excellent coffee, tea and food at Lord Stowes Cafes and Cafe cheri- 5 mins by bus or 15 mins walk ( in sunshine). We spent some quiet time in St Francis Xavier's Chapel on Easter Monday and wandered down to the local Tin Hau or Ah Ma temple along the charmingly rundown waterfront with its Asian Portuguese mix of architecture.
Dinner at Fernandos' in Hac Sa was only a short bus ride away. The only taxi we saw refused to take us to the hotel because the fare wasn't far enough.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We love this hotel. It is our second stay here and it will not be our last. Firstly, we love the rooms which are decorated in Portuguese style with blue and white wall tiles and terracotta floor tiles. The beds and other furniture are mahogany. We liked the comfortable bed and lovely white linen. The bathroom was huge with a superb jacuzzi. Secondly, we love the location on Cheoc Van beach. This is quiet and lonely but an easy ride by bus or taxi to the Cotai Strip or down town Macau. Thirdly, the staff are friendly and helpful too. There is a swimming pool. It is small but lovely. Breakfast is tasty. A highlight is to eat breakfast on the terrace overlooking the beach. There are steps and no lifts but this is a traditional Portuguese hotel. If you want lifts and escalators go to the city of dreams or the Venetian. Above the hotel on the road by the bus stop is access to the Coalane trail.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fareastjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice. We had a pleasant stay but Internet wifi didn't seem to work very properly. Also for a 4 star hotel I would expect the room to be perfectly clean but the shower curtain had yellowish stains on the lower part. For dinner time they only offer buffet for 300 MOP.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The alarm bells started to ring when we arrived and no one greeted us - despite the fact there were 5 or 6 staff members engaged in some sort of event organising (more on that later). So we had to fumble around with bags and a baby looking for reception - no easy feat when you've just climbed up a 30 degree ramp! The girl who checked us in was friendly enough but she failed to tell us anything about the hotel - e.g. that there was a restaurant. So, shortly afterwards, we ended up in another over-rated place along the beach that was over-priced, dingy and full of smokers - La Gondola. A spoke in our broken sun-shade nearly took my eye out at one point. As for the location - great if you want to bask in the noise of a beach car-park and listen to car-engines revving, dog yelping and thumping car music.

The hotel room looked fine at first - but, on closer examination, the bath sealant was covered in mould and, later, when we tried the jacuzzi, the water was tepid, it stank, and dust and other filth spurted out - this was exactly as the other reviewer described (wish we'd read it before we booked). The hard surfaces in the room were also covered in dirt and stains and the whole place seemed bereft of any real care. This was definitely a hotel well past its prime.

The most irritating and deciding factor, however, was that once we did discover there was a restaurant, we were told we couldn't sit outside because there was a JP Morgan corporate event taking place that evening. Eating outside wouldn't have been an option anyway as, when we did take a look, there was a group of your usual dog-owner idiots who were letting their mutts run amok and, while we looked aghast, one dog urinated up a table leg! When I reported this, I was simply told that dogs were welcome! The whole point of coming to this hotel was to have a relaxing night away from HK - and we couldn't even sit outside on the terrace!

As we had decided to give the menu a go (despite the fact that ridiculously loud bass music was now playing inside and outside in preparation for the corporate kick-off) we were told there were no baby chairs; later, my wife saw a stack of them against the bar wall and I grabbed one, only to be told that they were all broken. One waitress tried her best to use a ribbon to replace the damaged strap but I couldn't help wondering why a hotel wouldn't have replaced such damaged equipment. Appalling.

In the end, we had an appetiser, decided to call it a day (after 5 hours in Macau!), and checked out. It took nearly an hour to get a taxi but it was well worth it. We were back in Hong Kong at 9.30 and home by taxi at 10.30. The trip had been a disaster and the hotel had been a total disgrace.

All three of us had a great night's sleep at home although, all in all, we had wasted 3000 HKD (hotel, ferry, cabs) being taken for mugs.

I have to emphasise that the staff were friendly and apologetic when I shared my thoughts with them - but whoever manages this place is obviously basking in the profits and letting the place go to seed. Shame on you, whoever you are.

And I can only imagine that those who gave this place a high-rating just happened to catch the place on a good day or are the sort of people who have different priorities. This is not a boutique hotel; it's the sort of place that Gordan Ramsay needs to get his hands on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank almosthereni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
5.4 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#22 of 95 in Macau
687 reviews
5.3 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
5.3 mi away
The Rocks Hotel
The Rocks Hotel
#36 of 95 in Macau
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#30 of 95 in Macau
1,317 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sofitel Macau At Ponte 16
6.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Macau
Crowne Plaza Macau
#15 of 95 in Macau
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Praia de Cheoc Van, Coloane Island, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Macau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unspoiled Location Surrounded by Mountains Embraced by the Forest Overlooking the Sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Coloane
Hotel Pousada De Coloane Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing