We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Getaway went bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Reviewed December 31, 2007

My family stayed here over October break and it was a nice getaway from the hustle and bustle of Shenzhen. The rooms were cozy and the balcony was nice. The short walk down to the beach was pleasant. However, our whirlpool tub didn't work. The rooms are a bit worn down with mold issues. The pool and restaurant were lovely. Though my family and I will never go back because when we were checking out I noticed our breakfast bill was much higher than the stated price. I asked about it and was told that they decided to do an "extra buffet" since the place was almost full. There was no sign on this "buffet" so I thought it was our provided breakfast. The charges were FINALLY taken off but on our way out the head waitress stopped and confronted me about the bill. She accused me of knowing about the price because she had told another couple we came with. We never had breakfast with that couple so we really didn't know. The whole thing left such a bad taste in my mouth that I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KarstFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 227 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2007

The room was in OK condition but had mouldy walls with peeling paint around the air-con. Bathroom was not well designed with toilet being way too close to bathtub (about 6 inches apart). I do not believe this is good value. We checked out the Pousada de Mong-Ha the following day and the rooms there were much nicer for roughly the same price. Would rather stay there next time, although location is totally different and staying in Coloane by the seaside is nice.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wadia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

This is a very good small hotel. It is very different to most other hotels in Macau, and can serve as a very relaxing place for a short break.

It was renovated in 2006 (I think) although looking at the rooms you wouldn't believe it. Like so many Macau hotels it does look a little worn. However, it is clean and comfortable. The rates are above average for Macau hotels, and I always wonder why the owners don't spend more money on the interior. Given its location on the beach, it could easily be the most expensive hotel in Macau if the rooms were done out right.

Rooms have a balcony, which are great for sitting out on with a bottle of wine. There's an open air swimming pool, but the beach is better.

The hotel has a restaurant, and there is the Italian place on the beach. It's 20 minutes walk from Hac Sa and fernandos, or going the other way will take you to Coloane Village and its delights.

Will definately stay again. Go midweek for a more relaxing stay.

Stayed: May 2007
4  Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

I live in Hainan, but when I come to Macau for the GP Race in November I always stay here. I also stay here on my frequent transists through Macau. I always find it very peaceful, yet not too far from the action of Macau proper. The owners are always very friendly and obliging, and the food is great. Sitting on the terrace with a glass of vino verde overlooking the beach and sea , usually having come from Shenzhen or HKG is a great way to decompress.I highly recommend this hotel to all the others in Macau. The birds singing in the morning as you sit around the pool is also great too!

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank rossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

This is one of the more pleasant options in a city packed with utterly charmless hotels.

Very simple but nice rooms with individual terraces, and bathrooms that have jacuzzis big enough for two. The decor is traditional Portugese style with lots of tiling and intricate wooden carvings - it's like stepping back in time 50 years. The sea is just a few minutes walk away.

The restaurant serves possibly the best Portugese food in Macau at really low prices, and the wine (unusually for Macau) is in good condition. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank andrewlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nej0ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Leblond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
5.4 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#21 of 94 in Macau
703 reviews
5.3 mi away
Harbourview Hotel Macau
3.0 mi away
Inn Hotel Macau
Inn Hotel Macau
#49 of 94 in Macau
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Macau
Hotel Royal Macau
#26 of 94 in Macau
1,333 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Rocks Hotel
The Rocks Hotel
#36 of 94 in Macau
126 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
Ole Tai Sam Un Hotel
#38 of 94 in Macau
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Praia de Cheoc Van, Coloane Island, Macau, China
Location: China > Macau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 94 Hotels in Macau
Price Range: $89 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unspoiled Location Surrounded by Mountains Embraced by the Forest Overlooking the Sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada de Coloane Beach Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Coloane
Hotel Pousada De Coloane Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing